We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Darwin hotels

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
59%
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
NewlyTravellers Sunshine Coast Qld
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    207
    141
    49
    28
See reviews for
77
174
51
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (518)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Sunshine Coast Qld
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The check in was fairly quick and staff friendly, the room was a little outdated and could do with new decor. Room Service was fast and food was fresh, the mini bar is also well stocked. the hotel is only minutes from the main street and all the goings on in Darwin.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear NewlyTravellers Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to see that you enjoyed the service extended to you by the team and our room service offerings. Thank you once again. The team and I look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel, breakfast a bit average, needed to sell my first born to Angelina Jolie to fund internet access. Also, only really big pillows. Sore neck. 200 characters minimum for review? Saaaaaayyyyy whaaaaaat!!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Jarrod Ashely M Thank you for your review. Our Wireless internet is complimentary in our lobby for all of our guests and our HHonors Gold and Diamond guests do receive internet on a complimentary basis through the entire property. From your comments, I am perhaps incorrectly assuming that you have selected the "faster" and megabytes option in order to... More

Darwin, Australia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay at this hotel many times a year in Darwin. Whilst the building is aged, it has recently undergone a refurbishment of the pool area and is generally in good shape. What I find most enjoyable is the attitude of the staff. Their demeanour, friendliness and assistance is first class. I especially appreciate the breakfast front counter staff who... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Ian P Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. The pool deck is fantastic and is a great way to spend some time relaxing. I greatly appreciate the comments in regards to our team who do a wonderful job in looking after our guests. Thank you... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well located between the Esplanade and Mitchell Street. Highlight is the quality and dedication of the staff. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. Excellent pool especially for lap swimming. Free undercover parking.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy O Thank you for your review and for your comments in regards to our wonderful team, who always do their best to look after our guests. It is pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you find our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. Thank you once again and we look forward... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room on first floor, poor noise insulation, breakfast sets up at 2am and is very noisy, could hear next door as though they were sharing my room. Lifts noisy and "ping" when they arrive at each level. Room was musky/smelly, spiders webs and dust in corners around back of toilets etc. Didn't like to walk on carpet without shoes. Shower... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Mark J Mr R I appreciate your comments and thank you for submitting your review. I am sorry that your stay with us was not what you were hoping for and that we have not met your expectations. Once again sincere apologies that you left with a less than positive impression, your opinions are valued. Should you decide to... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

paid over $350 and got very small room with no veiws, every thing was dated and expected bit more when paing top dollers and having the Hilton brand attached. Restaurant was ok but nothing special, will not stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Jess Thank you for your review and I apologise that you did not enjoy your time at our hotel and that we did not meet your expectations. If I can ever be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind Regards Carey Osborne More

Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night before boarding the Ghan. We originally booked another hotel on the Great Southern Railways site but it was full so they booked us in here- without asking. The price was high- but I think this is par for the course in Darwin at this time of year. When we arrived the receptionist... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Helen A. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Our property is older and as a result of your feedback, the entire room has been repainted. On a positive note, I am pleased that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. Once again, thank you.... More

Turramurra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in dire need of refurbishment - at over $400 a night it is a disgrace. I got shifted from a "suite", a dark double storied monstrosity with peeling walls and holes in the walls and awful 70s bathroom and decor. The carpet was worn and again very old. The telephone system had no directions as to how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments An38. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at our property. Our painter is working his way through our rooms and re-painting them. Once again sincere apologies that you left with a less than positive impression, your opinions are valued. Should you decide to revisit Darwin, please do reach out to me... More

Broome
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Wonderful experience with wonderful staff that make your holiday a time to remember, nothing is a problem so helpful, kind and polite. Would recommend you go and try for your self. The staff also had wonderful idea's and tours to go on if that is what you are wanting. The staff helped book all of our adventures and we found... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review David M. I am delighted the our team could assist in making your stay with us such a wonderful experience. The Darwin region is a beautiful and unique one and I am pleased that we could assist you in enjoying your time in the Top End. Thank you once again. The team and I hope... More

Katherine, Australia
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We booked into this hotel as we needed somewhere convenient to stay for a Saturday night function. We were in the heart of the city and were given a room with a great harbour view. All the staff were friendly and attentive, the room was clean and made up the following morning and the breakfast was great. The pool area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Helen T Thank you for your review and it is pleasing to see that you had a "perfect weekend" at our property. Our pool area is one of the best in Darwin and is a great way to relax and unwind after a busy day. Once again, thank you. The team and I look forward to your return visit.... More

Do you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Address: 116 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay