We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Hotel website
Hotel deals
116 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    263
    168
    60
    34
See reviews for
99
202
59
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (648)
  • Mar-May only
    (167)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
See the most recent reviews
Darwin, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a dissapointment for a hotel that carries the Hilton name. Stayed there for a weekend with the territorian special rates. Starting from the reception, part of the deal was complimentary drinks for 2 people for 2 days. We never got them when we checked in and when we went down to complain they only gave us one! The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Darwinlocals. I was very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one. We pride ourselves on the level of detail and service that we nornally provide our guests and it appears that we have struggled a little on this occasion. If we can convince you to stay with us again,... More 

Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A very friendly and comfortable hotel with extremely helpful staff. There was a power cut on the last night of our stay and the staff really took everything in their stride and made sure everyone was looked after. The restaurant had a very good menu and a good wine list. The food was well cooked and the waiting time was... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear J L Thank you for your comments and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us during your recent visit. Our team do a fantastic job, thank you for taking the time to recognise their efforts - it is greatly appreciated !! Thank you once again and we hope to see you on your next... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was my third stay at DoubleTree over the last 12 months and as always the service was prompt and friendly. Compared to the high prices and very tired accommodation options in rural NT south of Darwin this is an absolute gem.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Hendrik K Thank you for your feedback and continued support of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service offered by our team. Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the cleaning of the rooms was very average, Beds were made but stuff was left on the tables .The rest of the hotel was clean and tidy. I think the internet was very expensive $27.00 for twenty four hours We did not eat at the hotel so can not comment on it.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I apologise for the lack of attention to detail by our housekeeping team. This will be addressed with our Executive Housekeeper. I am pleased that you enjoyed your interactions with the team . Thank you once again 944paulined, it is greatly appreciated. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Be advised there is another DoubleTree next door so be sure which one you're booking. Nice pool/outdoor bar area (good place to sit and watch it rain, which happens most every day this time of year). Our room was not handicap accessible and the bath quite small, however the staff took the bathroom door off its hinges to fit Lynn's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear DaveinPhilly I do apologise for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay. I was so to read that after travelling such a long way to Darwin that you were not able to experience our amazing destination due to the inclement weather. Our sister hotel next door, DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin has newly renovated bathrooms with walk in... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed at the Double Tree Esplanade and was not overly impressed, the worlds problems cannot be solved by a warm choc chip cookie! The room was a little dated, and the air conditioning system was both antiquated and less than functional. The television was a little dodgy, and the noise in the room was quite evident due to the proximity... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Shane B Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to hear that your stay was not what you were hoping for. We have an Assistant Manager on duty 24 hours per day to look after our guests and I am sorry that they were not able to solve your issue for you during your stay. Once again... More 

dayton, ohio
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We enjoyed this location, facing parks and the water, and backing onto Mitchell Street, a very busy retail area with many restaurants. We walked to the botanic garden and art gallery/museum from the hotel, but it was a meaningful hike. The pool was nice after our daily excursions, and seems to be a favorite place for flight crews on sunny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback pactricp09. It is great to see that your time with us was such an enjoyable one. Thanks again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Darwin. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More 

Queensland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Loved my stay here. Location is very central to the heart of Darwin city without the noise usually found at other central hotels from neighbouring pubs and night clubs on weekends. My stay was very quiet (housekeeping was a bit noisy, not the staff but the old trolleys they use ratteling down the hallway). As promised room was very clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Andy Oz I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us and found our team to be friendly. Once again, thank you and the team and I hope to be able to welcome you back to us one... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Checked in and was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite on the top floor - which was great - but then found pubic hairs on the toilet seat and in the bathtub. The bed looked like someone had had a lie down in it after making it and the bedsheets were dirty. The mattress was also old and uncomfortable. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Johan A Thank you for your comments and I sincerley apologise for the issues that you not only encountered during your stay, but the way the matter was dealt with by our team. I believe that our Front Office Manager has since been in touch with today once we received your feedback. I apologise that this issue was not... More 

Wauchope, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were really impressed with Darwin and the people of Darwin, you have a wonderful life style and a lovely clean city. The gentleman who drove the bus for our tour to Litchfield National Park Florence Falls, Wongi Falls then a very nice lunch at the Bunya Cafe, on to Toomar Falls and Buley Rock Pool made the experience most... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you J M The team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Top End and got to experience some of the unique wonders of our region. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question