We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
11 - 13 Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    57
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
33
53
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at JJ's. It is a nice quiet hostel, just out of the centre of town and is clean and well-maintained. We stayed in a double for 5 nights in total and really liked the small cosy family-run feel of the place. The shuttles to and from town are great, but is is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you sooooo much for your comments and review. We really do enjoy what we do and it is always good to read feedback like this. We love that you would stay again, that is great! Thank you for sharing your experience at JJ's with others to read. Safe travels. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Tracy and Simon the owners are super friendly and are so helpful and I highly recommend booking any tours etc with them as they will find you the cheapest and best options, the rooms are clean and the kitchen and bathrooms are also clean and tidy. This is a hostel I would definitely revisit! They also take people of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello you two, thank you for this fabbo review, you guys are wonderful! A lovely little write up that sums us up to a tee. We hope you are not working too hard ;o) Take care. More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at JJ's for 4 nights after arriving from Tokyo. The accommodation is very basic even for a hostel . The thing that makes JJ's are the owners. Tracy was really friendly and helpful from the confirmation email down to the 20th question we had about the trips on offer. I can't fault the guys they really made the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments. Now that we offer free WiFi this has had quite an effect on the speed of our internet especially in the early evening when everyone is on at the same time. We have the highest plan our internet provider offers.. When the hostel is fully booked, like when you was with us, and... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The owners of the hostel, Tracey and Simon, were extremely helpful and kind as was the rest of the staff. I chose to stay here since it was a locally owned establishment. The size of the hostel is small so I recognized others who were staying there. The kitchen was clean as well as the bathrooms. I liked that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we really do appreciate it. Your feedback and recommendation to others to stay with us is fantastic, thank you. You are a superstar! More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great stay at JJ's, the owners Tracy and Simon were so friendly and helped with any questions we had. Its a nice small hostel and everything was clean - what any traveller wants. The hostel is about a 15min walk to the centre but they do regular shuttle buses. Ideal place to chill and enjoy Cairns. The only improvement would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and your lovely comments. Firstly, we are a little concerned about the showers. They are normally really good pressure and all showers have their own hot water tanks so the water should always be hot. Please do not be afraid to come to see us whilst at the hostel so we can fix... More 

Gistel, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a very pleasant stay at the hostel. Tracey and Simon help you with any problem or questions you have, and always with the smile. For that price you can't complain!! Here you would only get a box to sleep in haha :p It is very quiet and secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet close to everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Ha Ha of course you cannot have a sleep in, there's way too much to see and do, as you did! I don't think you had a rest day did you??? Fantastic that you had a great time in Cairns and at JJ's! We are glad you enjoyed all the trips and did actually get to have a rest on... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

Lovely hostel and the owners Simon and Tracey were very easy going and a pleasure to talk to. Rooms and kitchen were always clean. Nice relaxed atmosphere and I would definitely stay again. Just a short walk from centre of Cairns and right near the esplanade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks soooo much for this great review and thank you for sharing. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here would stay with us again, this is wonderful! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Tracy and Simon were amazingly helpful, very understanding and patient even when I was being a pain, the shuttle buses provided are fantastic, especially when you're sunburned and can't carry your rucksack to the bus station :P Hostel was clean, friendly and quiet and if you didn't wanna use the handy shuttle buses to town, you could walk in in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you! That is what we are here for, to make your stay easy and so you can enjoy as much of Cairns as possible. It is great that you found our little hostel to be your favourite hostel of your trip. That makes us very happy :oD Safe travels, from us all at JJ's More 

Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

We were here when the weather was hot and had no air conditioning in the room but were given the option to switch to a 5 bed room with air conditioning for a higher charge. We were in a 3 bed room and the one other option was a 5 bed with air. Usually the more beds the cheaper the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback we muchly appreciate this. We like to give our guests a choice of fan or air con rooms especially if people want to save those extra few dollars :o) All of our fan cooled dorms are the same price as we only have 3 or 4 share rooms. We charge extra for air-conditioned... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I can't speak highly enough of Tracy and Simon who run the hostel. Every time we spoke with them they were super friendly and extremely helpful and just a pleasure to have a conversation with. The hostel is lovely and welcoming and has a great equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. It is a little way out of the main town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing this review and sharing your feedback with others. We do love what we do and enjoy having a catch up with all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at JJ's we are so happy you had a great time and would recommend us to others, thank you. Safe travels, Tracy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question