We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Hotel website
Hotel deals
161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Add Photo

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    143
    214
    77
    29
    16
See reviews for
51
171
31
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (479)
  • Mar-May only
    (126)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is ideal if you are going to a show at QPAC Theatre or wanting to go to the Southbank weekend markets - the room quality is great although the thick carpets on the room make pushing a wheelchair a bit hard. The staff were very friendly and were interested in our activities and our day overall. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Totally underwhelmed by the room and facilities. The location was the only plus side. In the room there were large black marks on the wall where it looks like suit cases had been scraped along it. No effort in any shape seen in trying to clean or repair it. The bedroom door was the same. The worst part was there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were 3 nights in a 1 bed Apartment. Room 428. From 17th June. Spacious comfortable, clean, well equipped. Bathroom looking a bit tired, shower screen and tap accessories past their best. Overlooked the train line. Wasn't disturbed by the trains as out all day. At night with double glazing and few trains passing through we didn't find it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Kate57Sydney, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your stay, our hotel and team. I can 100% assure you that our room key issue has been rectified. This was a very hard time for guests and I can only apologise sincerely that you expereinced such an inconvenience. I do trust that each time... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last minute i joined two friends and despite tight sked June helped me arrange for excellent apt with spacipus living room dining area and rollaway bed with thick mattress. Washing machine n microwave etc. Breakfast was rather sad affair but since it wasnt included the Rydges buffet provided expensive alternative and lots cafes downstairs were excellent cheaper brkfasts. Great location.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Cloudatlas2013, Thank you so much for your review. It's wonderful to see you were met with efficent and helpful service upon arrival. I've passed on your comments to June who was very happy to hear your kind words. My apologies breakfast was not appealing to you.The chefs are working on a new buffet and a la carte menu which... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights while on business in Brisbane. As I needed to be near the convention centre I chose the Mantra instead of where I usually stay (apartment) and I wasn't disappointed. Although there was a little confusion at check in (they had two bookings in my name), the process was smooth and I was in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear KGB_4, Thank you for your fantastic review and rating. It's wonderful to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I'm thrilled to see we were able to provide you with great service on arrival and no doubt throughout your entire stay. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we hope you'll be... More 

Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night only - at check in specially requested a quiet room (away from lifts and back rooms - as all back rooms face the train tracks) got given a key for the fourth floor - opened the door and that room faced the train tracks - you can hear trains in and out of Southbank - had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca W, Assistant Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Sunnycoster07, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. As it was myself who spoke with you directly when you called down from your room after check in I apologise for not making it clearer that the original room type you booked, the... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was very nice the beds were very comfortable which is a rare thing. The rooms are modern and we'll designed. We ordered the chicken share platter from the restaurant downstairs it tasted amazimg, but I think they must have used a bantam chook because it was tiny! But if your not starving I guess it doesn't matter. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Chris V, Thank you so much for your review on our team and hotel. It's great to see you enjoyed your stay and were able to have a comfy nights sleep. The new menu in our restaurant is amazing and I'm glad you were able to experience our chef's tasty treats. We look forward to welcoming you back in... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great hotel for visiting Southbank and the conference centre, better than Rydges . It is near two stations so you can get the train directly from the airport quicker and cheaper than a cab. It is modern and bright , with very helpful front of house staff, a good small gym and pool , and right next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear SusanmSydney, Thank you so much for your review and rating on our hotel and team. We all hope you were able to make the most of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Brisbane. Best regards, Rebecca W More 

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A big room on the 5th floor (lounge, bedroom and balcony) offered all the space and comfort we needed to unwind, coming to the end of our 3 weeks' foray to Adelaide, Darwin via the Ghan, Alice Springs, Katherine and Uluru. There was a small amount of noise from the street below (it's a hotbed of eating and entertainment opportunities,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear BPinOz, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write this wonderful review about our property. I am so pleased that we were able to offer you comfortable and spacious accommodation during your time in Brisbane. Thank you for your comments about our fantastic staff, I am so pleased that the team have shown you the very high level... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a night on Queens Birthday weekend after seeing Dirty Dancing at QPAC and enjoyed post musical drinks and dinner at Southbank. Comfortable 1 bed unit. Staff were friendly and helpful to all needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear 812CPL, Thank you very much for the fantastic review on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the long weekend away in exciting South Bank. I hope you enjoyed Dirty Dancing at QPAC, I have heard wonderful things! It is also great to see that we have been able to provide you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay