We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Global Backpackers Waterfront

67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Global Backpackers Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #74 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
A recent review
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    13
    15
    22
See reviews for
Families
0
24
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first room I stayed in was boiling hot, so I stayed in my friends room. Apparently you need to ask reception for the aircon remote? The price is ok, any dealing with the girls in reception in the day is like pulling teeth. They are RUDE and unhelpful. Literally the only rude staff I've met while travelling. The place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

I arrived in Cairns in the early hours off the greyhound bus. Everywhere is closed and I have not booked anywhere to stay. I find Global, as its the nearest to me and my 10th hand lonelyplanet has the name of it in the book. I go in and it is just like a prison! Its by far the most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
como
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

It looks exactly as the prison I visited last week. The sinks are so small that you have to be careful to not spit on your feet when you brush your teeth. The room are so hot that you can't sleep if it's an hot day. No shelves, dark and no places where you can put your stuffs in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I don't leave a bad review for somewhere bad for a short stay, but this place has been consistently terrible. The first day the staff were very unhelpful and miserable, the girl on the desk seemed untrained and too hungover to work. All staff after this were equally as unhelpful, untrained and useless. The first room was mouldy and resulted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, I appreciate you taking time to leave your feedback for our hostel and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have looked into your bookings and will deal with the member of staff that you were checked in by who has not met our standards. In regards to the staff being unhelpful... More 

NY
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

this was the best location for our stay, the building is a little older, the Central is very new, but the view right over the Lagoon on the Esplanade, Rattle ' n Rum at the front door, it really is the best location, i found the room comfortable, clean, and the staff super helpful, and friendly, same as Central, great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

2 nights as a couple. Interior of hostel reminds me of Alcatraz with the corridors and looks a bit tired...curious about the history of the building. Room was really cheap and great location. Bed was clean and comfortable, room basic but ok. Kitchen tight on Food storage space abstract communal computers not in service. Staff on reception friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

I was a little worried about staying here due to reading other reviews and the fact I dont really like staying in hostels...however this one was perfect!!! The rooms are spacious compared to other hostels I have stayed in, and are quite clean. There not prestine clear but its a hostel. The hostel is a little noisy on a night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for leaving us feedback of your stay. Our staff work really hard to make sure our guests are welcome and enjoy their time in Cairns. Global Waterfront has the best location in town and an amazing view from the balcony - it's great that you were able to take advantage of this. We hope you enjoys the... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This place is right on the esplanade, best location of any hostel. But the place isnt great, it's pretty old and dirty..i was here with a big group of friends and we had an amazing time so i cant say i didnt enjoy it, But if you're there on own for day or 2, maybe choose somewhere else..no plugs in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed a few nights in a twin room with my sister, whose friend recommended us this place. The location: great, very central and convenient. That's in my opinion the only good thing in this hostel. The room: As many people said, the rooms look like jail cells, but if you are on a budget this doesn't really matter. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked 6 nights at this hostel and then read the reviews and thought "maybe the reviews were exagerating"... well, NO!... This Hostel SUCKS! forget about sleeping at all! it has the worst eco as it is an old building and it is imposible to sleep (even with ear plugs, that's how bad it is). The rooms are OK, small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities