We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palm Royale Cairns

7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Palm Royale Cairns
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    139
    91
    37
    21
See reviews for
62
116
33
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (330)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for our last 3 days in Australia. Rooms are ok but noisy fan and air conditioning not up to much on all night and hardly cooled the room. Sadly missing a bar and only supply breakfast needs a proper restaurant for evening meal. Pool is great tho.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here twice now ....this time got a room leading sraight out into the lap pool... loved it room had everything required ....basic but for $69. A night was great value... for ppl looking for inexpensive accomodation in cairns ...this place rocks😊

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights in March 2015 on our way to Port Douglas. Had ground floor room and when we first walked in was hit by overpowering stale and mouldy smell. Opened main door and patio doors to try to get rid of smell. Spoke to management and they said that due to heavy rain week before that every room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reception staff were good but the building is very tired, some rooms smelly, bearings worn in the air-conditioning, alarms went off spuriously in the middle of the night, couldn't control the aircon. The pool looked ok but we didn't have a swim. We stayed two nights on separate occasions, in different rooms. First room very old, bathroom falling apart,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

The rooms are fine and the pool is nice, but this hotel is quite far from the main part of Cairns, approx $25 in a taxi each way. Also, be careful if booking airport transfers. The page they hand you at check in says they depart every hour and have to be booked the day before. Turns out this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I would have rated this hotel as good but there is not such a choice here. Not average, but not very good neither. First impression wasn't too bad. The second impression was worse, but after having changed to another "hotel" that was more expensive, I have to admit that it wasn't that bad. The room was very spacious and clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

My family of four stayed at the resort for 2 nights in January. We were on our way to a holiday rental in the Daintree Rainforest, and this was a stop gap between arriving at the airport, and then making our way out to the jungle! Being from Melbourne, we needed to acclimatise to the intense humidity. We were really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Room: lovely big room looking over the pool! A/C very good! Location: 10min drive to the main town/beach of cairns Pool: very nice and clean Wifi: very strong in your room Decent hotel for a few nights! ----------------------------------

Was this review helpful? Yes
New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

My husband, two friends and I stayed for10 days in this hotel. I reported to the hotel duty manager that my room doesn't have pool view and wifi connection as stated in description. The duty manager was rude and did not help to resolve the problem. I will not book at this hotel again and would rather pay more for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, and I regret that the issues raised were not resolved during your stay - this will be followed up. We always appreciate feedback, this will help us improve on our standards. Best regards. More 

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

I stayed at the Palm Royale with my girlfriend for 10 nights over the Christmas and New year. In general I want to write that we had a good enjoyable time over there however : - Our first room balcony was located to the main road and the traffic especially at night was unbearable. We upgraded very next day to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for review, the time spent in writing this feedback is very much appreciated. I'm glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay. We believe we offer good value for money. Safe travels and best regards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question