We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

181 The Esplanade

181 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
181 The Esplanade
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
181 The Esplanade
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
25
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed 8 days in a delightful, modern unit with great views and helpful staff. Room was clean, modern and well appointed with kitchenette that made my stay a pleasure. Pool & other ammenities were above average. Well placed for novice travellers too. Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay here for your holiday. thanks for your complimentary comments. More 

South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Please read: Location is fantastic, pool was better, kids enjoyed a lot. The service was very poor- no daily cleaning, no towels were changed. When I asked about packs of body wash or soap, they said we need to bring our own, even coffee sugar tea we had to ask. If all this was written on the web then I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at 181 The Esplanade, Cairns however we are happy to hear you liked the location and our swimming pool. Our Apartments are 4 star, fully self contained apartments suites (which is what they are advertised as) this means that we provide our guest with a starter... More 

Adelaide
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We originally booked 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and very happily booked for the last 2 nights. The apartments were both very spacious, especially our 2nd stay. Views from the balconies were awesome and an easy walk to the action. Staff were very friendly & helpful, the pool is a great space to relax and the security... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

appreciate for your good comments and also tips to our guest. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We stayed there twice on our holiday to Far North Queensland. It was great. There are sea views from both balconys and they are spacious. Very private and secure. Will be staying there again. Located at the quiet end of the esplanade we nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thanks for your good comments. More 

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I stayed four nights the first week , then a further two nights the next week. I was in Cairns on business - at the hospital - so staying next door was convenient. The apartments were very nice ; clean , tidy , everything worked. The views were brilliant at any time of day or night. Unlike many of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thanks! glad you enjoy your stay with us. best regards! More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

This is my first time to stay 181 The Explanade Apartment and it will be my last time to stay, I wont stay there again. The apartment is in my package by my travel agent, I have read those comments from website, most of comments was telling me that the apartment was so nice and clean. BUT IN FACT NO.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback , it help us to improve service quality also have a chance to know what guest think about us. please kindly note our holiday apartment is self-catering apartment, we will clean the room every 7 days for the guest who stay more than 7days, for short stay less than 5 days, we will not clean... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We book a two-bedroom apartment on the 8th level of this place. The room seriously needs an immediate renovation. The air-conditioner was beyond ridiculous, it can only operate in either the livingroom and the kitchen OR the bedrooms. So we were forced to stay at one place together until everybody agreed to move to the bedrooms/livingroom. The couches were disgusting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

It is pity you are not happy with your stay although I thought you might enjoy to stay at our apartment since you extended your stay one more night, you did not complain anything to us during your stay either. In fact we have given you free dishwash liquid and powder at your request. however, sorry, we can not give... More 

Brisbane
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
117 hotel reviews
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and it had 2 bathrooms which is great when with friends. The apartment was clean and ready for us when we arrived. The staff at reception were very helpful when booking in and when arranging for any tours such as the Kuranda Rail excursion. Any request was completed quickly. The view of the waterfront... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bateau Bay, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights & honestly didn't want to leave. We booked & then I read the reviews & I was dreading getting there. I can honestly say we were all wrapped!!We stayed on the 8th floor & our room had a complete holiday feel & was spotless. Kitchen was well equipped & view from the balcony was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Brilliant self contained apartment with a balcony view of the ocean. Secure parking. 15 min walk to Cairns main street or $10 cab fee. Quiet location near to Cairns hospital. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay