We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 101 Brisbane accommodations

Base Brisbane Central

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Base Brisbane Central to your Saves list
Base Brisbane Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (254)
  • Photos (64)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    54
    54
    96
See reviews for
4
47
97
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night in a double room. Shared bathroom etc which was all fine. And staff were really great down at reception. And the bar in the basement area had great food, cheap alcohol and awesome music. But when we returned to our room someone had been in our room and placed a big bag of rubbish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked to stay here for a couple of nights, as it's in a great central location, but I was massively disappointed. The building is so run down. Everywhere you look, things are broken, chipped and dirty. It smells unclean and everything just feels grimy. The shower room on my floor was out of order, so I had to use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Front Office Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The hostel is going through major refurbishments. The reason you... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The building is really well located for exploring the city and the staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean but a bit of a walk from some rooms and some girls complained they had to go to a different floor just to take a shower. This didn't affect me as a guy, as I stayed on level 1.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Front Office Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Hi 223alexc, Were very lucky to have this great location which makes it super easy for new guests to make there way around Brisbane. We also offer a free walking tour every Tuesday @ 2:00 pm showing off all the best parts of our beautiful city. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to walk to the 2nd level bathrooms... More

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The reception staff have got to be the worst staff I have encountered in 2 years of travelling. There is a young guy working at the desk who is the most obnoxious arrogant people iv met. We arrived in a group of 4 and the reception guy made such a big deal that we were paying separately then one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is in a great location, right outside the central train station. This makes it easy to get to and from the airport. It is also located central from the centre. The hostel was being renovating the bathroom on my floor so had to use the bathroom on the floor above which wasn't a problem. If you like having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed over the long weekend, had a great time! Staff were helpful, rooms were clean, would recommend to anyone staying in Brisbane. Make sure to bring your passport as they will not accept any other forms of id.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Base Central for just one night. A travel agency had booked it for us in our East Coast package. When we arrived there, we were supposed to be in a 8bed dorm but decided to upgrate to a double room for the night... We paid an extra 17$, so we were expecting good services... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Front Office Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The hostel is going through major refurbishments including painting rooms.... More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

When I was there they had such cheap prices if you stay for a whole week so contact them directly rather using a booking agency. The rooms are large and the downstairs bar is ok. The only problem is the people. The people who stay in city hostels are far more unfriendly and treat the place awfully, but I guess... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Had a great time at Base Brisbane Central recently. Great location just near Central made it easy for us to get around Brisbane. The staff were really helpful when we checked in and gave us good tips as to where to eat and good pubs nearby. Bit noisy at night, but generally a fun atmosphere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Front Office Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Hi Molly0707, Thanks for taking time to leave a review. Were stoked you enjoyed your stay at Base Brisbane Central. The location does make it easy for traveller's to get around Brisbane and with a reception team that knows Brisbane and can point you where you want to go. The hostel can get a bit noisy at night when a... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

So this was my first stop in Australia, location wise it's perfect, I stepped off the plane, onto a train and right into the doors of BASE, checking in took a long time and even though I asked for 2 nights I was only given 1 even though I asked three times if she had booked me in for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Base Brisbane Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Base Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Central

Address: 308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Central 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Base Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
136

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer