We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Cairns Harbourside

4.0 of 5 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    443
    162
    37
    10
See reviews for
208
423
86
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (923)
  • Mar-May only
    (179)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (272)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (249)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (223)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff are excellent, very friendly and customer service is great. The pool, bar and restaurant areas are nice. The room was a little aged but pleasant all the same. A little further out of the city than some hotels but Cairns is not so big so still within walking distance or a short cab ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear John P, Thanks for the review and acknowledgment of our great staff, pool and facilities. We hope you return in the future. Kind regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager More 

Sydney Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice pool, bar, restaurant and reception areas but my rooms looked like it has not been touched for 20 years. Scratched and chipped furniture, many stains on carpet, marks on the walls etc. Possibly was an air crew room since mini bar was emptied (though there was still the price list sitting there). A bit of a way out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was the best of all the places we stayed in on or 2-month trip to Australia. The staff were all exceptionally friendly, cheery and helpful at all times. Our room was excellent, with a spectacular view from the balcony over the sea. The hotel, gardens and swimming pool were spotlessly clean. The food in the bar & restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Loismacm, Thank you very much for the stellar review. I'm glad to read you loved your stay and feel very honoured you found us the best hotel of your tour of Australia. We aim to be the best and it is great to see our efforts are felt by our guests. I will make sure this feedback is passed... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at 12pm to find out that in my room there was not even the basics of a mini bar. Shampoo and condition with no other toiletries in the bathroom and very small bath towels, I was so disappointed as Mercure is usually a safe chain to book with. The staff were friendly and helpful but for the cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Kelleigh R, Thank you for your review. I'm dissapointed to read you did not enjoy your stay. I will follow up with Housekeeping regarding the toiletries being missing and for that I apologise. As for the Minibar, Yes we do not have a Stocked Minibar in the room but we do offer it to be delivered 24/7 as per... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff here are fantastic. Friendly & helpful. However it's too far out of town. They do have a shuttle bus. Which Isn't always going when you want to. It's far too hot this time of year to walk the 20mins minimum into town. One soap supplied which you have to use for the shower and wash basin. That is just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear MeeshellB, Thanks for the review and it is great to read you found our staff friendly and helpful. Sincere apologies that you found our hotel to be too far from the city. I agree at this time of year it is a little hot but our bus does run frequently; every hour on the hour between 10am and 10pm.... More 

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was pleasant and the view was great. It was a 20 minute brisk walk to the cbd, but there was a useful shuttle bus to cool the experience if you needed it. The staff were helpful. The breakfast was ok for the price but we tended to eat out. There was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Sspurr, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and utilized the hotel shuttle and agree the view from the harbourside tower is great. I hope you return in the future and stay again in our Ocen View rooms. Kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife on Cairns trip. Great view from balcony, nice room, very friendly staff. Pool was being renovated but will be great when finished. A bit of a walk to centre of Cairns but Quality hotel at reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear SorryWS. Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, the view and friendly staff. I can also report our pool is back up and running and from all reports is being loved by all. I hope the renovations didn't impact your trip to much. I hope you return in the future. Kind Regards, Thomas Kelly Assistant Manager More 

Kent England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, 1st-6th January for 2 days on the Barrier Reef. We had one "Privilege Room" on the 7th floor and one Superior Ocean View room on the 3rd floor. Both rooms had a superb front facing sea view and the Privilege Room was fantastically spacious with water and newspapers each day, lovely King Size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review

Dear Coopel, Firstly thanks for the review. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree our Privilege rooms are amazing along with our Ocean View rooms. I'm glad you experienced these. It is always reassuring to read reviews highlighting our customer service. It is one aspect of our hotel we all focus on, trying... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay