We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

4.0 of 5 116 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    244
    160
    56
    31
See reviews for
93
193
56
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (602)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (114)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Everything in easy access to main centre activities and great restaurants. Lovely views of esplanade in the Dry season and for Wet season storm activity. Laundry self service available if required. Easy parking options outside of 9.00am to 5.00pm across the road if Basement Guest parking not available. Quality Hotel in a great location.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed for a night on our way to Litchfield and liked it so much that we returned the next night! Don't confuse it for the other Doubletree next door (which has apparently been renovated more recently) nor the main Hilton Hotel located in the town centre. The Esplanade is a lovely location for a walk, close to Aquascene. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
alice springs, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good stay- Very comfortable , friendly staff , welcoming, room quiet and well appointed, gym good and 24 hours, room service reasonable although little slow, good location. I would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth M Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to us one day soon. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't believe the prices advertised, you will be tricked into paying more than the price you booked for. The staff just say that this is the company policy. A dated old hotel with very average to poor service, we left with very bad vibes. We have been searching for a good hotel in Darwin but this is not the one.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Marion C Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us. The rate that you did book with us from the Jet Star site does state that it is for NT Residents only and that ID was required on arrival to the hotel. Being from out of... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So I recieved an upgrade and it was lovely and all but I had a few stairs to climb to get to bed on NYE. The furtiture was bit worn and the massive stain on the floor. Overall it was nice tho. I wish the internet was free with the room tho as I had poor quality phone connection. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Roe L Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the service extended to you by the team and your overall stay at our hotel. Once again thank you. The team and I wish you all the best for the coming year. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More 

Jabiru, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here over Christmas and really enjoyed the stay. The staff are friendly and the check-in and check-out were easy. I am not sure what room we were given, but the bathroom is big, with a separate bath and shower and lots of hot water. I also love the 'Citron' bathroom supplies. The room had two double beds with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Jabiru3828 Thank you for your comments and choosing to stay with us over this special time of the year. It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the service extended to you by the team. Once again thank you. The team and I wish you all the best for the coming... More 

Nairobi
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked into the hotel for the Christmas day special - a Christmas meal and overnight stay. Very glad there was a reduced rate on the room as part of the deal because this was the only thing making the cost/quality ratio even vaguely acceptable. The meal was disappointing - the main course in the buffet was was roast meat and... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear JelloNairobi Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us, particularly at this time of year. Our Christmas buffet offered six different selections for the main course and in addition, served the coconut rice as an accompaniment to one of the vegetarian options that was available. I am sorry that... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very nice hotel. A little dated but the rooms are spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. A little surprised at the unexpected charge to the credit card for $100 incidentals. Understand that this is normal for hotels but normally a small amount is charge to gain an imprint. Tough for people who live week to week. Asked them to remove... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Shane J Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We do take a pre-authorisation on arrival to cover incidentals which is held by the bank and released back, normally within 5-7 working days if not spent at the hotel. Thank you once again. The team and I hope to be... More 

Darwin, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Xmas lunch and stay, great value for territorians. Lunch was ok, wouldn't bother with the crabs again too small!, stay was great we enjoyed a swim after lunch and were surprised with a little choc Christmas pudding on a stick, tasted divine! complementary breakfast was enjoyed, thank you

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review timmy11. I am so happy to hear that you chose to spend your Christmas with us and enjoyed lunch in aqua restaurant. The Christmas puddings on a stick were yummy and I am pleased that your enjoyed our token gift to you. Once again, thank you. To access our best rates guaranteed, including our year... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Stayed here for a Conference and initially thought - "dodgy". But after a few days I decided it was a reasonable place to stay. Its sister Hotel is 50 metres up the road so be careful to get the right place. The breakfast I thought was very good and I was certainly pleasantly surprised after expecting the worst aas the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Travelexpandsthemind Thank you for your comments from your stay back in October. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Wake Up DoubleTree by Hilton breakfast experience and our pool deck. I will be certain to share your comments with the team. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Address: 116 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay