We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 163 Brisbane hotels

City Palms Motel

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   55 Brunswick St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Hotel amenities
City Palms Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Palms Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #128 of 163 Hotels in Brisbane
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Donelle C Varsity Lakes, Australia
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    11
    17
    27
See reviews for
13
26
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I wouldnt stay at this motel again if you payed me. The rooms are very tiny and basic. The cleanliness and hygene is appaulling.Mouldy bathrooms,food stuck on cutlery,linen is dirty and stained,doors dont lock,air con does not work efficiently.Along with the rude service,when checking in you get told your room is ready,then when entering the room,you find it has not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute to stay here as we had a concert at Tivoli.. The room was clean but the air con did not work at all.. It was so hot and uncomfortable. A night free away from the kids turned out to be horrible. Something I was looking forward too. I'd probably only stay here for concerts and with friends, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the City Palms last night after a trip to Australia zoo. We checked into the room at 5pm, had a shower and headed out for dinner. On first impressions the room appeared dark and dingy, on closer inspection after dinner we realised how dirty the room was. There was pubic hair on the toilet seat and floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel should be struck off the wheelchair friendly list, i had even checked by phone that it was, well unless my brothers chair could leap 3 to 5 steps he couldn't even get to the Office, information desk or even the snack machine if it was needed, he even needed help to get into our room, the bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Varsity Lakes, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at motel a few times now - convenient and close to venue I was attending. Room was tidy and clean. my friend and I will definitely stay again - probably in the near future. staff were helpful also

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Which is the best thing I can say about it. it is very near to fortitude valley station. I didn't feel totally safe there and I wouldn't stay there alone. It wasn't comfortable. The communal parts and the room were dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week recently and thought the location was very conveneint for both Fortitude Valley and the city. The motel room was tidy, comfortable and clean, although the kitchenette in my particular room could have used a light scrub. On the whole though I liked the motel and I'd stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst motel that I ever stayed in...they say they are a 3 star motel, well I don't know where they get that from...the paint is falling off the wall, the hand basin in the show should had be retired about 10 years ago in it chipping everywhere, the whole room didn't feel safe at all, the fridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Dear Kay, we hope that your back pain gets better. During your stay we visited your room twice upon your request; however, we did not receive any complaint from you about room cleaning. Otherwise, we would have given you a room change which up to your expectation. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will be... More 

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Decent motel and great friendly staff! We were a long stay from the beginning of August until October and can't really fault it, especially for the price ($58 per night) our room had a kitchenette and a balcony, little dark in the room and slightly out of date, but very clean. Beds are quite hard but bearable, didn't faze us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your patronage and staying with us for 2 months. We hope you are doing well and would love to see you again! More 

Mandurah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

This motel were very accommodating when I booked a room last minute due to an unsatisfactory backpackers that I had checked into. The room I booked for 4 nights was unavailable the first night so the staff put me in a bigger room without me having to pay the difference.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We strive to provide a good experience and we wish to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to City Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Palms Motel

Address: 55 Brunswick St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Palms Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your City Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Palms Hotel Brisbane
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Brisbane

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay