We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Global Backpackers Waterfront

67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Waterfront
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here almost a week. It was fine, we got a good sleep most nights. The mattress was broke in our room the springs were popping through but after telling reception a brand new mattress was put on the bed

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren J
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

They get 3* because of the location  (middle of city, close to laguna which is a public pool) and friendly staff. I like one guy that sings in particular. Also I like the system  that you give your key as a deposit to receive a box with plate knife and fork. On the down side the beds aren't comfortable and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise W
Ayr, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

This hotel only describe in Dirty. Limited AC, low water pressure. Staffs are don't care about customers, only if you need to pay the rent!! In the Kitchen, there is no too much cooker to use, and refrigerator is too weak as well, it doesn't keep in cold...This hotel not recommend at all.

Helpful?
Thank deanlin2015

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Parijs, Frankrijk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

This hostel was so dirty! It was a good place but the price is too overrated for what you get. The showers but especially the rooms are so dirty.. A lot of old food and stuff from other people. Nobody cleans it.. Not good! Would not recommend this place

Helpful?
Thank Lucca F
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

I stayed in this hostel for 1 week the first time and then came back for a few weeks after a trip to Cape Tribulation. I first checked in here after staying at the other hostel (same company) Global Central. Again, the hostel has the 4 stay special (staying 4 nights for the price of 3) and I extended my... More 

Helpful?
Thank sckirkham
Iceland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

A hellhole. Double room without window and insufficient aircon. Staff is disinterested and seems to be there to bide their time. Drab atmosphere. No Wifi. Avoid the place like the plague. The location directly at the lagoon is excellent, though.

Helpful?
Thank Kai R
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Kai, Thanks for providing feedback on your stay with us, we are always happy to receive notes from our guests. We are disappointed that you did not feel that the staff were welcoming or interested during your stay, we encourage our staff to be as friendly as possible to our customers. I must clarify however, we do have wi-fi... More 

Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is pretty close to the Greyhound stop, which is the only reason I stayed here for 1 night. I would never come back. It made me think of a prison. The room was small and dirty, with nowhere to put your stuff except on the floor or your bed. The sink made me nauseous to look at, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarijevdJ
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Marije, We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Global Waterfront. Our rooms are cleaned each day and deep cleaned on varying days each week. Most of the rooms have shelving in them or clothing rails for storage so that items do not need to be kept on the floor. Each floor has... More 

hemel, england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

I've been travelling for over 2 months now and have stayed at lots of hostels. This is by far the worst one so far. When we checked in we were met by an unhelpful, rude woman at reception who told us that she didn't have our booking and that there were no rooms left at the rate we had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shmead13
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for providing feedback on your stay in our hostel, we apologies that it was not an enjoyable stay for you. We work hard to make our guests feel welcome and are sorry that this was not the case upon your arrival in the hostel. Unfortunately in this instance, we were short on staff for our usual... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

I booked a private room to get a good sleep before a big day. It took me 3 attempts over 5 hours to check in. The room had slight prison charm but was clean/ok. The bed was too short for me (177) but the real issues started at night when the noise didnt reduce. Thing is, all of their rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wenx
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

My first time ever writing a review but had to recommend this place. The staff are so friendly the sheets are clean and bathroom facilities are spotless😊 it's right in d middle of some some great bars and restaurants with gr8 atmosphere!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#14 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#9 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
#16 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay