We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Global Backpackers Waterfront

67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Global Backpackers Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #75 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Becky W
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    18
    13
    18
    24
See reviews for
Families
0
26
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Woy Woy, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I got a single room for $42 for 4x nights. There are *NO WINDOWS* in *ANY* of the Single Rooms, only 1x chair, and a Single bed. There is an air-conditioner and fan; it was cool all throughout the room. It has a shared bathroom & shower on each floor, which I was able to access with no problems. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friend and I stayed in a private dorm for $50 a night. It's literally a double bed in a room so I've stayed in better as there were no towels or TV included but it was fine. There was nothing wrong with the hostel and I had a hot shower every single time which is amazing for a hostel!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So if you are looking for a good cheap place with a good location, than this is your place. Otherwise I would totally not recommend this at all. The reception lady was useless and not very helpful at all. I was left with unanswered questions and not much assistance to make my stay great. Plus also had no clue where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015 via mobile

Booked to stay for 2 nights, am an australian resident travling domestically and not carrying a passport, was then refused my booking for not being able to produce a passport. Aussies beware. Apart from the travel desk they rest of the staff are not very helpful, when i asked the "lady" at reception if she could call and confirm with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The first room I stayed in was boiling hot, so I stayed in my friends room. Apparently you need to ask reception for the aircon remote? The price is ok, any dealing with the girls in reception in the day is like pulling teeth. They are RUDE and unhelpful. Literally the only rude staff I've met while travelling. The place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

I arrived in Cairns in the early hours off the greyhound bus. Everywhere is closed and I have not booked anywhere to stay. I find Global, as its the nearest to me and my 10th hand lonelyplanet has the name of it in the book. I go in and it is just like a prison! Its by far the most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
como
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

It looks exactly as the prison I visited last week. The sinks are so small that you have to be careful to not spit on your feet when you brush your teeth. The room are so hot that you can't sleep if it's an hot day. No shelves, dark and no places where you can put your stuffs in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I don't leave a bad review for somewhere bad for a short stay, but this place has been consistently terrible. The first day the staff were very unhelpful and miserable, the girl on the desk seemed untrained and too hungover to work. All staff after this were equally as unhelpful, untrained and useless. The first room was mouldy and resulted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, I appreciate you taking time to leave your feedback for our hostel and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have looked into your bookings and will deal with the member of staff that you were checked in by who has not met our standards. In regards to the staff being unhelpful... More 

NY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

this was the best location for our stay, the building is a little older, the Central is very new, but the view right over the Lagoon on the Esplanade, Rattle ' n Rum at the front door, it really is the best location, i found the room comfortable, clean, and the staff super helpful, and friendly, same as Central, great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

2 nights as a couple. Interior of hostel reminds me of Alcatraz with the corridors and looks a bit tired...curious about the history of the building. Room was really cheap and great location. Bed was clean and comfortable, room basic but ok. Kitchen tight on Food storage space abstract communal computers not in service. Staff on reception friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Central
0.1 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#69 of 84 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#28 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay