We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Brisbane Central

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Base Brisbane Central
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Herrenberg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Basic Hostel, no great facilities. But totally fine for one or two nigths. Plus: - very central in Brisbane - Air conditioner in ten-dorm-room - Bed was good . price Minus: - I did not like the bathrooms

Helpful?
Thank Anne J
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Its location, all the breakfasts I had at the bar downstairs (with 20% discount), and the service by the staff (on night shift) were great. Also, I think I was one of the fortunate people who got really quiet roommates with a bedroom that was OK-sized, comfortable and not too loud. The kitchen on the ground floor wasn't too bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sys_7225
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been backpacking through Europe and Australia for at least 3 months, and this is by far the worst hostel I've been at. They try to charge you for everything. Wifi, luggage storage, printing, etc. I don't mind paying if there's a good reason, but there are some things that are common courtesy for people who stayed at your place.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ignacio D

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After staying in multiple base hostels across Australia, I was hopeful this one in Brisbane would be just as good. I was very wrong. The rooms were dirty, as was the kitchen and utensils. The weather was very very humid and hot. What was disastrous about the hostel rooms was that there was no air conditioning, just one powerless fan... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Aiofe99
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok hostel good price!! We stayed for one night got a good 6 shared room was clean and comfortable beside power went of and we couldn't charge phones or use air conditioning for 2 hours, staff was quick to fix this problem for us. Bad thing the luggage room don't feel safe especially when u need to pay extra for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tobbe E
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for two nights in a hot and stuffy room. Bathrooms were pretty dirty. Paid wifi very intermittent (feature of most base hostels!). Main disappointment was the fact I paid to leave my bag in the locked luggage storage room with CCTV for a couple hours on my check out day. During this time my expensive Bluetooth speaker was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abi B
basecrew, General Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Hi there, We do tell all guests leaving their luggage in our storage room that we take no responsibility for any loss of belongings and we can not be held responsible. You informed me that you called around the 27th December and we never called back, however, you did wait until the end of January before trying to contact us... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived we were impressed with what we initially saw. The building is gorgeous and reception was nice too. Clean and the staff were friendly! After we'd checked in we went up to our room, we were staying in a 6 bed dorm. First of all there's a lift which is 102 years old according to the sign inside,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DaviiDC96
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So a hostel is a hostel, however this I thought was below even average for a hostel. Stayed here 2 nights & I understand it's a older building but everything needs a good clean & bleach. I had cockroaches in my room & the bathrooms our fowl. Wear shoes everywhere. Rooftop is ok, and the + is the kitchen is... More 

Helpful?
Thank UnitedKingdom44
basecrew, General Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for leaving a review. The property is treated by pest control every month, unfortunately we are located in a city in Queensland, so we do expect the odd cockroach or two to pop up. We are just glad it is not a snake! All bathrooms are cleaned twice a day. Enjoy your travels! Thanks, The Base Central Crew More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Used my greyhound vouchers so I'm not sure about the cost of staying here. Clean hostel with spacious rooms! Friendly and helpful staff! The pub under the hostel was good and hostel guests were given a discount on everything which was great! Laundry room and kitchen were well equipped and tidy. The lift was a nice touch but not convenient... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank glj25
basecrew, General Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! Our lift is the oldest lift in Brisbane, something we think provides our hostel with a lot of character. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and get the opportunity to stay with us again! Thanks, The Base Central Crew More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, the hostel is very central but as soon as I walked into my room it smelt of urine and looked very dirty - the floor looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a long time ( there was actually a cockroach in there one night). Two of the poor girls in my room woke up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rach C
basecrew, General Manager at Base Brisbane Central, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review - we do prefer for guests to come down to see us if they have any problems with their room so we can help to improve their stay. Two girls had come down to reception claiming they had bed bug bites, however, we saw absolute no evidence of this in their room so we did... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#15 of 163 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#91 of 163 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#19 of 120 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.7 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#47 of 120 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay