We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Hotel website
Hotel deals
161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    204
    76
    26
    16
See reviews for
49
165
32
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (461)
  • Mar-May only
    (123)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff member in house keeping name was Renuka offered sexual favors for extra money. I find this disgusting and cut my stay short! Report to staff went unnoticed! Very disappointed!!!!! Will never stay there again! Nasty!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Br2321, Please note that we are aware that you are the daughter of the staff member you have mentioned in your comment regarding your stay at Mantra South Bank Brisbane and that you have never stayed at Mantra South Bank Brisbane. We are also aware that you have posted similar comments regarding your mother on several other sites defaming her... More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When arrived asked if had balcony and we didn't , so asked to be moved to one with. They Wanted 60$ per night! But because it was such beautiful weather we agreed. However they should NOT charge for a balcony because it wasn't!, it was a slab of concrete ,too small to sit out on and to cap it all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have stayed at The Mantra Southbank a number of times and have even had long rental stays in the residential component of this hotel. As a birthday treat from my wife she booked us for the theater, dinner and overnight stay at the very conveniently located Mantra Southbank. Location is 5 out of 5, service and breakfast still very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear RichardMcA2014, Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra South Bank. I am pleased to read that you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions and that our location, service and dining options keep you coming back. We really do value our return guests. I am however surprised to read your comments in relation to the... More 

oz
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was provided an apartment style room which made the room good value, though even a normal basic room would have been good value for the money. Everything was ok, but at least 3 guests including myself had issues with the room swipe key with one needing a lock physically removed to get into the apartment. Service was pretty decent from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear cmbsOz, Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra South Bank. I’m pleased to read that you found our rooms to offer good value and enjoyed our central location right in the heart of South Bank. I do apologise that you experienced some issues with the keys however I hope that our friendly staff were able to assist... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room I had (one bedroom) was clean, spacious, with a good balcony, quiet and comfortable. It has a functional kitchen. The staff are friendly. There are silly add-ons - like $25 for internet per day, and expensive mini-bar stuff, but over-all the value is very good. The location is great - easy 10 minute walk into the city, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Steve2407, Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra South Bank. It is very pleasing to read that you found our staff to be friendly and our rooms to be both clean and spacious. I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra South Bank the next time you are in Brisbane. Kind regards, Rebecca W More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in hotel room. Room was not worth the price. Few thing were rusty in bathroom. Room key did not work all the time and I had to get down to reception every time. Very frustrating. I am not sure it was just the type of room I selected or other rooms would be same. But the room decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear MrPSY, Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra South Bank. It seems as though we have fallen short of our high standards on this occasion. It is disappointing to read that you felt like our rooms were not up to standard. Most of our guests find our rooms to be modern and spacious so I would like... More 

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has spacious rooms and a friendly atmosphere with staff who are professional and competent. We had breakfast as part of our cost and it was rather standard in an environment where travellers are spoilt for choice. Our room key cards worked very reluctantly despite several new cuts and an attempt to clean the lock by a maintenance man.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm L, Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra South Bank. It is very pleasing to read that you found our staff to be both friendly and competent as this is something we place great importance on. I apologise for the issues you had with the keys however I believe maintenance have rectified the issue having reinspected... More 

Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at Mantra Southbank a few times. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed without being lavish. It's probably a shade overpriced for the standard but gets a boost from the location which absolutely can't be beaten. For a business traveller its the best spot in Brisbane. You can walk along the street or across the road for an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Seaview088, Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra South Bank. It is very pleasing to read that you have chosen to stay with us time and time again so that you can enjoy our well-appointed rooms and incredible location in the heart of South Bank. I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra South Bank the... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can safely say that my first time staying at Mantra won't be my last. Everything was exceptional, from the check-in to checkout. When I needed help or a question answered, it was given quickly, efficiently and with no condescension. I can't stress that enough, the difference between a hotel feeling comfortable and uncomfortable is often how you are treated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy_OB, Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us here at Mantra South Bank. It is very pleasing to read that our staff, especially the reception team, were able to make you feel home away from home. We take great pride and place a huge importance on the level... More 

Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Asked for tea pot - tick, nice teas - tick, said they would not launder my towels if I hung them up & they didn't - tick. Can open window for some fresh air - tick (plus furnishings etc all lovely). Simple things make all the difference.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear marilla d, Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra South Bank. It is so pleasing to read that we “ticked” all of the boxes when you recently stayed with us. I hope we can continue to do so the next time you choose to stay in Brisbane. Kind regards, Rebecca W More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities