We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Brisbane Central

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Base Brisbane Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Base Brisbane Central
Base Brisbane Central
Base Brisbane Central
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    71
    77
    116
See reviews for
5
60
125
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (329)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the third Base Hostel we have stayed in during our Oz adventure and it is by far the worse! We're not fussy people (we've lived with lizards, lizard poo and endless bugs during our time) but this place was gross! The place absolutely honked of Damp! Really dark and dingy hostel that felt very unloved. Obviously a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I couldn't sleep all the night because there is a club under the hostel so the room are very very noisy. the staff is not very good. the building is very old and the facilities are disgusting and not very clean. the kitchen is disgusting as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed her one night for Steriosonic. I heard from a lot of people that it was loud and people were screaming in the middle of the night, but i never heard anything. Maybe me and my friends were lucky, but we got a room with 4 other people and it was so quiet that i felt uncomfortable turning around. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loveeeee Brisbane ! I lived at this hostel for 4 months while I was working at a local pub, I was traveling and working around Australia ! The kitchen was always packed and busy so I didn't use it much and from some of the rooms the music could be heard from the bar down below but the Central location,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would have rather slept in a city park. This place is so gross!!!! I’ve stayed in many hostels and this was by far the worst experience I’ve ever had, to the point of needing to write a review. Save the money and go anywhere else at all costs. The ceilings are all leaking, there was not once toilet paper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

yeah the ceilings leaking, the place stinks and the lift is like something out of final destination. but when you're paying 20 dollars a night, who actually cares? does it have a bed? yup. showers? yeah. kitchen? yup you guessed it. my advice is if your fifty years old and live in a private Manor House, put your hand in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room included a bed that was fine and nothing else. A horrible smell and that was pretty much lt. There was next to no ventilation. The roof in the hallway was leaking and all carpets were a little damp. There was plenty of visible mold. Service was very polite and helpful. The location is great and the building is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Front Office Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Hi Henri K, Thank you for taking time from your travels to leave a review, Base Central is undergoing a major refurbishment to fix these issues you have mentioned. Were glad you were happy with the service and location. We hope you pop in and check out the improvements. Safe travels from the Base Central Crew. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 nights in a budget double with my boyfriend. We were on the 5th floor (top floor, on the roof) and there was only a fan, no AC, not sure if that is all double rooms or just the top floor. Wasn't too bad in late March but I can imagine it being way too hot in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here twice in March, we booked in advance for when we first arrived in Brisbane and then again a few days before we were due to catch a flight, the location is fantastic! Couldn't ask for better. The staff are okay, some nicer than others. The quality of the rooms isn't great, it's very basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel rooms are blank, boring and smelly. We weren't even able to open our window because it was nailed shut. There are panels above all the doors that let sound pass through freely, so when you're walking through the hostel you can perfectly hear what people are talking about inside their room. The bed we slept on was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question