We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banana Bender Backpackers

118 Petrie Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Banana Bender Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had planned on staying in Banana Benders for two weeks but ended up living there for five months. I met the best people and had the best time. At the time, the place had a lot of long termers in it that tended to work during the week. So it wasn't a party hostel but guests were friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank CAEGunn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights and loved it. It is my favourite hostel to date. Staff cannot do enough for you, and always willing to help. The booking needed amending before arrival, thanks to Anthony it was sorted quickly and easy. Onsite facilities are perfect. The city is a short walk. Loads of bars, shops and restaurants are a stones throw... More 

Helpful?
Thank OXD2013
Management response:

Hey OXD2013!! Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be so helpful. We do try our best!! You are right in saying how close we are to the city, shops and restaurants, especially the Thai restaurant!! Think you started a trend in the hostel... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

We stayed with 3 guys in a 4 dorm, the room was really clean. There was no air-condition, but the weather was not too warm and the fan was good. The bathrooms where not really clean, shower was not the best, but it was good enough for us. Kitchen was way to small! Overall de looks of the was hostel... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank backpackhahn
Management response:

Hi Pim, Darius and Hans, Thanks for your review. Bananas takes no pleasure in asking guests to leave - it only attracts bad reviews and is not good for our business. We are sorry you feel hard done by BUT bringing alcohol into a licensed premises is against the law. Your were told this when you checked-in and warned again... More 

Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

I was there for just 2 nights. The rooms are OK, not the best I've seen, but definitely not the worst. No idea about the kitchen since I haven't used it. Just the showers are awful. Hardly any water coming out at all. All in all an OK hostel, nothing more than that.

Helpful?
Thank Veringtentje
Management response:

Hey, Thank you for letting us know about the shower heads. We are replacing them today. Enjoy the rest of your trip. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful hostel, my new fave in town. Liked the atmosphere. Nice, clean rooms, better than the average hostel rooms. Cool common area. Alcohol to fair prices. Friendly staff and guests. The shower could need a new head. Never saw more ac outlets on a hostel room! Internet could be free, but as so often in hostels, it isn't.

Helpful?
Thank Dave D
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

I can't express the rudeness of the owner! The owner went so far as to call the police because we wanted to leave early. Three young girls staying in a private room we don't expect our belongings to be snooped through or 3 miserable bottles of cider confiscated! Worst place I've stayed in Australia, avoid at all cost.

Helpful?
8 Thank CharlieMC33
Management response:

Knowing people have had a bad experience at my hostel always saddens me, however, I don't believe anything could have made you three happy. You were abusive to staff, did't follow the hostel rules and clearly didn't fit the 'hostel vibe'. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

We spent two months living in apartment 3 located on Cricket Street (2 minutes away from the hostel main building). The apartments were basic but had all essentials you could ask for. The apartment had an ensuite bathroom, seperate bedroom and kitchen/livingroom. One of the owners can be found renovating apartments in the building, he is always friendly and happy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steph S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in Banana Benders for over 3 Months. The reason is that i felt pretty good comin home after work. Ben is an amazing person and helps where and when he can. It sure depends which kind of person you are but i had a pretty good time staying there.

Helpful?
Thank Sven S
Management response:

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay! More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

When you go to a hostel, you know you are staying in a budget accommodation. This means in my opinion that there are always things that are good and things that are bad. That being said: Banana Benders does a lot of things good, and nothing particularly bad. Everything is cleaned daily, the kitchen several times a day. Whenever one... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

I thought I'd give it a go because there seemed to be mixed reviews and some people seemed a little paranoid about staff making them feel unwelcome etc. Reception hours are minimal and when they are open there is still often no one there. Staff asked me my name and room number 3 times in the week I stayed and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Frankie B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#75 of 120 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#18 of 120 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#48 of 120 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#46 of 120 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Some Rooms Backpacker
Some Rooms Backpacker
#78 of 120 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay