We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 60 Brisbane B&Bs / inns

Franklin Villa

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 Brighton Road | Highgate Hill, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Franklin Villa to your Saves list
Franklin Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
78%
Ranked #30 of 60 Brisbane B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014
Jan S Sunshine Coast
  • Reviews (19)
  • Photos (14)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I have never been so cold in my entire life, and I have camped in a tent in Iceland! My partner and I planned a romantic weekend away, which included a 1 night stay at Franklin Villa. We chose the villa based on the location, with easy walking to the West End or South Bank, and from the photographs of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in the White Room at Franklin Villa last night as an early Mother's Day treat and had an awesome time. Franklin Villa is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance to all the eateries in West End which we indulged in for Saturday lunch, dinner and Sunday morning breakfast. We arrived at Franklin Villa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick P, Owner at Franklin Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words on Franklin Villa. Glad you had a lovely stay with your daughter and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Franklin Villa More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Undoubtedly the most unusual place we've ever stayed in. It felt like going back in time but with an element of the Adams Family residence!! Loved it but it reminded us that we would could never live in an old property! I chose it for our 3 night stay at the end of a 5 week tour of NZ &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Franklin Villa in October during the week. This place has loads of character and I wished that we had more time to look around the property but we were only there for one night and arrived late in afternoon and left very early the next morning. Rooms were spacious and clean with tea making... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This villa has character for sure, but needs some modernising. The website promised a gym, which ended up being some home weights on a rack at the end of a concrete driveway, covered in cobwebs, behind the owners' car. The "private" bathroom ended up having glass windows (not frosted) looking onto the public verandah, only covered with some flimsy curtains.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Frankin villa in June 2013 with 4 other friends whist following the British and Irish lions tour of Australia. The accommodation is very unique. The whole house is like a Aladdin cave with lots of unusual artefacts spread throughout the whole house. It's an old colonial style house lovingly restored by the owners over many years of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel because of proximity to friends' house and to avoid the soulless modern hotels on Southbank. The house is lovely but the room was tired and a bit tatty. The decor generally is just a bit too quirky. Air conditioning failed and had to be restored which was bad for a Brisbane summer. Spent the night worrying it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nick P, Owner at Franklin Villa, responded to this review

Dear Amy, Thank you for your detailed feedback. Our sincere apologies that you were uncomfortable for your stay. It was a cold snap. We do put extra blankets in the cupboards for cold nights like these however the cleaner had not done this.There is an option in the rooms for reverse cylce heating. It is unfortunate that you didn't call... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location for walk to qpac and dining variety in west end The rooms have real old style character and a beer on the verandah overlooking the city is most relaxing I think this place is a real find for someone wanting to do a night at qpac or a day at the GABba which is also very close I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frederick P, Owner at Franklin Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for reviwing our property.Hoping to see you for your next visit to Brisbane. More

Thousand Oaks, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place was an amazing find. For the first time during our 3-week holiday in Australia, an accommodation was actually SUPERIOR to the Internet photos! If you like 100-year-old fully restored Victorian structures, wrap-around verandas with views, Hawaiian-style vegetation, gurgling fountains tucked away everywhere, tropical birds chirping in surround-sound, a huge kitchen for your personal use, claw-footed soaking tubs, this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Franklin Villa is very well located and the communal guest facilities (kitchen, lounge, billiard room, verandahs, outdoor areas, lap pool) are excellent. The decor is amazing, an eclectic mix of furnishings art and memorabilia harking back to the colonial era with touches of the British Empire and Royalty and fascinating history of colonial era Brisbane and the early development and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Franklin Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Franklin Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Villa

Address: 35 Brighton Road | Highgate Hill, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101 , Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Franklin Villa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Franklin Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brisbane with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Franklin Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer