We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
191 McLeod Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Add Photo

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    29
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for about a week with friends. The place was clean and had everything we needed. All things for cooking were at hand, the condo had a huge fridge and our own washing machine with a dryer. A lot of storage space too! The owners/staff helped us with everything we needed. There is a small grocery store nearby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

The apartment was SO comfortable with everything we needed. The washer and dryer right in the apartment was a bonus. Loved the pool - I think we swam in it every day. If we get back to Cairns one day we will stay here again for sure! Wayne and Linda answered all of our questions and booked several tours for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tradewinds Mcleod Holiday Apartments.The facilities were clean and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen. Location was good . Wayne and Linda's advice about local tourist attractions was invaluable as there is so much to do in Cairns.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed at Tradewinds for 10 days and the apartment was very clean, neat and tidy. Kitchen facilities were excellent, bedrooms comfortable and the pool enjoyable for all ages. Customer service also was polite and professional. We definitely recommend these apartments to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Adil, it was great having you here, we are happy that you had a great time and liked our apartments and service. Hope to see you return again one day. More 

Queensland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I stayed here with a friend for 2 weeks and it was fantastic! Great location, especially for us as we were working at the hospital. Close to shops and food places and the esplanade is just down the road. Staff were very accomodating and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. I was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our apartments to stay at during your university placement. Many medical university students choose us because of our low prices and close proximity to the hospital and our full sized apartments with full kitchen facilities are an added bonus for those longer stays. Hope to see you return again one day. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

The stay was comfortable and quiet, check-in process was good, we got pointed out all the local shops over the road, how to operate the security gates after hours, shown to the room and looked after very well. When it came time to book tours we got a nice discount booking through the tour desk at the hotel, only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Mr Nutty, glad you enjoyed our great service and the check-in process served your needs in making you feel at home in an area away from home and being introduced to the surrounding areas and facilities was also helpful. We always give discounts for tours as believe that making peoples holidays cheaper will make people more happy to travel and... More 

Warracknabeal, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We were really pleased with our accommodation at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments. The price was excellent, the rooms and facilities very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The manager very helpful with our tour bookings, and his willingness with his after hours help didn't go unnoticed. The proximity to a variety of food outlets as well as the supermarket, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Always happy to assist whenever we can, even after hours if it means the difference of getting a tour of choice for yourselves or not getting on it. We are glad our room cleanliness met your expectations and that all the close restaurants and shops served your needs well. It would be great to see... More 

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

The resort we have stayed at previously was under renovations so we located another place around the corner. We choose to be just out of the city centre for the quiet at night, the stroll along the esplanade to the city in the morning, and a row of shops outside our front door that fed our needs for yummy food,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Lea, it was great to see you return to Cairns and stay with us and find our apartments very conveniently located close to many things and very spacious. Many people love the privacy our large pool gives them as it is not on the street side of the hotel. I am glad you liked our gardens, I spend a lot... More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I booked an apartment here for a couple of weeks before leaving Cairns and just needed somewhere big enough for a couple of family members to visit. I didn't expect too much because it was quite cheap - but I was very pleasantly surprised. The apartment wasn't huge, but was a cozy size for a family to share. It had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Jennifer, we are glad our apartments exceeded your expectations for quality, price and service. We pride ourselves on fast service and fixing of any problems and normally fix any issues the minute they are reported as fast as possible, we don't want people to stay in an apartment where something is not working as it gives them a bad experience.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Excellent Holiday apartment stay in Cairns. Outstanding large pool and clean facilities with everything you need. Friendly & helpful owners answered all questions and assisted with tour bookings etc. Would highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Great to hear you have a wonderful time with us. your little son seemed to love the pool. Glad we were of excellent assistance to you and your family, hope to see you here again one day. Thanks for staying with us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay