We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,757 Queensland accommodations

Takarakka Bush Resort

Save Saved
You added Takarakka Bush Resort to your Saves list
Carnarvon Gorge via Rolleston, Queensland, Australia
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (82)
  • Photos (71)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • More
Takarakka Bush Resort
Ranked #394 of 1,757 Specialty lodging in Queensland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queensland
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This bush resort has excellent facilities. We stayed in a "Takka Tent" which was basic but cosy (after all, it was a camping experience). The camp kitchen was well equipped and very clean and a fabulous social point for campers and guests to gather and have a drink or a yarn & enjoy a meal together. There was also a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stay here for three nights and it's a nice peaceful part of the earth with plenty of awesome walk to and around Carnarvon Gorge. Lots of bird life around to see and hear. The place is a bit of dusty but you expect that when QLD hasn't had much rain. Like others who have stayed here I wouldn't call... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a great campground with good sized sites, great amenities and a basic but clean and well maintained camp kitchen ( gas hot plates, gas BBQs, an urn and kettles, washing up facilities, tables and seating), that is right along side the creek - with platypus appearing early morning and dusk. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Being so far out of civilisation we were not sure what to expect. Yes, the website shows a lot but who ever believes websites.... At $45 a night for a powered caravan site it was a bit expensive but when you take into account the costs involved in getting the electricity there and maintaining the site as required, I gladly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Based near Carnarvon Gorge, the camping facilities for caravan nets and campers are excellent. Hot showers, clean toilets, large caravan sites, albeit very dusty road and camp due to the exceptional dry conditions

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunshine Coast, Qld Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What an amazingly beautiful place to visit and to stay at. Carnarvon Gorge is a very pretty place to visit with lots of walks to take whether they are long or short. Takarakka resort was great. All the staff we so helpful and very informative. The amenities were extremely clean and plentiful. Well done to everyone involved

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I see ‘resort’, I think swimming pools, spas, bars, restaurants. I didn’t find any of those at Takarakka Bush Resort. What I did find was a very large caravan park, conveniently situated (about 4 to 5 km away) from the visitors centre at Carnarvon National Park, where the main walks into Carnarvon Gorge begin. There are other walks closer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Takabus, Manager at Takarakka Bush Resort, responded to this review

As a bush resort we proudly offer a retreat from the world with well maintained, comfortable and exceptionally clean facilities in a remote location. We now offer the very popular en-suited Taka Safari Tents complete with toilet and shower as well as the standard Taka Safari Tents which are situated close to amenities. Due to limited mains supply, the park... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Basic amenities as it outlines on its site, but clean and affordable. Great place to set up base camp. The Manager/owner could not have been any more helpful from advising us what to bring when we called including food, to advising us on water holes to swim in, best hiking tracks for the time we had and best places and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingaroy, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Carnarvon Gorge is a very beautiful place and well worth a visit but Takarakka is a rip off at $45 a night.for a powered site. We stayed there in July and there were no concrete slabs and the ground is very dusty so you need to take your own ground sheet to put under your awning. There is no swimming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Takabus, General Manager at Takarakka Bush Resort, responded to this review

Management fully understands the issue of price, as we constantly try to deliver a fantastic remote tourism experience for our guests and we always strive to give value for money. However, we do realise that guests may not see the "behind the scenes" work, costs and the environmental infrastructure along with all freight/logistic costs that it takes to keep our... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Carnavon Gorge is a very special place. My husband and I (62, 64) stayed for a week in June in our camper trailer. We had a spacious powered site (far end of Echidna area, near the river where we saw platypus) with lots of room. Not cheap, but in peak period (though not school holidays) so OK. Excellent general store... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Takarakka Bush Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Takarakka Bush Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takarakka Bush Resort

Address: Carnarvon Gorge via Rolleston, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Takarakka Bush Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer