We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Palms Motel

55 Brunswick St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
City Palms Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    25
    13
    18
    31
See reviews for
15
29
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The people where nice however that is about the only nice thing about it. The room stunk of smoke. The rooms where small and dirty. We where not excepting to much because of the price however you can still be clean. The bath had dirty in the sills, no mattress and pillows protectors used ???? a big no no. Got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will ensure that all bedding fitted with protectors for hygiene standard. Fresh towels and service clean are provided daily as scheduled, however, cleaner will not be able to get in guestroom which door is locked from the inside of the room. Have a pleasant day. More 

Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We will not visit this motel again.The kitchen area was really dirty.Not where I would like to cook our food.The blinds were dusty and the shower had hairs not belonging too us!And also toilet did not look good,stains and plastic.Not worth 75 bucks.We stayed in cheaper places much better looking and more space.The guy at the reception although was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Your feedback is well noted, what you mentioned was totally unacceptable. It is a shame that we did not hear anything from you during the stay. It is more appreciate if you could have told us after check in so that we can follow up or giving room change immediately. However, wish you have a nice trip. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

The room was big which included a private kitchen. Coins operated washing machine that convenience for long stay. Staffs are helpful and very nice - worth to have a little talk with him and you will learn of places to visit in the Brisbane city. 10 minutes walk from Fortitude valley train station, very easy to get there - just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for thru out weeks before you have found your ideal home in Brisbane. We hope you have a lovely journey in Australia. More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Room was dated but clean. Take your own pillow though 'coz there were only two flat ones supplied. Hallway smelt of cigarette smoke but room did not. On a busy road so traffic noise is a bit of a problem. Suggestion-Book ahead and pay for secure parking out the back. Only other parking is out front and area is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Recently we have replaced new pillows in guest rooms. And hoping that this upgrade can enhance sleep quality of our guests. We wish to see you again in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

Room stunk so bad of cigarette smoke no sleep had. Smell was in bed /blanket/pillows like someone had been smoking in the made up bed!! Had to wash all clothes after we left as smell followed us in our hair etc, was disgusting. Felt sick having a baby in there with us. Manager not worried next morning, just shrugged a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply Jen, We feel sorry about the smoke in room and we were unable to give you a room change immediately as you came in the midnight. allowing your kid playing around is nice but it was not ideal for her to pick up garden mulch or pest control items in our garden. You may wish... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

The City Palms Motel is in serious need of a clean up and full refurbishment! We booked a family room for one night and thank god we did not need to stay longer! The room was well below average, very outdated and the carpet was filthy. The walls were damaged and there was a huge hole at the staircase which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply, We feel sorry about your experience and did not hear from you upon check out. However, we are checking the condition of the room and will follow up respectively. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This place is cheap but fulfil all needs for a basic few nights or week.. It is in close to all the bars, restaurants and clubs in fortitude valley as well as being a 20/25 min walk into Brisbane CBD. Rooms have air con, wifi, en suites and kitchenettes. The only negative is that the rooms are a bit dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jimmy L, Manager at City Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon! More 

Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

For the normal price the rooms are ok, but we stayed recently for a music fesival and were charged an extra $100 on top of the normal price for each night. Normally we stay here but the room we got downstairs this time was disgusting, you could be seen from the driveway while having a shower. The noise was pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

The people in the room next door had a loud drunken party and the motel staff just left them to it. I didn't feel safe there at all and was very intimidated by the drunk men. Please don't ever stay here with children. Also, they advertised free wifi but it can't be accessed in the rooms so you have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

the staff was nice, but the first room I stayed was worse then horrible - no chance to open window as there was none - the light came trough glass tiles. There was thick layer of dust on top shelves and the aircon was so dirty, that I most probably there contracted lung infection that upon return got me to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.0 mi away
ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
#88 of 161 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
1.6 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#44 of 161 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.2 mi away
Snooze Inn
Snooze Inn
#128 of 161 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay