We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 83 Cairns accommodations

Global Backpackers Waterfront

67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Global Backpackers Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Global Backpackers Waterfront to your Saves list
Ranked #69 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
A recent review
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    13
    14
    20
See reviews for
Families
0
23
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I don't leave a bad review for somewhere bad for a short stay, but this place has been consistently terrible. The first day the staff were very unhelpful and miserable, the girl on the desk seemed untrained and too hungover to work. All staff after this were equally as unhelpful, untrained and useless. The first room was mouldy and resulted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this was the best location for our stay, the building is a little older, the Central is very new, but the view right over the Lagoon on the Esplanade, Rattle ' n Rum at the front door, it really is the best location, i found the room comfortable, clean, and the staff super helpful, and friendly, same as Central, great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

2 nights as a couple. Interior of hostel reminds me of Alcatraz with the corridors and looks a bit tired...curious about the history of the building. Room was really cheap and great location. Bed was clean and comfortable, room basic but ok. Kitchen tight on Food storage space abstract communal computers not in service. Staff on reception friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

I was a little worried about staying here due to reading other reviews and the fact I dont really like staying in hostels...however this one was perfect!!! The rooms are spacious compared to other hostels I have stayed in, and are quite clean. There not prestine clear but its a hostel. The hostel is a little noisy on a night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This place is right on the esplanade, best location of any hostel. But the place isnt great, it's pretty old and dirty..i was here with a big group of friends and we had an amazing time so i cant say i didnt enjoy it, But if you're there on own for day or 2, maybe choose somewhere else..no plugs in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed a few nights in a twin room with my sister, whose friend recommended us this place. The location: great, very central and convenient. That's in my opinion the only good thing in this hostel. The room: As many people said, the rooms look like jail cells, but if you are on a budget this doesn't really matter. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked 6 nights at this hostel and then read the reviews and thought "maybe the reviews were exagerating"... well, NO!... This Hostel SUCKS! forget about sleeping at all! it has the worst eco as it is an old building and it is imposible to sleep (even with ear plugs, that's how bad it is). The rooms are OK, small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Jesu, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay in our hostel. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay in our accommodation. As stated the hostel is housed in a old building and can echo if guests are loud coming in and out, however, our hostel does emply night staff to... More 

Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

It is so handy being on the Esplanade and just in front of the Lagoon. The staff are friendly and willing to help out. We ended up booking most of our East coast activities and the Greyhound here, as the travel staff were exceptionally helpful but not pushy and as a result we got lots of discounts and bonuses and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Rosie and Lyndsey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your stay in our hostel. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our systems in place working. Our hostel and travel staff work hard to make sure our guests get great deals with us and on their adventures in... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

All I can say is the 4/5 star reviews on here are deluded! Like a prison, no plugs anywhere to charge my phone or dry my hair, no air con or windows in the sweaty rooms, unfriendly staff, disorganised, disgusting kitchen and showers! Don't do it people!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our accommodation. We have the rooms cleaned before every check in and if it is a dorm we will also arrange for a deep clean once a week. Although we do not have lockers in the rooms at the moment, reception are happy to store any valuables... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Backpackers hell! Everything is dirty, you feel like in jail. Small windows (there are also rooms without windows), not a single plug in the sleeping room. Nothing to store your stuff and no chancr to store some valuables for free. Matrasses are horror, metall things standing out so that you barely can sleep and in top the staff is liaing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Global Backpackers Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Waterfront

Address: 67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Global Backpackers Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay