We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks 212 Margaret

212 Margaret Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks 212 Margaret
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks 212 Margaret
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    77
    37
    23
    17
See reviews for
38
54
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a great stay - the location is great, close to the Botanic Gardens, Eagle St and the city centre. We were on a high floor and had great views. The room was clean and had everything we needed. We will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Dear VJbee, We are pleased that your were happy with your apartment and you enjoyed the lovely views and handy location. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Brisbane. More 

Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel, at least superficially, in the downtown area. Short walk to the botanical gardens and shopping areas. Washer/dryer in our room which was welcomed after being on the road for more than a week and needed to machine clean clothes. Where the property fell short was in two areas: the first, one of the clerks at the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to post your review, I am very pleased that our handy location and in room facilities met your expectations. We conduct regular room inspection’s daily and rely on the Housekeeping Contractors to report any maintenance, thank-you for bringing this to my attention which allow us to rectify these issues. We are a secure building with... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Great position! Beautiful room! Fantastic views! My group of girls stayed here for a Hen's night and had a an amazing time - this place is two storied, very roomy and well appointed - we felt like we were sitting on top of the world - the staff were wonderfully accommodating - I love OAKS properties they are home away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Dear Lynette, thanks for your positive review. I’m glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. The staff will be happy to be acknowledged for their work. We look forward to welcoming you back again. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

The room was nice although had a weird odour. Maybe overdone on the cleaning liquids. We were on the top/30th floor and it had great views of the city, river and partly of the Story bridge. There seemed to be a lot of noise from other rooms but it sounded like a Hens party was going on a couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank-you for taking the time to post your recent review. Since reading your comments I have since spoken to the Housekeeping Contractors and reiterated the importance of guest privacy and walking in on a guest is not acceptable. I am sincerely disappointed that this affected your stay in such a negative way and can assure you this will... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 27th floor it had a great view we had a concert at the Garden theatre at the Q.L.D University at the top of the Gardens this is a great place to stay for that venue so close to walk ,nice apartment and lovely and clean a 7 ,11 close by and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Dear Kathy, Thank-you for your review, I'm glad our handy location was convenient for your needs during your stay in Brisbane. We hope to welcome you back next time your in Brisbane. More 

UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We stayed in an executive apartment on the 30th floor. The apartment was excellent in every respect - clean, quiet, a great view from the balcony. The only fault was that I could not at first get the television working. I rang reception and eventually a charming girl came up, armed with TV manuals etc,, but unfortunately after fiddling around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to post your review in regards to your recent stay at Oaks 212 Margaret. It is a great disappointment to receive such unfavourable feedback however, your comments serve as valuable information to help us improve our operation standards. This is not the usual customer service standard and I do apologies for the inconvenience caused during... More 

Innisfail, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I have stayed all over Australia with Oaks and many others, This was my biggest let down. I had family gather from all over Australia. Beds for 8 but 6 servings for the kitchen, dining, 4 seats in the lounge, 6 towels. They had the cheek to want to change for more till I raised a stink. Housekeeping was ordinary.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Dear Paul, It is certainly unpleasant to receive such unfavourable feedback however, your comments serve as vital information that allows us to better improve our operation standards. We do regular inspections in each apartment to ensure all kitchen items are well stocked, thank-you for letting us know during your stay so we were able to replace these items for you.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I booked the Oaks on Margaret for the very first time and was completly unprepared for the amazing hotel views!! I was on the 27th floor and not only was the apartment comfortable it was also unbelievably clean although the sofa was a tad hard. When I went to go out onto the balcony the balcony lock was broken and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Dear Romanast, We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the amazing views we have to offer. I will be sure to pass on your positive feed back to Housekeeping, Maintenance and the front office reception staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time your in Brisbane. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Really handy for the CBD and the park. Room comfortable and the housekeeping was a little erratic for our one week stay for business. What we weren't aware of was that the Soundwave Festival was on, so our hotel was flooded with teenagers. Not the hotel's fault as their prices are very reasonable, but when you get hit on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Dear Jayne, Thank-you for your recent review, I am glad that our hand location was convenient for you and the room met your expectations. I shocked to hear of your experience with a water balloon and as the Manager of the Hotel I do sincerely apologise for that. If you wish to discuss this matter further please feel free to... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015 via mobile

Very close 2 blocks to downtown area clean well appointed apartment with daily service. City view disappointing from floor 26. Stayed 2 weekend nights. Only complaint would be the daily free 30 minutes WiFi we used the free downtown internet the city offers. Parking reasonable at $25. Lounge sofa uncomfortable and DVD player wouldn't work but staff try very hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerMargaret, Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review

Dear Clive, Thank-you for posting your recent comments regarding your stay at Oaks 212 Margaret. Next time you book please ask the friendly reservations team on how to upgrade to a Riverview apartment. We offer a wide range of different wifi packages starting from as little as $5 and can offer very competitive room rates on the weekends. We hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay