We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 61 Brisbane B&Bs / inns

Franklin Villa

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 Brighton Road | Highgate Hill, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Franklin Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Franklin Villa to your Saves list
77%
Ranked #20 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
MediumZoe
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

franklin villa is a marvellous place located 10 min walk to Brisbane's South bank precinct, we stay in the loft room which is at the very top and a little difficult to reach if have walking difficulties as there are no lifts only stairs, but when there it's worth it, there's a small ensuite and sitting area which has a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To be honest, I'm still at Franklin Villa until tomorrow but I love the place so much I've decided to give it a full 5 stars right away. First up, the location is handy to all the attractions of West End; you're only a 5 minute stroll from cafes and shops on Boundary St. Next, the room (we have the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this very last minute, and when we arrived the management didn't even know we were booked(not their fault) Cabin was nice, was a but disappointing we couldn't use the mezzanine floor. Place was quirky , but the girlfriend loved it, which is the important part. very clean, and cute, Will stay there again,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I have never been so cold in my entire life, and I have camped in a tent in Iceland! My partner and I planned a romantic weekend away, which included a 1 night stay at Franklin Villa. We chose the villa based on the location, with easy walking to the West End or South Bank, and from the photographs of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in the White Room at Franklin Villa last night as an early Mother's Day treat and had an awesome time. Franklin Villa is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance to all the eateries in West End which we indulged in for Saturday lunch, dinner and Sunday morning breakfast. We arrived at Franklin Villa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick P, Owner at Franklin Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words on Franklin Villa. Glad you had a lovely stay with your daughter and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Franklin Villa More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Undoubtedly the most unusual place we've ever stayed in. It felt like going back in time but with an element of the Adams Family residence!! Loved it but it reminded us that we would could never live in an old property! I chose it for our 3 night stay at the end of a 5 week tour of NZ &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Franklin Villa in October during the week. This place has loads of character and I wished that we had more time to look around the property but we were only there for one night and arrived late in afternoon and left very early the next morning. Rooms were spacious and clean with tea making... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This villa has character for sure, but needs some modernising. The website promised a gym, which ended up being some home weights on a rack at the end of a concrete driveway, covered in cobwebs, behind the owners' car. The "private" bathroom ended up having glass windows (not frosted) looking onto the public verandah, only covered with some flimsy curtains.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Frankin villa in June 2013 with 4 other friends whist following the British and Irish lions tour of Australia. The accommodation is very unique. The whole house is like a Aladdin cave with lots of unusual artefacts spread throughout the whole house. It's an old colonial style house lovingly restored by the owners over many years of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel because of proximity to friends' house and to avoid the soulless modern hotels on Southbank. The house is lovely but the room was tired and a bit tatty. The decor generally is just a bit too quirky. Air conditioning failed and had to be restored which was bad for a Brisbane summer. Spent the night worrying it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nick P, Owner at Franklin Villa, responded to this review

Dear Amy, Thank you for your detailed feedback. Our sincere apologies that you were uncomfortable for your stay. It was a cold snap. We do put extra blankets in the cupboards for cold nights like these however the cleaner had not done this.There is an option in the rooms for reverse cylce heating. It is unfortunate that you didn't call... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Franklin Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Villa

Address: 35 Brighton Road | Highgate Hill, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101 , Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Franklin Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Franklin Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay