We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments

715/747 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Hotel amenities
Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #155 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    5
    13
    20
See reviews for
6
12
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted by an extremely rude receptionist. Everything and anything was far to hard for her and she made you well aware of it. The room: at first glance it wasn't to bad considering the price BUT, the cleanliness was far from acceptable. All bowls plates and cups were filthy and after walking from the bathroom in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family of 4 were due to check in on the 2/4/15 we had 2 children under the age if 2 but places on the 3rd floor, no elevator only stairs which made for a scary entrance when carrying kids up 2 flights of stairs. Walked into the room hit in the face with a putrid smell. Room had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The apartment had a terrible smell and definitely needs some maintenance. The carpet in the bedroom was very worn and was coming up from the floor. The only blanket on the bed was as thin as a sheet. The extra blanket in the closet was a little thicker but was stained as well as the curtains. The towel rack in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This motel is on a really busy road but very close to everything. We had a studio apartment which smelt very badly of cleaning products and something that smelt like rotten food. The room itself was clean but the shower had mould in it and some previous occupants hair on the walls and the toilet roll holder was not clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel through booking.com and requested a ground floor room due to my daughter having foot surgery, on arrival we were placed in a first floor room which involved a staircase, after a five hour drive. I was too tired to argue. The room definitely was not as depicted in the pictures on booking.com. After a sleepless night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

One of the worst places I've ever stayed. Our initial room didn't have working air conditioning or TV and smelt awful, we were then transferred to a smaller room which was terrible.The bathroom hadn't been cleaned and there were no toilet rolls, the toaster didn't work, all the plates and utensils were filthy, the room stank and the internet didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

My partner & I needed overnight accommodation for a function at the Pineapple Hotel. I read the reviews on this place (it's literally just across the road) and was not inspired by what had been written. Since it was in a perfect location & price range I decided to ring them up & ask some questions. I ended up booking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The customer service at this establishment is so appalling that I didn't even want to stay the night there. It was as though the receptionist disliked if people stayed. There were initial issues locating the booking (as apparently we arrived too quickly) then eventually we were sent to an already occupied room. The guests complained of many issues with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

online photos are entirely misleading!the rooms are stinking with not even a window!the room was pitch dark when we opened it,like a dungeon!we couldn't have stayed more than a few mins in the first room were allocated and the next wasn't much better.the air con was broke and had water running out of it,the bathroom wasn't not cleaned,there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danni Z, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your review as you assured us you would. Please be advised that the $50 fee you were charged was a courtesy, as due to the cancellation policy we were entitled to the full amount for your stay. All of these issues that you claim occurred could have been resolved for you, however... More 

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Terrible motel, photos nothing like the rooms or facilities shown online!Stains in carpet, bad smell and a pond for a pool!other guests were robbed during the night!rough crowd staying, felt uneasy and unsafe! Never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question