We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairns Sheridan Hotel

#11 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Sheridan Plaza)
Special Offer
Free WiFi and Best Rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    70
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
59
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I travel often and have stayed in many different types of hotels so I just can't believe that this is in 4.5 star category. I was really unhappy with this hotel and feel that I should warn others researching for place to stay to avoid this place. Thankfully, we had all day excursion 2 whole days when we were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jimboomba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and well presented. The option of feather pillows would be a plus. Around the pool deck was a pleasant area to spend some relaxing time. Breakfast was quite disappointing for the price, and beverages not hot enough from the dispensers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast. I am not sure why but most of our comments about breakfast are very positive. Our price is only $22 dollars for a full buffet breakfast which I think is still very reasonable considering what is available on the buffet. Maybe something was not... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here 2 nights and will defenantly be coming back here. Staff are friendly and the dinner menu was more then accomodating. Not to mention the room being well looked after. 10/10 rating...............................................................

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to get such positive feed back about our staff. We all do try very hard and our new chef and menu are proving a real winner. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean with all the things you need. Beds very comfortable. Stayed 3 nights with a friend, didn't get room serviced first day but didn't worry about it, just got more milk from the fridge downstairs near lifts. Would recommend this hotel for a quick stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We do try very hard to make our guests as welcome and as comfortable as we possibly can. As a courtesy to our guests, when a 'Do Not Disturb' sign is put on a door, no staff members are permitted to enter that room. If a guest leaves their DND sign out but... More 

Cairns, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay at this hotel each time i visit Cairns. Have for the last 5 years. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. As a sales rep i stay in a few hotels and i rate this hotel as the best. All staff take the time to ensure that my stay is a pleasant one and go out... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Hopefully I will be able to catch up with you on your next visit. New menu starts 1st April and it is looking exceptional. Look forward to seeing you next time. Thanks and best regards. More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff were very helpful and courteous. We were there for a business meeting which we held on the premises. Had all the facilities we needed. Rooms were good, clean, and looked like they were recently refurbished. Food was good and reasonably priced. Check in and out was quick and hassle free. Bathroom was clean, and replenished daily which was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I just wish we could of got to your remote to change the batteries. I have a new welcome letter for all guests. It has 'printed' on the bottom - Just Ask! That is our new motto, because if you don't ask we can't help you and we want to help everyone. Thanks again. More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Cairns Sheridan (not to be confused with the city Sheridan) literally saved our vacation. Our plans were to stay 1 night with the Cairns Sheridan and to go on a 4-day liveaboard diving trip. Unfortunately, the liveaboard trip was cancelled due to Cyclone Nathan, and that is when the excellent staff at the Cairns came to our rescue. First,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou. Nothing gives me more pleasure than when I hear our staff have gone out of their way to make a guests stay more enjoyable. Thanks for asking, because we can only help if you ask for help. More 

Airlie Beach
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Stayed for business and staff where excellent and very helpful. Restaurant has great food and cheaply priced. Only downside was I arrived late and the Room service finished at 9.00pm. I missed it by 3 mins.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a great chef who is really showing some flair in the kitchen. We are getting some great feedback about the restaurant food and yours is no exception. He is just in the final stages of putting together a new menu which really looks amazing. Check it out on your next stay. More 

Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

My stay at this hotel was great and the staff were excellent, it was great that breakfast was included and that we were able to have a late check out. The function room was set up beautifully and my wedding guests really enjoyed them selves.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review I am so pleased that our staff took care of you and your wedding party so well. It sounds like you had a wonderful day. Thanks again. More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We stayed here for 1 night before heading to Port Douglas and where disappointed by a few things. My parents booked one room, my husband and I with our young baby another room. I have stayed in hotels all over the world (& hostels too) & wifi has always meant free wifi. My parents agreed. My husband (a lawyer) believed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review

Your previous attempt to review this hotel was taken down by Tripadvisor because it was outrageously slanderous. You should get a better lawyer. Every hotel now has WiFi, to me and practically all our guests WiFi is only free if it says free or included. You summed it all up by saying you wanted a cheap room for a quick... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question