We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reef Backpackers

140 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Reef Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

Don't go this place!!!! It is extremely dirty. The sheets were used, so I asked for fresh ones. Didn't get fresh sheets at all. There are dead animals (cockroach) on the floor. Even if it's cheap don't waste your money and time there! The guy at the reception isn't very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Leon T
Constanze N, Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

thank you for your review and extension with us regarding your bed sheets i remember them being changed twice for you as the first time they were changed when you asked by the house keeper you complained to her and was very rude due to the fact that there was a single hair on the sheet so she changed them... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

When we booked this accommodation we knew that it wouldn't be top quality. For starters our air-conditioning had on setting which was absolutely freezing. I don't know if it is standard for backpackers to not provide a blanket but perhaps the option should be available. One window had blinds and the other did not. By the time our third night... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Taryn E
Constanze N, General Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and staying with us i am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay not once during your stay was any of these problems mentioned the first management heard of any of this was once you checked out leaving your baggage in the secure luggage room all day when you were on your trip management went... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

The worst place I have ever stayed. The window rattler air-conditioner had one setting - freezing. The air con leaked in the room. Only sheets provided so you was up an icicle if you leave the air on over night. Which means you need to turn it on to cool the room down, get up in the night to turn... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jess P
Constanze N, General Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and staying with us i am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay not once during your stay was any of these problems mentioned the first management heard of any of this was once you checked out leaving your baggage in the secure luggage room all day when you were on your trip management went... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

You man feel really welcome here and all the staff tries to help you out,free breakfast is a great advantage and the WiFi works really well aswell.Although it could be cleaner but you can't always have everything. To conclude the value for money is great and you may get your room from 17 dollars if you book it online.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob P
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my gf for 6 nights (7th night free, $105/wk) and we loved it. Big kitchen with all utensils/storage space. Many chill/hang out spots. Weekly activities. Awesome staff - haircut for $10. Great wifi, hot water, AC room, comfy bed. Only thing to improve - fix some shower heads. Cheers and thanks Tom

Helpful?
Thank Robby A
Constanze N, Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

thanks for stay with us and leaving a review was a great pleasure have your self and partner staying with us and i love the painting that you gave me look forward to seeing you both again More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

Great hostel the staff are friendly and helping and has a great atmosphere, if your looking to relax or go out for a night on the town this is hostel for you! :) Also the staff at the front desk can book day trips with reputable companies round cairns and you wont get slugged heaps of commission on top. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven G
Constanze N, Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

thank you Steven always a pleasure to have your self and group staying with us looking forward to seeing you all again in a couple months More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

The best characteristic of this hostel is the price for quality. I've stayed in similarly priced hostels that were absolute messes, but Reef Backpackers maintains its cleanliness. Additionally the staff are a joy and very invested in engaging newcomers. Also free wicked fast WiFi. The only thing to watch out for are the late-night chirpy backpackers who come in from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taylor N
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Travelled with a group of 8 people so we got our own dorm. There was a bit of a mix-up with the booking but it was very quickly sorted and it didn't bother us as the shops were so close by. Wasn't very clean but that was made up by the fact that the staff and other guests were extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joy H
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Good location, price, easy access to supermarkets, pubs and esplanade. It is the reason I often stay there when I visit cairns. Also nice environment, friendly staff to help people, common space cleaned every day, free wi-fi and breakfast! It is a good hostel to stay repeatedly.

Helpful?
Thank Shunsuke M
Pleasanton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

This is walkable to the train station and also to bus junction and a movie theaters. Booking process is easy and people are nice here. The rooms need more cleaning under the beds and the bathroom on the second floor needs an upgrade. On the other hand if the tv and dvd worked it would have been an all different... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krishna Y
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.0 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#57 of 67 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#12 of 85 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay