We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banyan View Lodge

119 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darwin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Banyan View Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

This was a functional, basic, budget place for a one night stop over. The room was OK, clean, good air-conditioner. Decor could do with a freshen up. The kitchen looked clean and well-equipped, There's no wi-fi - you can get internet access free on two communal computers. It was quiet, secure and well-located.

Helpful?
1 Thank 38sally
Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. Banyan View Lodge was built over 40 years ago, while we cannot do much about the aesthetics of the bathrooms, we can certainly try to improve on the internal décor. Glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Despite is a good place to stay in Darwin, the House Supervisor is a person difficult to deal with. Tanya Hawkins was so rude with us. She sadly ignores what hospitality and client service means...:'(

Helpful?
4 Thank atpc_calcetines
Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad customer service experience while you stayed at Banyan View Lodge. We would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in house. If you choose to stay with us again, please contact the Management to discuss any concerns you may have. More 

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

Coming from a party hostel this was refreshing, staff were nice, facilities were average, I really liked the 3 bed dorm it was clean and quiet, bad points that are EASILY fixed by management, $20 for a plate deposit is rediculous 4 of us wanted to eat so they asked for $80,the promised free internet is one computer in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jon a
Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge, responded to this review

It is great to get your feedback. We understand your concerns regarding the refundable deposit of $20 per crockery pack. In actual fact, there is no charge for the crockery and cutlery pack. We found previously that our crockery and cutlery must have been very popular, as it tended to disappear quickly leaving no items for the next guests! This... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

This place would be the worst place I've ever stayed in.Had a terrible vibe to the place.I was a solo traveller and the place did not make me feel comfortable.The TV room stank of cigarette smoke.I occasionally smelt cannabis around the place as the other Hostels I've stayed at don't tolerate that.There were a few dodgy long term 60 year... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guy J
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

It is a short walk to the CBD, a bike hire place and the esplanade. There is a pleasant outdoor area at the back.The room was very basic and drab ($90 double with shared bathroom), street noise, and the small fridge leaked. A set of quite negatively expressed rules were provided, suggesting patrons are not to be trusted. A generally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Quercuslocator
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights there and I don't recommend the place. For sure it's possible to find better in Darwin. Good points : - staff is relatively helpful - prices are quite low. I paid $28 for a 3 people bed if i remember. Bad points (a lot...) : - no internet inside the hostel - dodgy people live there... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis S
BangkokJoey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Ugly on the outside and the inside, extra charges for absolutely everything that is locked behind steel grilles (cutlery, coffee cups etc), run down, lights out at 10pm and a peculiar clientele give this place the aura of a prison. I personally was attacked by another guest for the crime of sitting in the common room after lights out. Inconsistent... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BangkokJoey
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

I wasn't a big fan of this place. Firstly, the good parts. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming (worthy of an extra star in the review), and the location was fairly central, with a bus stop outside for those hard to reach places. Apart from that though, things were lacking a great deal. No atmosphere, interiors were very... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank LlamaRamaBanana
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

The pictures online look very misleading: the "pool" is 2 square meters, the "spa" is the size of a bidet. A lot of creepy, old, drunk people. Almost no backpackers around. The common area are completely useless and uncomfortable. Toilet and showers dirty to the point that you don't want to use them. You have to go outside to use... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dinabird00
NSW
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

This is my 4th stay and it has gone downhill. The trundle bed in the 3 bed female dorm was virtually unusable with a big dip in it and VERY squeaky and noisy every time I moved. The air conditioner was set to 24 C or below so it was cold, and there weren't any blankets when I requested them... More 

Helpful?
Thank 775traveller
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 38 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#16 of 47 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melaleuca on Mitchell
Melaleuca on Mitchell
#27 of 47 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cavenagh
The Cavenagh
#9 of 20 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darwin YHA
Darwin YHA
#19 of 47 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#24 of 47 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities