We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
122 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Andy H Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    295
    127
    49
    25
See reviews for
88
244
36
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (639)
  • Mar-May only
    (168)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (214)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (146)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Situated opposite the walkway along the ocean and not too far from the city centre, shops and restaurants. The hotel is clean quiet and has good amenities including a pool and gym. The room is clean the bed is comfortable and although there is a weird noise in the room at night it wasn't overly annoying. I would happily stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is excellent: in front of the harbour and a very short walk to Mitchell St where there are some restaurants and the main malls. The room was fine, but the bed! We didn't get a good night sleep because of them. We stayed one night in Darwin, then one in Kakadu and a second night in Darwin and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear TrotamundosSydney Thank you for your review of our sister hotel DoubleTree by Hilton Esplanade Darwin. I do apologise that you did not find the beds to be comfortable and will investigate the rooms numbers that you stayed with us in and have this attended to. Our hotel is older and opened in 1988, hence the design elements of the... More 

Trier, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff there was very friendly. Room was good. Clean and big. TV didn't work but since we were not visiting Darwin for watching TV it didn't bother us. Hotel itself seems a bit old but that was ok. We had a good stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Mirnchen Thank you for your review on your stay in September of last year. It is great to see that you enjoyed your time that you did spend with us. I do apologise for the TV issues that you experienced while you were here. I can assure you that they are definitely resolved ! We wish you safe travels... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Hilton a few times in the past and usually come back to it because of its situation on the esplanade. Beautiful harbour views day and night. Sunsets look fantastic. The rooms are okay in regards to equipment and decor. Enough different pillows for you to find one that suits you. On the down side, my mini... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear George G Thank you for your comments and it is great to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. I appreciate you pointing out what we can do better and have shared your feedback with our housekeeping and food and beverage teams. The views from our Juliette balconies are amazing, I am pleased you managed to... More 

Wagait Beach
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spotless, modern and friendly staff. Comfy bed and balcony. Best in town by far. Late night flight arrivals always mean a stay in Darwin before the long drive home. We have now found our new favourite stopover, so good we stayed for an extra night!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Michelle D Thank you for your comments and we are happy to be able to become your home away from home! Our team do strive to create a rewarding experience for our guests, and I am pleased that we have been able to deliver on our brand promise to you. Once again, thank you. The team and I look... More 

Kiama Downs, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very selective to who they give good service too. Only to upmarket people or conference people. Restaurant is way overpriced to similar meals out at other places within the Darwin area. Better & value for money meals at Darwin Sailing Club.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Debbie G Thank you for your review and I am very disappointed to read your comments. Our team do value all of our guests who choose to stay with us. We understand that there is a lot of competition and choice available for guests, and value our guests who ultimately choose to stay at our hotel. Wwe do try... More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Solo traveller in Darwin for business and happy I booked in here. Staff were great, room was comfortable and well appointed and functional (first hotel room I can recall with a functional air conditioner that didn't smell like a mouldy sock while blasting on my head while I slept). The restaurant is the best hotel restaurant I've tried (and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Tech570 Thank you for your review and I am delighted that we managed to tick all of the boxes for you during your stay. Our team do go our of their way to create a rewarding experience for all of our guests and it is fantastic that we were able to do so on this occasion for you. Once... More 

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, on The Esplanade. Good sized rooms with very comfortable beds, we had a great nights sleep. Our room faced the pool and was quite quiet. The breakfast was very tasty and offered a good variety of choices. There is a pool area which is great for cooling off or just relaxing. The warm cookie on arrival was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Holidaygypsy Thank you for your review and I am delighted that your stay at the hotel was such an enjoyable one. Our world famous cookies are certainly very yummy and are a gesture of welcome to our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed them as much as we do !! Again, thank you for your comments and we... More 

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is is a great location right on The Esplanade, and we can highly recommend the breakfast and lunch and room quality. The pool area is great to cool off and relax in. The staff, both Reception and restaurant, were very helpful and pleasant at all times,

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Holidaygypsy It is great to read that you enjoyed your time that you recently stayed with us - thank you for your review. It is always pleasing when we have been able to deliver on our brand promise of creating a rewarding experience for our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Thank you... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two nights here,very helpful at reception.The pool in our hotel was not so good but we could use the double tree next door.The view we had was fantastic over looking the sea.Beds out of this world (very comfortable) didn't eat in as we like to try the local restaurants.Did two trips here both fantastic we went with A AT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear kathy-hammond Thank you for your review and I am so pleased that your time at our hotel was an enjoyable one. The views from our rooms are amazing and it is beautiful to be able to watch the sun go down over the water from our Juliette balconies. Once again, thank you. The team and I wish you safe... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay