We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 104 Brisbane accommodations

iStay River City

4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   79 Albert St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights & Save!
Save Saved
You added iStay River City to your Saves list
iStay River City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
55%
Ranked #40 of 104 Specialty lodging in Brisbane
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
jmlind25 Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Overview
  • Reviews (222)
  • Photos (141)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (70)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    86
    48
    35
    21
See reviews for
68
50
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have not stayed at Oaks for a while but it was a last minute booking and not a lot to choose from. The place smelt was old and very dirty. The smell in the corridor was particularly bad it was like rotting rubbish. I will not be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback Simon and I am sorry that you had a disappointing stay. I have passed your comments onto the housekeeping and facilities management to ensure that they continue to ensure the apartments and corridors smell as they should. I do look forward to welcoming you back to IStay Rivercity or another Oaks property in the... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

- We booked & paid for a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment but was given one with only 1 bathroom as "all 2 bath apartments have been taken". I had booked 2 weeks in advance and no one bothered to mention this detail, despite the fact that the booking website showed a 2 bathroom apartment being available. They just happily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to provide your feedback Samie on your recent stay and I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as you should have done. I have passed your comments onto the reservation manager to clarify what is being advertised on the Agoda website where you booked through. Unfortunately due to the set... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location was perfect for Brisbane, and a good rate compared to hotels in the immediate area. Having a small apartment was perfect after being in hotels for a week. Furnishings were basic but comfortable. With eating out being very expensive compared to the US, having a kitchen to eat in saved us quite a bit of money. Having a clothes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. I have passed your valuable comments onto the front desk and housekeeping team and we look forward to welcoming you back to IStay Rivercity or another Oaks apartment complex in the future. Kind regards. More

Nambour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed here for one night in June. One bedroom unit was average, needed a bit of a face lift. Position is good for shopping etc. Hallway smelt like garbage, from the rubbish shutes I'm assuming. Nice big balcony though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I note your comments regarding the unit. We are working on refreshing all the units and hope that when you return for another stay you will notice the difference. I have passed your comments regarding the rubbish smell onto the Facilities Manager to investigate further. Kind regards More

QLD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for the weekend with our family for our daughters graduation. The location was good and it was easy to walk to wherever in the Mall you wanted to go and also you could walk across to Southbank. The 2 bedroom unit was good and had all the facilities that we required. I was also happy to see fans... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable feedback on your recent stay. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards More

Cairns, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on way back home. Had two bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor. Easy location to access. Had a rental car so had to stop out front to get the key and check in but there was plenty of space in the loading and 10 minute parking out the front. Car park is accessed around the corner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Hi Matty, Thanks for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and happy that our parking facilites allowed a stress free start to your break, I can appreciate city parking can be difficult. I-Stay's model is to keep the price per night as low as possible for our guests, which is why there are less... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was only a quick weekend trip, but I was extremely happy with this accommodation. The apartment is massive, beds are really comfy, lots of hot water, great views and helpful front desk staff. Would definitely return for a longer stay next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments onto the front desk and housekeeping teams and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rivercity or another Oaks property in the future. Kind regards More

Nambour
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Pretty tough to give this any better score. Very basic accommodation, unhelpful staff and the sofa had no cushions. When queried the answer was, they were being cleaned. Convenient for the next guest perhaps but pointless for me. I stay in a lot of accommodation and this rates like a country motor inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay. I have investigated into the missing sofa cushions and can confirm that the cushions had indeed been sent for the regular cleaning but that the room was not supposed to be sold that night. I do sincerley apologise... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early and staff very helpful. They stored our bags and called us when our room was ready. Young man at the desk was very frienly and helpful. Direction on hotel facilities and where there where located would ne helpfull. Other wise we enjoyed or stay and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at iStay River City. I am happy to hear you found the front desk staff helpful, please be assured I will share your comments with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were happy with our rooms - clean and comfortable, basic necessities provided. We stayed for two weeks, were returning customers, but on the night of the State of Origin were slugged $599 for that one night!! Virtually three times the nightly rate - all because of some silly football game. Opportunistic greed indeed!! The nightly construction, demolition and roadwork's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed the majority your stay. I do understand your frustration with the premium pricing for the night of State of Origin however this is a standard across all hotels for event nights in the relevant cities as extra staff and security are required due... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage iStay River City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to iStay River City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay River City

Address: 79 Albert St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay River City 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your iStay River City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay River City Hotel Brisbane

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brisbane with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
iStay River City overlooks the Botanic Gardens and the CBD, and offers centrally located Brisbane accommodation. Hotel apartments at iStay River City are known for their contemporary style, convenience and amazing views. With a selection of 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, each boasting full length windows, full kitchen and laundry amenities and balconies averaging 20m² to really take advantage of the views and alfresco lifestyle, iStay River City is the choice of discerning business and leisure travellers. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "IStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
95

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from iStay River City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer