We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Darwin hotels

Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Smith Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin to your Saves list
Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
63%
Ranked #21 of 36 hotels in Darwin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014
Tech570 Perth, Australia
  • Reviews (38)
  • Photos (22)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (6)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
5
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm a local and if I ever stay in town it's always the Marrakai....................unfortunately, this time there was no Towels.............and no blankets............................an average stay. I was disappointed that the hotel we usually visit was not up to standard............ Also, the BBQ area needs a sink and hot running water to clean it properly after use............and the water fall and bubbles... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne M, Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Sorry about the towels our cleaners just forgot that apartment. I know we took them straight up to you the moment you called, same with the blanket even though you called at 2 am . And as a rule don't normally supply blankets for the couch. In terms of the pool area it is being upgraded as we speak. Thank... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

When will this building sort out its fire system? To many false alarms and building evacuations. It's a huge waste of fire services resources and a major irritation to guests and tenants. Happens too frequently.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne M, Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay was disrupted by fire alarms. Please know that are system is up to date with the latest and mandatory equipment. We are all guided by the experts these days and really don't have a choice. Clearly we are rate by AAA ( not self rated) and Tourism Accredited. Believe me these bodies are... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great big 2 bedroom unit with view. Great location. Great parking. Great staff. No complaints. Stayed for business trip. Full kitchen, large living area, two en suites. In room laundry. Wrap around balcony, two sliding doors (just filling in the text so TA accepts this review)!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne M, Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review :)) So glad you enjoyed your stay. We are small business and my staff and I try hard and really care :)) More

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I've been staying at the Marrakai for work since November and have enjoyed my stay there and very friendly staff and management. It's convenient to shops and city centre for me. I would recommended to other people to stay here. Cheers Renee

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne M, Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Renee, Thank you for your review :)) Glad to hear we are looking after you , we like all our guests to be happy. Hope you enjoyed our Aussie Day BBQ More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place was well priced for the location in the city. Unfortunately it was not serviced for the 5 nights we stayed. Towels, floors and rubbish all needed to be sorted by then. Small problems like a broken toilet seat & faulty fan were sorted quickly which was appreciated. The lifts were foul and stunk each time we got in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Marrakai, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Chelsea, Thank you for your feedback as there is always room for improvement. Please be aware you were on a non-service rate. We do service daily if requested, however most people are after the lowest rate they can get, which means they forgo the servicing. Our 4 star apartments are fully self-contained and fully equipped so that guests have... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Generally past it's prime and tired. Some apartments really poor. We had to move after water from airconditioner came through the roof and fridge was struggling. We had 5 apartments amongst the group and most were ok. Housekeeping very poor. Dirty floors under tables etc. Crockery in some poor. Outside areas well kept and good pool area. Called Luxury apartments... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Marrakai, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Rustyhelen Thank you for your feedback as there is always room for improvement. In my opinion your comment "past it's prime and tired" is a little harsh as all of our apartments have been renovated to some extent this year. We do struggle with the a/c at this time of the year especially if they are run 24/7 and... More

Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here, when we first moved to darwin earlier this year, the stay was ok, but there was never any hot water through the 5 days we were here. The room wasnt ever cleaned or towels changed - but i dont like to complain so it wasnt worth a mention on here until now... I had booked through a website... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GM_Marrakai, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Louie w Thanks for your feedback although "DO NOTT STAY HERE" is a little harsh. If you had informed us of the fact you had no hot water, we would have fixed this immediately. Usually it is a case of the guest not inserting the key tag in correctly or the switch has tripped. This is easily remedied. As... More

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for one night in this apartment on the 16th floor, with amazing views of the bay and the sunset. We were very impressed with the size of the apartment and how well equipped it was. We arrived early and dropped off our luggage, having left our camper van back and although we couldn't access our room, when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Marrakai, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Hey Belfastgirl Thank you so much for your glowing review. We love our apartments too! We are a small business and pride ourselves on our personal touch. We have a great team and are lucky to have them. Have a fabulous Christmas The Marrakai 'Family' :) More

sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently had the unfortunate experience of this hotel/apartments for 10 days. These are NOT 4 or 5 star as advertised and at best 2-3 stars and certainly not worth the price tag. The quality of the rooms are highly variable as is the cleaning standard. On arrival we were placed in a "so-called renovated room": This room on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GM_Marrakai, General Manager at Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, responded to this review

Hi well_travelled079 I do recall and know who you are. I feel very sad that you left still feeling the need to give us this review. I personally dealt with this and believe I did everything possible to make you and your family comfortable and enjoy your stay. Our bathrooms are not from the 80's and our apartments are not... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at Marrakai All Suites for 1 night, after 5 days in Kakadu with Lords Safaris. The place is somewhat removed from the 'throng' of Darwin, and was quite obviously occupied with plenty of permanent residents. Very quiet. We arrived afterhours but they'd sent a code to our mobile to access the key drop that worked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin

Address: 93 Smith Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakai Apartments offer the spacious luxury of apartment living at Darwin's premier address. Featuring wide wrap-around balconies providing panoramic views of the city, harbour and gardens our apartments are your comfortable home away from home. Each apartment is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, private laundry and 2 bedrooms/bathrooms. The pool, spa and BBQ area is the perfect spot to relax and entertain friends. City shopping and theatres are right on your doorstep and for the nights you don't feel like cooking, there are a number restaurants to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Expedia.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#14 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marrakai Apartments offer the spacious luxury of apartment living at Darwin's premier address. Featuring wide wrap-around balconies providing panoramic views of the city, harbour and gardens our apartments are your comfortable home away from home. Each apartment is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, private laundry and 2 bedrooms/bathrooms. The pool, spa and BBQ area is the perfect spot to relax and entertain friends. City shopping and theatres are right on your doorstep and for the nights you don't feel like cooking, there are a number restaurants to choose from. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.