We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 101 Brisbane accommodations

Base Brisbane Central

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Base Brisbane Central to your Saves list
Base Brisbane Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (254)
  • Photos (64)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (31)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    53
    55
    96
See reviews for
4
47
98
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location was excellent. Really close to (and I mean exactly in front of ) the main station where you can get the train for the airport (20 min by train). Close to the shops and other cool places (check the bar below the hostel!) I would not say that it was the best and the cleanest place I've ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I couldn't believe how dirty everything was I had to cancel my booking of 5 nights the day after I arrived Is really loud The staff is unbelievably rude And the room just disgusting Please avoid this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nuremberg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

You like to sleep at 2 a.m? Well then better go to a different Hostel. First night there where fights in other rooms till 4 in the morning and you can here everything through the walls. Also there is Music the whole night. The room also was smelling strange when I arrived and you could only open one window a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As soon as you approach the hostel you can already tell that you have wasted your money. The whole place is run down with plaster missing here and there and a lift that is lethal. A friend and I paid £91 for a twin room for two nights. We checked in all fine and got sent up to our room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Loud hostel with lost of party. The place is good enough if you want to party hard but very poor for a decent night of sleep and a good bathroom/bed. The location is great though and the staff is rather friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in a double room. Shared bathroom etc which was all fine. And staff were really great down at reception. And the bar in the basement area had great food, cheap alcohol and awesome music. But when we returned to our room someone had been in our room and placed a big bag of rubbish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked to stay here for a couple of nights, as it's in a great central location, but I was massively disappointed. The building is so run down. Everywhere you look, things are broken, chipped and dirty. It smells unclean and everything just feels grimy. The shower room on my floor was out of order, so I had to use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Front Office Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The hostel is going through major refurbishments. The reason you... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The building is really well located for exploring the city and the staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean but a bit of a walk from some rooms and some girls complained they had to go to a different floor just to take a shower. This didn't affect me as a guy, as I stayed on level 1.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Front Office Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Hi 223alexc, Were very lucky to have this great location which makes it super easy for new guests to make there way around Brisbane. We also offer a free walking tour every Tuesday @ 2:00 pm showing off all the best parts of our beautiful city. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to walk to the 2nd level bathrooms... More

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The reception staff have got to be the worst staff I have encountered in 2 years of travelling. There is a young guy working at the desk who is the most obnoxious arrogant people iv met. We arrived in a group of 4 and the reception guy made such a big deal that we were paying separately then one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is in a great location, right outside the central train station. This makes it easy to get to and from the airport. It is also located central from the centre. The hostel was being renovating the bathroom on my floor so had to use the bathroom on the floor above which wasn't a problem. If you like having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Base Brisbane Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Base Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Central

Address: 308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Central 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Base Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
136

See which rooms travelers prefer