We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Hotel website
Hotel deals
116 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    260
    168
    60
    34
See reviews for
99
200
58
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (642)
  • Mar-May only
    (161)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a 6 nights. We had booked a King One Bedroom suite and were extremely pleased with the room. Unfortunately, we did experience a sub-standard level of service from Housekeeping and Room Service. I provided feedback to my concerns and was extremely pleased that the General Manage, Carey Osborne contacted me promptly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Epping, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Bathrooms may not have towels nor are they cleaned. TV sets need to be upgraded. Beds arent the best. I would strongly suggest you shop around proir to booking this Hotel. I will say that the parking facilities are great and cost you nothing at all.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Mil L Thank you for your comments. I apologise for the issues that you encountered during your time at our hotel. We had experienced some challenges of late that has unfortunately impacted some of our guests which we now believe to be resolved in regards to our housekeeping service. Once again sincere apologies that you left with a less... More 

Merimbula, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at this property for a week as part of a large tour group. First impression was satisfactory, but it was all downhill from there. The hallway on our level was stained and dirty. The rubbish which was on the floor when we checked in was still there when we checked out. Trays from breakfast room service were still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Anne M Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, you had already left the hotel when I received your feedback form. As we only have your postal address, and I have not been able to locate a contact number or email address for you, I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to speak with you personally should you wish to contact... More 

Laidley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We traveled with a group so there was plenty to do and see in the lovely city of Darwin. At the hotel: friendly staff but often not enough on duty to handle check in/out. Some customers waiting over 40 minutes to check in. Two in our group were given the same room. Be aware that you are not close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Kathie W Thank you for your review. I do apologise for the service issues that you encountered during your stay and for the incorrect mini bar charges on your accounts. I am pleased that you enjoyed both your guest room and dining experience in the restaurant along with the pool deck which is a great spot to enjoy a... More 

darwin, Australia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel, lovely friendly staff and fabulous service. Nothing is too much trouble for the professional staff. I have young children(7-9) and they were treated as guests,really nice to see,we love the pool, bar prices are great,buffet breakfast is lovely,ask for poached eggs, they come out quickly and not a bother. I would highly recommend staying here for a home... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Jacinta B Thank you for your review and I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. Our team do their very best to look after all of our guests regardless of their age and I am happy that your children had such a great time. Once again, thank you and we do hope that... More 

North Carolina
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was shocking. It is worn well beyond its serviceable years. The carpets in the hallways were stained, the door to our room was stained, the walls throughout the the hotel haven't seen fresh paint in ages and it shows! Our room was disgraceful. It was poorly cleaned to begin with, then the light fixtures finish were peeling off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Condocat Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that our hotel did not deliver to your expectations. I apologise for the housekeeping issues that you experienced during your stay. Being an older hotel, we are in discussions with our owner about the best way forward for our property. Once again, thank you for your comments. We... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When this property first opened as the Beaufort it was one of the best hotels in town. It still has a nice feel about it with a wide open breezeway connecting two streets and giving across the road access to two well regarded eating places Hanimans a type of Asian modern fusion and the Noodle House. On the front side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Bunehop Thank you for your review. I am pleased that as a valued HHonors member that you enjoyed your stay at our property and the benefits that you received as part of our loyalty program. Thank you once again. The team and I do hope to see you on your next visit to Darwin. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did not have the greatest experience at this hotel. Housekeeping forgot to put towels in our room twice as well as turning of our aircon on the first day leaving the room hot and sticky. Will continue to stay at Accor hotels in future because we know that we're going get half decent service wether it's a Novotel or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Christopher L. I do apologise for the housekeeping issues that you experienced during your stay with us recently and will address your concerns with our Executive Housekeeper. If I can ever be of any assistance for a future stay, please do contact me personally as we would like the opportunity to make things right for... More 

Rural South Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay here when on business in Darwin and find it meets my needs. Staff are helpful and friendly, good location close to Mitchell St and the waterfront and has free parking. Rooms are in need of upgrading but are clean and spacious with comfortable beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear rymel Thank you for your comments. We greatly appreciate you making us your hotel of choice when visiting Darwin. We understand that there are many hotels to choose from and thank you for your loyalty. Once again rymel, thank you. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to us one day soon. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More 

Bunbury WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed three nights and were very impressed. All the staff were very friendly and helpful from reception, restaurant and room service. The rooms were spacious and spotless and the beds were comfy and quiet. The one meal we had in the restaurant was excellent quality and a reasonable price. We would certainly stay there again and not just for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear RetiredAussies Thank you for your review and I am delighted that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. It is very pleasing to read that you were happy with all aspects of your stay from you in room experience to dining in aqua. Once again, thank you. The team and I hope to be able to welcome... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question