We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
191 McLeod Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Tradewinds for 10 days and the apartment was very clean, neat and tidy. Kitchen facilities were excellent, bedrooms comfortable and the pool enjoyable for all ages. Customer service also was polite and professional. We definitely recommend these apartments to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Adil, it was great having you here, we are happy that you had a great time and liked our apartments and service. Hope to see you return again one day. More 

Queensland, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with a friend for 2 weeks and it was fantastic! Great location, especially for us as we were working at the hospital. Close to shops and food places and the esplanade is just down the road. Staff were very accomodating and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. I was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our apartments to stay at during your university placement. Many medical university students choose us because of our low prices and close proximity to the hospital and our full sized apartments with full kitchen facilities are an added bonus for those longer stays. Hope to see you return again one day. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The stay was comfortable and quiet, check-in process was good, we got pointed out all the local shops over the road, how to operate the security gates after hours, shown to the room and looked after very well. When it came time to book tours we got a nice discount booking through the tour desk at the hotel, only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Mr Nutty, glad you enjoyed our great service and the check-in process served your needs in making you feel at home in an area away from home and being introduced to the surrounding areas and facilities was also helpful. We always give discounts for tours as believe that making peoples holidays cheaper will make people more happy to travel and... More 

Warracknabeal, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We were really pleased with our accommodation at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments. The price was excellent, the rooms and facilities very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The manager very helpful with our tour bookings, and his willingness with his after hours help didn't go unnoticed. The proximity to a variety of food outlets as well as the supermarket, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Always happy to assist whenever we can, even after hours if it means the difference of getting a tour of choice for yourselves or not getting on it. We are glad our room cleanliness met your expectations and that all the close restaurants and shops served your needs well. It would be great to see... More 

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

The resort we have stayed at previously was under renovations so we located another place around the corner. We choose to be just out of the city centre for the quiet at night, the stroll along the esplanade to the city in the morning, and a row of shops outside our front door that fed our needs for yummy food,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Lea, it was great to see you return to Cairns and stay with us and find our apartments very conveniently located close to many things and very spacious. Many people love the privacy our large pool gives them as it is not on the street side of the hotel. I am glad you liked our gardens, I spend a lot... More 

Cairns, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I booked an apartment here for a couple of weeks before leaving Cairns and just needed somewhere big enough for a couple of family members to visit. I didn't expect too much because it was quite cheap - but I was very pleasantly surprised. The apartment wasn't huge, but was a cozy size for a family to share. It had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Jennifer, we are glad our apartments exceeded your expectations for quality, price and service. We pride ourselves on fast service and fixing of any problems and normally fix any issues the minute they are reported as fast as possible, we don't want people to stay in an apartment where something is not working as it gives them a bad experience.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Excellent Holiday apartment stay in Cairns. Outstanding large pool and clean facilities with everything you need. Friendly & helpful owners answered all questions and assisted with tour bookings etc. Would highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Great to hear you have a wonderful time with us. your little son seemed to love the pool. Glad we were of excellent assistance to you and your family, hope to see you here again one day. Thanks for staying with us. More 

Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We had a change to our itinerary shortly after arriving in Australia due to a cancelled cruise (due to engine problems) to New Zealand. Instead of heading right home we wanted to at least see the Great Barrier Reef. We did a search online and found the Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments. The location was ideal for us - within walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Bob, glad you made it back home after all these delays and cancellations and breakdowns. We were more than happy to assist you in extending your stay and assisting with tour bookings and altered time tables, all part of the service, we do as much as we can to assist to make your stay comfortable and with as little stress... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We had a lovely week at the Tradewinds McLeod arriving mid afternoon and greeted as soon as we walked through the door by a cheerful chap named Wayne. After check-in we got educated on the front security gates for after hours use as well as being pointed to all the local supermarkets over the road. We were then shown the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your great review, glad we could provide everything you required for your holiday and made it a wonderful time for you. With plenty of shops just over the road to choose from, this is an ideal location for many people, nice and quiet, secure and accessible to many thing. More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We had the most comfortable days in the Tradewinds McLeod Cairns, of our three weeks of touring Queensland. The Accommodation was well priced, spacious, well appointed, clean and we "wanted for nothing". Staff were pleasant and approachable. The motel was easy to find and homely. The Pool was very well maintained and accessible. I would like to return and would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Great to hear you liked our accommodation Rose, we put a lot of hard work into this hotel to make it very clean and well maintained and fix any issues as soon as they occur. Glad you made it back to Adelaide without incident, it is a very long drive, between the lot of you it would have been a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question