We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Corona Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
72 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Corona Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    36
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
13
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Corona backpackers is the place to be. Right in the city centre, next to all the shops, esplanade and clubs. The staff is very friendly and helpful, with any problems, and they help you book the best tours for the best price also. Also their rates are the best. All rooms are spacious and clean, and the toilets and communal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at Corona are amazing! They helped us book our reef tour and walked us through other things we could do in the area and beyond. There was no pressure or sales tactics used, like you find at some other tourist shops. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. They also give a meal voucher here that gets you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great place! The people that work here are very friendly and helpful. The people that stay here are friendly, laid back and chatty. Everyones polite. Its very clean and relaxed, stayed here for 3,4 nights and didn't want to leave ! Kitchen area is calm, clean and tidy. And the best thing is its near everything, party scene... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was an excellent hostel. Perfect location right in the city within walking distance to nightclubs, bars and restaurants. Clean rooms with comfortable beds. The staff where extremely helpful and very friendly. Great value for money and I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't believe this place doesn't have worse reviews. It's just not even worth the $16 per night. You'll see the pictures I post of how gross the ceiling in the shower was and how dirty the pillows and mattress covers were. Everything was just so dirty. Even the floor in the room...I didn't even want to take my shoes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SignorCorona, Manager at Corona Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Nikki, Please accept our deepest apologies for not meeting your expectations whilst staying here with us at Corona. Please be aware that we have since repaired the shower ceiling on the second floor which we agree was in need of renovation. The photo you took of the mattress is obviously of the bed being completely stripped of all it's... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Well, yeah this was actually the best part - the meal deal. A very good deal, with a pint. Other than that average. Crowded dorms, noisy, big wait list to showers, sporadic reception hours and no wifi unless you pay for it. It is your choice really. If your budget is tight, treat yourself to a reasonable dinner and drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

This is a Lovely and clean hostel. The management are really nice and the rates are affordable, we will be back if we are in Cairns again. We paid $18 for a 4 bed mixed dorm which is clean tidy and a large room, ceiling fan keeping it nice a cool, large window for lots of light and a fridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Where to begin... Sporadic reception hours, kitchen that closed at 10.30pm with no alternative common area, kitchen closed 'for maintenance' over lunch and without warning, noisy, no free Wifi, Wifi that you had to pay for was terrible unless you were in the aforementioned kitchen, falsely claiming to do free meals when in fact they don't (you should take down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SignorCorona, Manager at Corona Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Christopher Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay here at Corona backpackers. Our office hours are clearly stated 8am-12pm and 4pm-8pm. We are a small hostel right in the middle of the city, providing very affordable and competitive prices. Please accept our sincere apologies for the kitchen being closed due to unforeseen maintenance. We understand that this... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I stayed in this hostel for a few nights and it was great. Perfect location right in town. Great $7 meal at a local bar just round the corner with a free drink!!! :) staff were very helpful and friendly! very clean and met some great people here! Would definitely stay again!!! thank you Corona :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I had a good time in corona backpackers. The staffs was really helpful when I had some problems. The most greatest point is they are located in city. If you don't need to spend that much time in your room and you know the limitation of what you can do/get and the closing times for facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Central
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#16 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#8 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay