We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Darwin hotels

Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Smith Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin to your Saves list
Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
61%
Ranked #19 of 38 hotels in Darwin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
CanberraMaureen Canberra
  • Overview
  • Reviews (56)
  • Photos (26)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
8
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not luxury accommodation but the apartment was in a good location, very spacious and clean. The furnishings were in need of an upgrade but comfortable. We had an apartment on the seventh floor overlooking the harbour - lovely view. I would definitely stay there again but it is not luxury accommodation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely, spacious, two-bed apartment, with an ensuite and a separate bathroom. Very comfortable for two couples. Good to have an allocated car space in the basement. Great balcony, to enjoy a coffee while watching the sunrise. Laundry (with soap powder supplied was convenient. Minuses - given the price, housekeeping could be provided say twice a week, instead of weekly. Refrigerator... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Dear World traveller, Thank you for your comments. As we are Serviced Apartments and not a Hotel housekeeping can be daily, 2 to 3 times a week or weekly depending on your needs and what rate you are on. Clearly my Housekeeping are overworked at the moment as we have had a very busy season and we are all tired... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Darwin is a basic kind of place and this is definitely not luxury accommodation. Apartment was spacious and well-located but everything felt so tired. Felt like the owners were furnishing on a very tight budget using the basic fit-out from the 1980s - I'm sure the sheets were polyester mix. So don't go expecting luxury. Made me wish I'd spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Colin, I am always saddened when our guests expectations are not for filled as we do care and try very hard to please. I must say I am suprised you only gave us a 3 for service as I know my service staff and myself always bend over backward to please. We pay for A grade Linen so I... More

Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our appartement was on the 11th floor with stunning views over Darwin - especially by night very impressive. It was clean, but some things should definitely be improved. So the carpets in the bedrooms looked very ugly because of many dark spots. The showers had some funghis - shower head was very crusty. The kitchen was not really "yummy". Cupboards... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Sir, , Thank you for your comments and clearly I will have to be more vigilant with our housekeeping team. However in Darwin if an apartment is closed up just for one day and there is a bit of moisture mold does happen over night. Also with the fires at this time of year we can mop the balconies... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
36 hotel reviews
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We are staying at the "Marrakai" in the most expnsive time of the year so far as concerns accommodation in Darwin. So what does our $475.00 per night get us at the "Marrakai"? A two bedroom, two bathroom apartment on the 10th Floor (of 16), with drop-dead gorgeous views overlooking the busy harbour, a large wrap-around balcony - perfect for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

To My wonderful guest :) Thank you for this exceptional review :)). I can't tell you what it means to my staff and I. It is really hard work at this time of the year as we are 100% and there is no room for error. God bless you both :)) Leanne :)) More

Launceston, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We arrived from Tasmania late afternoon, to find all ceiling fans on, but the aircon broken. Receptionist said manager would ring us. (He didn't ) So we rang again. The manager admitted aircon u/s and would contact the aircon company. later the manager rang (with attitude) to say aircon would be fixed tomorrow. Aircon was very important as Darwins daily... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Sir, You were in a newly renovated apartment with a brand new a/c system. There was an error flashing in the control. We called the a/c people in after hours. We left a note offering you a full refund and a good quality bottle of red. We leave the fans on in all apartments so they are fresh for... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in unit 21 on the 5th floor. It was not one of the refurbished units and needs some serious renovations on the bathrooms. However the units are very large and comfortable and with wrap around balconies. Situated in the CBD they are close to all the action, but this can also lead to some late night noise. Never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay :)) Thank you so very much for your kind review Take care and safe travels Leanne More

perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at Marrakai. Large apartment well furnished plus large balcony with excellent views. Good location in city and secure parking. Not ultra modern but very clean and very well equipped. Would highly recommend as a good value stay in Darwin. The service provided by managers and reception was 5 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review :)) We also think our apartments are very special. Again it is so pleasing to my staff and I that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tell your friends Safe travels Leanne More

Mulwala, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Thank you for a great couple of nights in Darwin. Great location, spacious, comfortable, clean, and great views. Pool was massive and enjoyed the swim on the hot afternoons. We had a lovely weekend. We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind review . It is a great place for a weekend. So glad you enjoyed :)) Stay safe leanne More

Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our first trip to Darwin and our stay at Marrakai has been fantastic. We didn't really know what to expect but we were blown away by both the apartments and Darwin itself. Having 2 teenage boys we normally have to book 2 hotel rooms. We only booked the one apartment at Marrakai but when we arrived we couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne M, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

AWW Gee Thanks :)) So glad you enjoyed our apartments and hospitality. Thank you for taking the time for your lovely review :)) Keep on having FUN, Take care Leanne More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin

Address: 93 Smith Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Darwin with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#14 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marrakai Apartments offer the spacious luxury of apartment living at Darwin's premier address. Featuring wide wrap-around balconies providing panoramic views of the city, harbour and gardens our apartments are your comfortable home away from home. Each apartment is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, private laundry and 2 bedrooms/bathrooms. The pool, spa and BBQ area is the perfect spot to relax and entertain friends. City shopping and theatres are right on your doorstep and for the nights you don't feel like cooking, there are a number restaurants to choose from. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer