We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Hotel website
Hotel deals
116 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    141
    296
    188
    68
    36
See reviews for
115
235
61
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (729)
  • Mar-May only
    (185)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (256)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is very over-priced for what it is. It is not good value for money. The rooms and bathrooms are tired. It has a good location and if you are lucky you might get a view of the Esplanade. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food and drinks at the hotel extremely expensive.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

How are staff kept informed about residents needs? We were concerned that our delayed luggage was not accepted by reception on two occasions before our return even though they had been provided with our travel details, including later booking, and authority to accept the luggage on our behalf. How is it possible for reception staff not be made aware of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bakewell, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was clean, bed comfortable, very handy to function we attended. Very impersonal at check-in and had to ask about refund of room deposit (which I'm still waiting to receive). Whilst we didn't order any food from room service the prices were not unreasonable. There were no ice facilities on the floor (had to contact reception and was told it... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Murray M Thank you for your comments and I am happy that you enjoyed your room. I am sorry that you did not receive the personal attention that you should have and that you were not made to feel welcome or valued as one of our guests. We do take a pre-authorisation on arrival to cover any incidentals and... More 

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A clean, well-run establishment. Room was well set up. Complimentary wi-fi access of a reasonable standard. Very good food in the restaurant. Staff were pleasant and helpful without being obsequious -- a good balance.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm F Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that your recent stay with us was such an enjoyable one. When travelling on business it is important to have a seamless experience and it appears that we have delivered on our brand promise to you. Malcolm F, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do hope... More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel needs an overhaul, but most of the hotels in Darwin do, the owners are cashing in on the seasons. Eat in town better food and better value. Warm Cookie in Darwin! on a 30 degree day, a nice refreshing cool drink would be far better.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Mark S Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed in your stay at our hotel. Our welcome cookie, is given as a gesture of welcome and a touch of home, I am sorry that you did not enjoy it. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night as my husband had enough points for us to stay. Whilst the hotel is in a great location along the Esplanade, it is a 'tired' hotel. We really enjoyed the size and comfort of our suite but felt a bit let down that it clearly hadn't been redecorated in years. If this could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Jacinta B Thank you for your comments, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We have just completed some proto type rooms for a potential refurbishment which is with our owner at the moment. It is great to see that you were happy with the service extended to you by the team. Once again,... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. This hotel is in a great location opposite Bicentennial Park and overlooks Darwin Harbour. I was upgraded to a much larger room with 2 bathrooms, a separate bedroom and a very spacious lounge room. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. This hotel has a laundry and a gym. The outdoor pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you fro your comments ahpratt. It is very pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time at our property and your upgrade to one of our suites. Our pool deck is one of the best placed to be and offers full sun all day long together with shade under our umbrellas. ahpratt, we do hope to see you again... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

3 nights at this beautiful hotel, didn't want to leave, the pool area is amazing and the pool its self is fantastic, brekky was very yummy, great location over looking the bay and close to Mitchell at, everything u need is at ur finger tips, we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Sunbury_mick Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much that you didn't want to leave !! High praise indeed and we are thrilled that you had such a great time at our hotel. Sunbury_mick, thank you once again, we do hope to see you again one day soon! Kind Regards Carey... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

- Hotel is old, smells bad! - Linen smelt like chemicals. - The rooms are still as the would have been in the 60's. - No blinds. I moved room 4 times before settling, the first room had stains on the sheets, and the other 2 had pubic hair on the bed when i pulled back the sheets.. disgusting! Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Mitch R I am very disappointed to read your review and learn that you were not happy with your stay with us back in March of this year. I have tried to look into the issues you encountered in more detail, but given it was six months ago, I am having trouble locating your information as I do not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Adelaide
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Doubletree Hilton on Esplanade is one of a couple of Doubletree Hiltons on the Esplanade. We had a great stay there. We had two stays there - one in a twin room which was very good - clean, spacious and comfortable. The second time was in a King Suite which was fantastic - very spacious - 2 bathrooms and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Pasqualie Thank you for your review and we are delighted to see that your visit with us was such a pleasant one across all elements of your stay. We do have a ramp, which is further down from the front entrance stairs. We are currently exploring the possibility of putting in an additional access ramp closer to the steps... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.5 mi away
Elan Soho Suites
Elan Soho Suites
#3 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#11 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay