We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
11 - 13 Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Weekly Rate Special
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Add Your Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    53
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
30
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hostel and the owners Simon and Tracey were very easy going and a pleasure to talk to. Rooms and kitchen were always clean. Nice relaxed atmosphere and I would definitely stay again. Just a short walk from centre of Cairns and right near the esplanade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tracy and Simon were amazingly helpful, very understanding and patient even when I was being a pain, the shuttle buses provided are fantastic, especially when you're sunburned and can't carry your rucksack to the bus station :P Hostel was clean, friendly and quiet and if you didn't wanna use the handy shuttle buses to town, you could walk in in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were here when the weather was hot and had no air conditioning in the room but were given the option to switch to a 5 bed room with air conditioning for a higher charge. We were in a 3 bed room and the one other option was a 5 bed with air. Usually the more beds the cheaper the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't speak highly enough of Tracy and Simon who run the hostel. Every time we spoke with them they were super friendly and extremely helpful and just a pleasure to have a conversation with. The hostel is lovely and welcoming and has a great equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. It is a little way out of the main town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing this review and sharing your feedback with others. We do love what we do and enjoy having a catch up with all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at JJ's we are so happy you had a great time and would recommend us to others, thank you. Safe travels, Tracy... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed three nights in this hostel and it was very cool! The staff was very friendly and helpful. In the evening they organized good bbq's and some quiz so we could get in touch with the other backpackers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Great, thank you sooo much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our BBQ & Quiz night and got to meet others staying at JJ's too. Fun times. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed in the cairns region for just over 2 months. Everytime i got back to cairns i really enjoyed coming back to JJ's. Being run by a couple has realky given it a homely feel. Theres a good size lounge room and heaps of outdoor seats. They chucked on a free bacon and egg brekky on christmas day. and on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

This hostel provides free breakfast(bread and cereals, tea and coffee) free bus service to town/marina and good facilities. Overall a very good place to stay on a budget! The only thing they couldn't do is stop it from raining so much! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Fantastic, thank you so much! If only we could change the weather......we will just have to keep doing our sun dance, ha ha! IT is great you had a good stay with us and thank you for sharing your feedback. Happy travels x More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Pleasant enough conditions with helpful and friendly staff. I prefer Cairns to some of the other high rise concrete jungles. Good snorkelling trip arranged and recommended by JJ's. Unfortunately just caught the start of the Rainy Season. 70 hours of relentless Tropical rain. 250mm overnight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We sure did get a good down our that night, sun's back out now tho ha ha! Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you had a good time at JJ's and enjoyed your reef trip. Drive safe down the coast in that huge camper van you have ;o) More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I had the best Time there! The staff is very friendly and help you in every different Situations. Everything is very clean. And they offer a free Shuttle every hour to the City even when it;s not far to walk. I absolutely recommend to spend your time there!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Whoooohoooo thank you soooo much for this great review. Thank you for sharing your experinces at JJ's with others. Safe travels. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I stayed with JJ's for two weeks and it was a nice place to stay. They have the friendliest staff at a hostel that I have ever encountered! People complain that it's a far walk but I don't think it is and didn't mind it at all and they have a bus that goes into town very frequently! Wifi isn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you thank you thank you for sharing your feedback. It is great you had a good time here and didn't mind the walk. Thank you also for volunteering at the Fitzroy Island turtle hospital, we think you are a super star!!! Safe travels, have fun in NT x More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question