We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ellie's Guesthouse

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
124 Merthyr Road, New Farm, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Special Rate
7TH NIGHT FREE
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ellie\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Noosaville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall a comfortable place to stay, near to the city, clean & tidy and close to all amenities. Was only there for 3 nights and had to go into the city on those days, so really appreciated the convenience

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank msydne_134931
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Tiny room, No Air Cond, No Soap, No Shampoo or conditioner, very Poor Customer service, Rang 3 times no answer and rather calling back sent a text message, No power for the whole night, Rooms and Building overall are in very poor condition, may collapse anytime, I am not even sure it meets legislative requirements, Windowns are workplace helath and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ryan109
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments, whilst we do welcome feedback. We do feel the need to respond and clarify your inaccuracy. Interesting that you claim you had no power when the light was left on in your room when we entered the following morning. Also one would question, if you had no power all night why you wouldn't advise us?... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Nala and Jacque are super great. Jacque was sooo helpful with helping me to figure out what to do in and around Brisbane, and the easiest most affordable way to do it. It's like staying with your personal travel agent. The bedroom was very quaint and provided exactly what I needed. Internet connection was totally fine. My unit had the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lakelynw
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We loved having you stay with us and love sharing tips on Brisbane. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. More 

qld
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

tiny room with no air con, no ceiling fan, no bedside lamps- (the bed was practically against the wall)-tiny tiny ensuite, not worth the money for sure. also someone was painting the wall below our window, chattering non stop with 2 friends. he was doing this at 12md, and did not stop till 7pm when it got dark! there was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank malikab901
Elliesguesthouse4005, Owner at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and sorry that you were disappointed, however we do not advertise air-conditioning or ceiling fans. We do state fans which are and was in your fan. More 

Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

It was comfortable, friendly, quiet and clean. We were there for a 3 day course in based in North Key transport was convenient and quick. Rooms were on the small side but overall a functional place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank scromi_530177
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and we always strive to keep the property clean and tidy. More 

Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Ellie's is a friendly guesthouse, i needed short term accommodation over a three week period and i couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The rooms are clean and well kept, the staff are friendly and caring, and the location is brilliant. I highly recommend the guesthouse, loved the fact there were no TV's thought that was brilliant. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

Connexion bus from airports stops right outside accommodation so good for late arrivals. Bus stops outside that goes to city centre and close to ferry and catamaran links. New Farm area is very pleasant. I have to say the Jacqui was extremely friendly and helpful. Accommodation was fairly basic but adequate. Just one suggestion - Room 4 is located at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 639richard
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

Beautiful home to stay in, with lots of character, great energy. Genuinely lovely hosts, who were helpful and also respectful.Everything you need in good condition. Beautiful gardens to enjoy and close to transport that takes you everywhere

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kathrynkkk
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

It is a very good hostel with a good location in Brisbane. Ellie is friendly and has good tips for the people who are visiting the city. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms are clean but there are just 2 for a hostel that are not too small.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fredericom240
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

Nice staff, clean, historic house, convenient bus access. I got a lot of great tips about what to do and see, which really helped me figure out what to do that day. I had a two person dorm room, and it was pretty well-equipped with a fridge and toaster.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jom303
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
1.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Number 12
Number 12
#1 of 65 in Brisbane
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Annie's Shandon Inn
Annie's Shandon Inn
#23 of 65 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay