We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
11 - 13 Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    57
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
33
57
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Broughty Ferry, Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I have had 2 separate stays with JJ's and from the moment I arrived at the premises on the first occasion, I knew I was staying at one of the very best hostels in Cairns. Simon made me feel right at home from the start - he is a man of incredible knowledge and humour and we regularly chat on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Some hostels have 'that special thing' and JJs is one of them. Great atmosphere, chilled out and friendly. Very easy to meet people in the common outdoor patio space. Very clean and well taken care of property. Free shuttle into town is an added bonus although the walk to the city centre along the water is lovely and only takes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at JJ’s in February and loved it. It’s in a lovely quiet area of Cairns, but close enough to walk into the town (About 15 mins walk) along the promenade. The hostel feels really safe , comfortable and clean. Lovely patio area and fully equipped kitchen. Simon and Tracey, the owners, are so helpful, patient and friendly. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked here based on previous reviews and I was not disappointed. Simon and Tracey are very friendly and will help you with anything you need, including multiple lifts to and from the middle of town for free. The rooms are clean and not overcrowded. There is even free breakfast so what more could you want? Thanks JJ's from Jack

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at JJ's. It is a nice quiet hostel, just out of the centre of town and is clean and well-maintained. We stayed in a double for 5 nights in total and really liked the small cosy family-run feel of the place. The shuttles to and from town are great, but is is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you sooooo much for your comments and review. We really do enjoy what we do and it is always good to read feedback like this. We love that you would stay again, that is great! Thank you for sharing your experience at JJ's with others to read. Safe travels. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Tracy and Simon the owners are super friendly and are so helpful and I highly recommend booking any tours etc with them as they will find you the cheapest and best options, the rooms are clean and the kitchen and bathrooms are also clean and tidy. This is a hostel I would definitely revisit! They also take people of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello you two, thank you for this fabbo review, you guys are wonderful! A lovely little write up that sums us up to a tee. We hope you are not working too hard ;o) Take care. More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We stayed at JJ's for 4 nights after arriving from Tokyo. The accommodation is very basic even for a hostel . The thing that makes JJ's are the owners. Tracy was really friendly and helpful from the confirmation email down to the 20th question we had about the trips on offer. I can't fault the guys they really made the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments. Now that we offer free WiFi this has had quite an effect on the speed of our internet especially in the early evening when everyone is on at the same time. We have the highest plan our internet provider offers.. When the hostel is fully booked, like when you was with us, and... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The owners of the hostel, Tracey and Simon, were extremely helpful and kind as was the rest of the staff. I chose to stay here since it was a locally owned establishment. The size of the hostel is small so I recognized others who were staying there. The kitchen was clean as well as the bathrooms. I liked that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we really do appreciate it. Your feedback and recommendation to others to stay with us is fantastic, thank you. You are a superstar! More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Great stay at JJ's, the owners Tracy and Simon were so friendly and helped with any questions we had. Its a nice small hostel and everything was clean - what any traveller wants. The hostel is about a 15min walk to the centre but they do regular shuttle buses. Ideal place to chill and enjoy Cairns. The only improvement would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and your lovely comments. Firstly, we are a little concerned about the showers. They are normally really good pressure and all showers have their own hot water tanks so the water should always be hot. Please do not be afraid to come to see us whilst at the hostel so we can fix... More 

Gistel, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

It was a very pleasant stay at the hostel. Tracey and Simon help you with any problem or questions you have, and always with the smile. For that price you can't complain!! Here you would only get a box to sleep in haha :p It is very quiet and secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet close to everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Ha Ha of course you cannot have a sleep in, there's way too much to see and do, as you did! I don't think you had a rest day did you??? Fantastic that you had a great time in Cairns and at JJ's! We are glad you enjoyed all the trips and did actually get to have a rest on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities