We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairns Colonial Club Resort

18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Colonial Club Resort during our visit of Cairns. We were very impressed with the service, the breakfast buffet offered by the resort. Finaly, the tropical atmosphere was very pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Michel L
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two reasons, one we had stayed here many years ago and loved the tropical setting, and two it was close to the airport. The rooms although nice are getting very dated but the setting around the pool is lovely especially from the restaurant although I would not rate the food that highly. Our room was located... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryan B

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited here with my family and I would have to say I would not come back. Clearly we had arrived just after a large Chinese group (or a plague of locusts) had just been though. We had a booking although the Japanese girl could not find us so wrote us in the book straight under the first booking. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelgypsyisme
CCCR2007, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review

Dear Travelgypsyisme Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment during your recent visit. Your feedback is important to us, and we appreciate we do not always get everything right. The Restaurant can get busy at times, however, the night you referenced even took us a little by surprise. It was the busiest we have been. We will focus on... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been staying at the colonial club now for approximately 3yrs on a one night stop over stays with an occasional longer stay. Most of my stays are for work travel but I have stayed with my family. There's no loyalty program, for us regulars nor any recognition like other hotels do for us regulars. The hotel it tired... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHAGGYSLIM
CCCR2007, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review

Dear SHAGGYSLIM Thank you for your support over the last three years - it is very much appreciated! It is pleasing to hear of your favourable impressions of the Reception Staff - they enjoy being able to welcome back regular guests and making all guests feel welcome on arrival at the Resort. Your comments are valued and should you choose... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

Would no doubt once have been lovely and modern...perhaps 20+ years ago. Very shabby decor, rooms old and area surrounds are untidy. Very understaffed in all areas and free internet non existent unless you're sitting in reception. Pluses are the pools...would have been nicer if any of the poolside bars were open though. Standard of food good but over priced.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russell A
CCCR2007, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review

Dear Russell A We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback after your recent stay. 2015 marked Cairns Colonial Club Resort - '30th Anniversary'! The property is well established and we are privileged to have welcomed a large number of repeat guests over the years. Comprising of many buildings and spread over 11 acres it... More 

Cairns Region, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We were disappointed this trip. We have visited before and now found standards had slipped. No porters, the walkways were shabby and dirty. The bar and restaurant totally lacking in ambience. Pathetic attempt at Christmas decorations. Christmas Day dinner was shambolic with totally untrained staff. Despite being assured that the Pool Bar would be open on 27 December, it remained... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madsec1
CCCR2007, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review

Dear Madsec1 Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback - it is important to us as we continually strive to improve on standards and service delivery at the Resort. Please accept our apologies for the lack of facilities available during your stay. Due to a low pressure system in the Cape area, very heavy rains were... More 

Trinity Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

When we checked in, the reception did not have our details and had to wait for a while. Considering the price, the room etc was ok. However, I would not recommend the Restaurant in the hotel. The food was almost inedible and the vegetable was not fresh at all.

Helpful?
Thank Leela0105
CCCR2007, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review

Dear Leela0105 Thank you for your comments following your recent stay - we appreciate that you thought the property was value for money. Please accept our apologies for the delay experienced when checking in, this is not ideal and will address be addressed. Your experience in Homestead Restaurant is very disappointing and of concern to us. The Food & Beverage... More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

Check in went smoothly enough. Entered the "non-smoking" room to be greeted with a stale cigarette smell. Aircon worked well and the bed was comfy. The shower had a glass screen around it but water flowed out under the door, flooding the bathroom floor. I went to buy some drinks from the vending machine but the drinks came out warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuklemke
CCCR2007, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stuklemke Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Cairns Colonial Club Resort with others. We appreciate that you highlighted the Resort's relaxing and quiet surrounds - the gardens, and pools each with a waterfall certainly create a tranquil environment for guests to relax and enjoy. The areas of concern will be addressed with the relevant... More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

I had a very relaxing stay at the hotel, my room was nice and the bed was comfy. Only issue I had was with the ants getting into the bathroom, but having spent a few days prior in the rainforest it really didnt bother me too much. The main pool by the restaurant was lovely with a nice small beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
CCCR2007, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chris C We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay - and appreciate that you have shared your experience with others. Sounds like you are having a busy holiday - we wish you safe travels full of memorable experiences. Kind regards - Susan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#44 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#7 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#23 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay