We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Global Backpackers Waterfront

67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Global Backpackers Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #73 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
A recent review
Add Your Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    12
    15
    22
See reviews for
Families
0
24
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
como
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It looks exactly as the prison I visited last week. The sinks are so small that you have to be careful to not spit on your feet when you brush your teeth. The room are so hot that you can't sleep if it's an hot day. No shelves, dark and no places where you can put your stuffs in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't leave a bad review for somewhere bad for a short stay, but this place has been consistently terrible. The first day the staff were very unhelpful and miserable, the girl on the desk seemed untrained and too hungover to work. All staff after this were equally as unhelpful, untrained and useless. The first room was mouldy and resulted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, I appreciate you taking time to leave your feedback for our hostel and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have looked into your bookings and will deal with the member of staff that you were checked in by who has not met our standards. In regards to the staff being unhelpful... More 

NY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

this was the best location for our stay, the building is a little older, the Central is very new, but the view right over the Lagoon on the Esplanade, Rattle ' n Rum at the front door, it really is the best location, i found the room comfortable, clean, and the staff super helpful, and friendly, same as Central, great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

2 nights as a couple. Interior of hostel reminds me of Alcatraz with the corridors and looks a bit tired...curious about the history of the building. Room was really cheap and great location. Bed was clean and comfortable, room basic but ok. Kitchen tight on Food storage space abstract communal computers not in service. Staff on reception friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

I was a little worried about staying here due to reading other reviews and the fact I dont really like staying in hostels...however this one was perfect!!! The rooms are spacious compared to other hostels I have stayed in, and are quite clean. There not prestine clear but its a hostel. The hostel is a little noisy on a night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for leaving us feedback of your stay. Our staff work really hard to make sure our guests are welcome and enjoy their time in Cairns. Global Waterfront has the best location in town and an amazing view from the balcony - it's great that you were able to take advantage of this. We hope you enjoys the... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This place is right on the esplanade, best location of any hostel. But the place isnt great, it's pretty old and dirty..i was here with a big group of friends and we had an amazing time so i cant say i didnt enjoy it, But if you're there on own for day or 2, maybe choose somewhere else..no plugs in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed a few nights in a twin room with my sister, whose friend recommended us this place. The location: great, very central and convenient. That's in my opinion the only good thing in this hostel. The room: As many people said, the rooms look like jail cells, but if you are on a budget this doesn't really matter. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked 6 nights at this hostel and then read the reviews and thought "maybe the reviews were exagerating"... well, NO!... This Hostel SUCKS! forget about sleeping at all! it has the worst eco as it is an old building and it is imposible to sleep (even with ear plugs, that's how bad it is). The rooms are OK, small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

It is so handy being on the Esplanade and just in front of the Lagoon. The staff are friendly and willing to help out. We ended up booking most of our East coast activities and the Greyhound here, as the travel staff were exceptionally helpful but not pushy and as a result we got lots of discounts and bonuses and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Rosie and Lyndsey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your stay in our hostel. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our systems in place working. Our hostel and travel staff work hard to make sure our guests get great deals with us and on their adventures in... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

All I can say is the 4/5 star reviews on here are deluded! Like a prison, no plugs anywhere to charge my phone or dry my hair, no air con or windows in the sweaty rooms, unfriendly staff, disorganised, disgusting kitchen and showers! Don't do it people!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our accommodation. We have the rooms cleaned before every check in and if it is a dorm we will also arrange for a deep clean once a week. Although we do not have lockers in the rooms at the moment, reception are happy to store any valuables... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question