We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

181 The Esplanade

181 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
181 The Esplanade
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
181 The Esplanade
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    23
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
25
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for a week in 2 bedroom apartment. Apartment beside Cairns Hospital but no problem with noise and there is parking underneath building. Apartment large and had good views. Main bedroom has a walk in wardrobe and ensuite plus there was a second bathroom. Balconies off main bedroom and living areas. Apartment has Dishwasher, large fridge, microwave, washing machine,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 br spa apartment over the weekend of Cairns Ironman. Apartment wonderfully spacious. Handy location on the esplanade, nice and quiet with a lovely 10-15minute stroll into the main part of city. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, going above and beyond to assist us. Lady at reception thoughtfully brought up extra towels on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willemstad, Curacao
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were hardheartedly received by Kathy at the reception. and she showed us the humongous two bedroom apartment (named penthouse would also be appropriate, but we were told the penthouses were even bigger!) with splendid sea view and all the facilities of the hotel.All equipment necessary for a pleasant stay was available, more than that! Giant rooms, two very large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

I stayed 8 days in a delightful, modern unit with great views and helpful staff. Room was clean, modern and well appointed with kitchenette that made my stay a pleasure. Pool & other ammenities were above average. Well placed for novice travellers too. Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay here for your holiday. thanks for your complimentary comments. More 

South Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Please read: Location is fantastic, pool was better, kids enjoyed a lot. The service was very poor- no daily cleaning, no towels were changed. When I asked about packs of body wash or soap, they said we need to bring our own, even coffee sugar tea we had to ask. If all this was written on the web then I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at 181 The Esplanade, Cairns however we are happy to hear you liked the location and our swimming pool. Our Apartments are 4 star, fully self contained apartments suites (which is what they are advertised as) this means that we provide our guest with a starter... More 

Adelaide
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We originally booked 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and very happily booked for the last 2 nights. The apartments were both very spacious, especially our 2nd stay. Views from the balconies were awesome and an easy walk to the action. Staff were very friendly & helpful, the pool is a great space to relax and the security... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

appreciate for your good comments and also tips to our guest. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We stayed there twice on our holiday to Far North Queensland. It was great. There are sea views from both balconys and they are spacious. Very private and secure. Will be staying there again. Located at the quiet end of the esplanade we nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thanks for your good comments. More 

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I stayed four nights the first week , then a further two nights the next week. I was in Cairns on business - at the hospital - so staying next door was convenient. The apartments were very nice ; clean , tidy , everything worked. The views were brilliant at any time of day or night. Unlike many of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thanks! glad you enjoy your stay with us. best regards! More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

This is my first time to stay 181 The Explanade Apartment and it will be my last time to stay, I wont stay there again. The apartment is in my package by my travel agent, I have read those comments from website, most of comments was telling me that the apartment was so nice and clean. BUT IN FACT NO.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback , it help us to improve service quality also have a chance to know what guest think about us. please kindly note our holiday apartment is self-catering apartment, we will clean the room every 7 days for the guest who stay more than 7days, for short stay less than 5 days, we will not clean... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We book a two-bedroom apartment on the 8th level of this place. The room seriously needs an immediate renovation. The air-conditioner was beyond ridiculous, it can only operate in either the livingroom and the kitchen OR the bedrooms. So we were forced to stay at one place together until everybody agreed to move to the bedrooms/livingroom. The couches were disgusting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

It is pity you are not happy with your stay although I thought you might enjoy to stay at our apartment since you extended your stay one more night, you did not complain anything to us during your stay either. In fact we have given you free dishwash liquid and powder at your request. however, sorry, we can not give... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay