We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairns Southside International

450 Mulgrave Road., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Southside International
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cairns Southside International
Review This Hotel

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    11
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
21
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not our first visit to this motel. No problems on prior visits. On this occasion we had trouble with the room card on arrival, the receptionist sorted the problem (or so we thought). After returning to the motel at around 7.30pm the cards would not work on either door. Reception was closed & the motel completely locked. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was our main downfall as it was quite away from the Esplanade and main Cairns area. Was nice enough place to stay and was clean throughout the room and resort. Had air con and wifi etc... Would choose to stay closer to more vibrant areas next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bondi, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My main issue with this Motel is that it had a sign outside for $75 per night and then when you go in to book a room they tell you that none of those rooms are available. So I went online and booked one of their rooms for the $75 per night price which is ridiculous as they have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Southside international motel in Cairns is definately NOT a 4 star motel. It may pass for a 2 star. Also it doesn't have room service, Austar was not accessible and the wifi didn't work on all 9 wifi access points. The motel is not clean and has a horrid smell. The pool was not clean either. We found them on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Any hotel has to be better than this one. TL:DR I booked this hotel through Priceline Express Deals. I selected a 4 star hotel in Cairns, Australia. There is a downtown area in Cairns. Priceline fails miserably to acknowledge this and dumps all of Cairns into one location. If you stay at this hotel you should plan to have car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cooroy, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

This motel was conveniently located on the main road into Cairns. We were looking for a comfortable, clean overnight stop at a reasonable price. This motel certainly filled our requirements. They offer free internet but it was very slow - I gave up and used my own.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

I stayed here with my partner in early Jan 2015. Overall we were pretty pleased with what we got for $75/night. The hotel is in a great location - only a few minutes drive to The Esplanade which is beautiful and has great restaurants and it's also fairly close to the airport. It has a pool which was quiet each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We found this hotel to be wonderful. Staff were lovely. Room was clean and air con was cold as! I had to keep turning it down to prevent freezing us LOL. We stayed in a family room with a bunk for our young children and a double bed for the parents. I found the beds exceptionally comfortable. Loved the Pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queensland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We stayed here with our daughter and 3 grandsons for 2 nights. The first awful thing was when I went to the toilet and my pants were wet. here was water leaking from the toilet all over the floor.. Then the fridge was so small there was room for nothing although this was a kitchenette suite. There was no table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
City_Sheridan_Hotel, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to thank you for taking your time in sending through a review regarding our property. I very much apologize that your stay had a couple of problems and will look into the issues further. The fold out sofa has since been replaced, as well as the the conditioner. Most of our fridges in our rooms have... More 

Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This was a return visit by my family and very disappointed with the room (airconditioner broken and not repaired), was told breakfast was complementary, only to be charged on checkout, then on the following day, told kitchen was closed and no breakfast available. Not happy when you have 3 hungry children. Place just looking like owners don't wish to pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
City_Sheridan_Hotel, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review

Hello, We thank you for your review. Whenever we get good or bad reviews we take them all serious, we are always looking at ways to improve the property. The air conditioner in the room that you had mentioned has now been repaired, regarding the costing of breakfast, we have never offered breakfast as a free inclusion so i will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question