We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Cairns Harbourside

#17 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    456
    169
    38
    11
See reviews for
213
432
87
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (946)
  • Mar-May only
    (202)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (272)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (249)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (223)
All months
Farmingdale, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights during a trip to Australia to Scuba Dive at the Great Barrier Reef, Bungee Jump and visit the Daintree Rain Forest up north. Its location close to all the vendors who serve this area with excursions was within walking distance. The hotel was located across the street from the water. The water often moved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear TravelJunkieChick, Thanks for the great review and I'm glad to read you had an amazing stay. I agree we are in a unique area with amazing views and greenery; the signs are also good for a Informative laugh. It's also great to see you had some delightful chats with our Front Desk & restaurant teams. I do hope you... More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade, and the wifi keeps dropping out which whilst travelling on business was an important factor, you do hear the planes which at 6am I could have done with another hour sleep, however the view from the harbour side rooms are exceptional and worth the extra cost. Still undecided if I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear MikeyMike2000, Thanks for the review. I am saddened to read you are undecided if you would return or not. We are currently in the process of upgrading our internet and I will pass on the comments regarding the refurbishment. I do hope you return in the future. Kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
78 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for one night before an early morning flight out of the nearby Cairns Airport. We walked in and got a reasonable rate. I have an Accor platinum card, so we were given a drinks and free internet voucher when we checked in. It is a big hotel, very clean and modern and a little bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Nick_Harris, Thanks for your review and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay overall except the internet. We are aware of the feedback provided by our guests regarding the internet and are actively creating a solution to this issue. It is unfortunately not a quick fix but I do believe what we are looking at will be... More 

Hampton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked online for what appeared to be a great deal. Completed booking then advised via email from Accor Reservations that due a technical issue the booking wasn't confirmed and no transaction had been charged. Given we are heading to Cairns for the funeral service of my wife's mother decided to re-book via online to make sure our accommodation was locked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East Sussex
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in on the busy Easter weekend. The staff were very helpful and friendly, although outwardly quite stressed due to being stretched. The hotel itself was nice, although parts are a bit tired (bathroom and bedroom). The pool area was nice, and while the location isn't central, the walk along the beachfront Boardwalk to the central area is lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear SussexTravelBugs, Thanks for the review and I hope you enjoyed the Easter Break as much as we did! I'm glad to read you had a great stay. It was a quite busy weekend but all in all a great one. I hope you return to Cairns in the near future and stay with us again. Kind regards, Thomas Kelly... More 

travelling
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Used booking.com,Room extremely clean, comfy,view of Trinity Inlet - beyond expectations. We are use to being placed in back blocks when booking online. Definitely not here! Will definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Gypsyschnitz, Thanks for the great review and I'm glad to read you had a great stay. May I suggest for future bookings to contact the hotel direct or through accorhotels.com as we will always match online rates and if your a member of Le Club or Advantage Plus you will earn points for your stays; something you can't earn... More 

Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here recently for 3 nights. Some things that stumped me were the very bare and 'blink and you miss facade' of the hotel, especially as we travel from the airport to the city. further the lobby and the reception is again very very functional something that one wouldn't expect of a Accor property. I had booked a basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Aashish7, Thanks for the review. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay overall even though you found some issues. All feedback is greatly appreciated so will pass on the information to our Management team. I'm also very glad that you found all staff to be friendly and available; something we pride ourselves on. We look forward to you... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband, 12 month old daughter and I stayed in a 1br suite for 3 nights. The room was very basic but did the job, unfortunately we had a view of the car park which was disappointing given the gorgeous harbour views opposite us. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. My husband was looking for the remote... More 

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Moniquelm, Thanks for your review and even though you had a good stay I apologise for the sock incident. I will speak with our Housekeeping Manager and bring this to her attention. As for the Suites, it is unfortunate they do face away from the Marvelous Ocean Views. We do however offer Twin rooms with Ocean Views as well... More 

Greater Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great facility and right on the water but a little bit to far from the CBD. Good location for exercising along the Esplanade. Stay here but be prepared to drive if you want to go out and eat. Otherwise nice and clean and service staff were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thanks for the review. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay and agree we are a little out of the city (approx 15 min walk) but we do offer the free shuttle bus every hour between 10am & 10pm so our guests don't have to drive into town. I do hope you return soon. Kind Regards,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (173)
Viewed
View from room (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question