We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    47
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
50
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hot showers Chilled out Friendly staff Free, tempermental WiFi that doesnt extend into at least 2 of the dorms I stayed in. Could do with an oven and the kitchen staying open until 10 maybe. Lack of power outlets, we had 2 outlets between 4 of us, all the outlets in the common rooms are also regularly in use. Occasional... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Damien, thank you for your thorough review. We have always had problems with the wifi, and this is an issue beyond our control. The internet provider is unable to fix it and this is why it is free. It works better in good weather and when less people are trying to gain access, it works less in windy and... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent backpacker if you're looking for a quiet place with quiet people and if you like going to sleep at 10pm. Almost depressing though... Don't go there if you're looking for a party backpacker with lively people. Otherwise clean with helpful staff and everything. Also, worst Wi-Fi I've found in the entire East Coast, they really need to fix it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Wouzz. We indeed advertise as a quiet hostel as we are situated in a residential area. A lot of people do go to bed by 10PM, but we have an entertainment room located next to the office that is open all night. Our atmosphere and the liveliness of the place really depends on the kind of guests that we... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I arrived at the hostel, it wasn't clear to me where I needed to check in (and everybody in the common room was kind of ignoring me), which wasn't a great start. When I found the check in (in the back yard), I got a better welcome, and a big map of Brisbane and a lot of information on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Jacoba. Due to a damaging hail storm last year, a lot of roofs and other things were damaged in Brisbane. It was only last week that we were able to find someone to fix ours, as everyone needed them. Unfortunately we ourselves were unaware of when the builders would work or what they were up... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really liked the Aussie way hostel: The dorm was spacious and clean, bathrooms were nice and they have a pool and free wifi. The kitchen was rather small, but okay. The location is alright: It's about a 10 minute walk to the cultural centre. You are not allowed to bring alcohol to the hostel. Overall I really enjoyed my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank so for leaving a review. About the construction: Brisbane had a terrible hailstorm last November, which wrecked a lot of roofs, among other things. Last week was the first opportunity we had to get people to fix it, as they were needed in so many places. The works are completely done by now, and I apologize that we were... More 

South Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Competitive price, clean hostel, small and peaceful, good position (near Roma street). Good for people that don't like party hostels and noisy young backpackers. The share room is just 4 beds. Just hard to find the way to the reception the first time. I would come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. On addition to the sign that points to the office, we added a sign in the hallway as well. Safe further travels! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Stayed in the Aussie Way for 9 nights. A small hostel with nice staff and clean rooms! For a good price! Stayed in other hostels for the same price - in a 20 bed dorm ;) Perfect if you want to relax without loud persons around you. Beautiful view from the balcony. Also clean bathrooms, toilets & kitchen. If I'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, Michael. We're glad that you had a great time, and you should feel free to come back anytime. Safe further travels! More 

Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Aussie Way is good and peaceful place to stay. We only spent here one night but could have stayed longer! Our double room was nice and the bed was really comfortable. Place is clean and I really like the living room+kitchen area with tv, books etc. Location is bit far but still walking distance from centre. Wifi was free and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sarasus, Thank you for leaving a review! We're sorry that our staff-member did not respond to your greeting, this was most likely not intentional but rather a matter of simply not having heard. It's indeed possible that she was cleaning, as the tasks of our staff-members are not limited to reception-work. There are adequate signs in the office with... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Stayed 2 weeks at Aussie way backpackers, nice hostel with clean rooms, but there was an annoying Irish couple who sat around outside all day everyday yelling, laughing and smoking cigarettes, would have been nicer without them there, but apart from them I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Damien, thank you for your response. First to address your irritation with the Irish couple. In our hostel, we are unable to deny someone the right to stay here based on how they choose to spend their day. As such, the mood and energy of the hostel changes all year 'round, depending on our guests. But this would be... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We stayed here for a week and had a great time at Aussie Way. We booked a double room, which was in the adjoining building and it was great. There were two more double rooms and a single, all sharing a lovely large bathroom and a small but well maintained kitchen. The main room was a lovely social space too.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay! All the best in your further travels. More 

Hong Kong Region, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Planning to stay at the hotel in this year end. Is the free wifi available? if so, is that free wifi accessible in all guest rooms? Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Vannarady, we have free wifi available. They do not extend to all dorm-rooms (although we really try), but there is an adequate signal in our entertainment rooms and the outside areas around the office. It ought to work in all of our private rooms too. We hope to see you later this year! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#42 of 118 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#20 of 118 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#70 of 118 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#48 of 118 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#45 of 118 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somewhere to Stay
Somewhere to Stay
#61 of 118 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay