We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Cairns Harbourside

#16 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    452
    165
    38
    10
See reviews for
211
429
86
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (937)
  • Mar-May only
    (193)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (272)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (249)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (223)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband, 12 month old daughter and I stayed in a 1br suite for 3 nights. The room was very basic but did the job, unfortunately we had a view of the car park which was disappointing given the gorgeous harbour views opposite us. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. My husband was looking for the remote... More 

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Moniquelm, Thanks for your review and even though you had a good stay I apologise for the sock incident. I will speak with our Housekeeping Manager and bring this to her attention. As for the Suites, it is unfortunate they do face away from the Marvelous Ocean Views. We do however offer Twin rooms with Ocean Views as well... More 

Greater Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great facility and right on the water but a little bit to far from the CBD. Good location for exercising along the Esplanade. Stay here but be prepared to drive if you want to go out and eat. Otherwise nice and clean and service staff were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thanks for the review. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay and agree we are a little out of the city (approx 15 min walk) but we do offer the free shuttle bus every hour between 10am & 10pm so our guests don't have to drive into town. I do hope you return soon. Kind Regards,... More 

Tropical North Queensland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
73 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although a little out of town (it's a 15 minute walk to the lagoon along the esplanade) what this hotel lacks in location it makes up for with value. Now that the pool reno is complete the views out the front, and out to sea are great. The bar deck is clearly becoming something of a local favourite for after-work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Missi0nary, Thanks for the great review. I'm glad to see your becoming a regular at our Blue Mango Bar. I hope you have become a member of Le Club so you can experience the Exclusive Happy hour between 5 & 6 for our Loyalty Members. I also agree the extra bit to upgrade to our privilege rooms is well... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I spent 3 nights here for her 19th Birthday. It was the perfect place from which to explore cairns. The room overlooked the ocean as well as the recently renovated pool area , which was sparkling clean although could have used some shade . Comfortable room, we had 2 large queen size beds, heaps of fresh pillows,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn P, Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the birthday celebrations were a hit. I look forward to your return. Kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager More 

Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were planning to have an excursion to the Great Barrier Reef and this is where the travel agency set us up in. Good choice. On one side of the hotel is the sea where we could see people walking/jogging/riding bikes every morning and evening along the pathways. It's not a swimmable body of water. The hotel has a laundry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear KalihiKid65, Thanks so much for your thorough and amazing review. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and met some of our great friendly staff. I am a massive fan of the naked burger so glad you found it scrumptious as well. I do hope you return in the future. Kind Regards Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and the location was great. They had a parking lot, which we needed since we had a rental car. We also had a balcony, which was very pleasant to sit on and enjoy the view. The hotel also has a free shuttle bus that runs into the center... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Gigi112211, Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed the stay and found the walk into town pleasant. I hope we get to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a sea view room on the 6th floor and the views were spectacular, I would highly recommend a sea view room. The hotel is located on the sea front and is about a 20 minute walk into the center of Cairns. During the heat of the day it can be far to hot and humid to walk, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Mikebeal, Thanks for the great review and passing on some helpful information. I agree that the Sea Views are amazing and worth the little extra. Hopefully we see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 7 nights on a business trip. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was quite large and comfortable, although a little outdated. The hotel is little further out of the city but only a short cab ride to the CBD or an easy 20 minute stroll along the Esplanade. The hotel also offers a free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Emma-Cao, Thanks for the great review. I'm glad that overall you seem to have enjoyed your stay and I hope you return in the future. Kind regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager More 

UK
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
97 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for four nights with a group. I was lucky enough to have a sea view, which really was breathtaking. My room was large, with a balcony. You can walk to the harbour along the waterside path, but it was really too hot after about 7a.m. There is a terrace where you can have breakfast, and it gets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Worldtravellerxyz, Thank you for your review. I agree our views are some of the best in Cairns. I am glad overall you enjoyed your stay but I do apologise for the maintenance issue you experienced. As for charging to your room, As you may understand for any guest to charge to their room a guarantee of a Credit Card... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question