We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Darwin hotels

Mantra on the Esplanade

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Special Offer
NT Rates for All
Mantra on the Esplanade
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mantra on the Esplanade to your Saves list
68%
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
happybrad Darwin, Australia
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    189
    95
    36
    17
See reviews for
75
184
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (449)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (153)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights as we love the service that mantra provides across Australia . The parking was $15 that's reasonable. I think I paid $60 when I stayed at novatel at Darling harbour . And for the ppl that complain about no free wifi in the room enjoy Darwin and don't spend your time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Not a great hotel especially at the price. However, everything worked and the main eateries were pretty close by which saves lot of walking in the Darwin heat. You definitely want a room facing the sea and away from noisy Mitchell Street on the city side of the hotel. We stayed overnight in a one bedroom apartment which I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post 683denisd. We do enjoy one of the best locations in Darwin. On the topic of price - keep an eye out now for some great deals as we come off high season but the weather is still great. Now I think is probably one of the best times of year to think about... More

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Love Darwin but hotels expensive and not worth the money. We booked online and had to upgrade once we saw our room to a suite with a verandah (extra $80 a night). Nothing wrong with suite but not worth money, Sydney CBD hotels cheaper (we stayed a few weekends later in a amazing luxe hotel in Sydney and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi Lisa P I would agree at times Darwin hotels are some of the most expensive in Australia however now the high season has concluded there are some great deals to be had and the weather is still pretty fantastic with only the occasional very brief passing shower. I've also passed on your shower comment to my Executive Housekeeper it's... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our 4 night stay at this hotel was a definite highlight of our 2 week NT trip. We had a one bedroom harbour view apartment on the 8th floor and it could only be described as pure luxury. The fully equipped room with our own kitchen and laundry, was so well maintained and serviced. The pool and spa were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Thanks Cheryl M the team and I are always striving to ensure all our guests have a great stay so it was with much delight I got to your review today! Great choice on the One Bedroom Harbour apartment I think they offer some of the best views in Darwin to relax and enjoy the weather. Really appreciate your post... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked through wotif and were lead to believe we'd receive a bottle of sparkling and a box of chocolates each night... Not the case!!! However the hotel informed us that had we booked our two nights individually instead of two consecutive nights we would have received them!!! What the???? Room was suppose to be a harbour view but all we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hello Briar E Thanks for your feedback and interestingly we've been debating this in the office today. The terms and conditions are "for day of arrival" however like you I can see how it creates confusion and potential expectation for additional delivery of the proffered items. Going forward I've asked my team to relook at how these offers are derived.... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The dishwasher leaked badly. The main toilet flush jammed. The parking stations' mechanisms creaks were loud in the apartment and disturbed my sleep. The sofa had obviously been caught in the rain outdoors at some stage, and looked like it was covered with fungus and/or mould. One of the bedrooms had a TV but no remote. When the living room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi KazCC Firstly let me offer my sincere apologies for the maintenance issues you experienced during your recent stay. The various aspects have been referred to the appropriate department heads for investigation and rectification. The room was clearly not up to Mantra standards. If you would like to review your stay experience with me directly I can be contacted via... More

Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

(I will NEVER again book through Hotels.com. They completely stuffed up our booking for this hotel. Instead of having a 2 room apartment this hotel had to try to fit 3 adults into a 1 bedder for 8 days because of hotels.com error. Sooo disappointing. BUT Mantra were as accommodating as physically possible. It worked out ok but not ideal.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi Ann F Thanks for taking the time to write and delighted to read the team were as accommodating as they could be with your booking situation. We are always happy to take your bookings direct and can guarantee the best possible price available in the market - nobody will have it cheaper than us! We look forward to welcoming... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided to surprise my husband with a quick trip away and on the advise from a few people I chose Darwin. Reading the reviews on here I thought this seemed like a great hotel and a bit fancy. Having just arrived I'm a little disappointed . Firstly I should point out I booked the hotel on lastminute.com . The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi RObb1e15 Sorry to read you were disappointed with your recent stay. From a booking selection perspective we offer a range of choices including great one bedroom apartments with fantastic harbour views and sunsets. Unfortunately we are not always able to provide upgrades on day of arrival due to those options being sold out. Thanks for taking the time to... More

Sa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in an excellent location, walking distance to everything in the city. It is clean and comfy. The reception staff were very nice and helpful. The food was great. No wi-fi included in the room charge and the price was expensive if you wanted to pay extra ($25) No free parking, costs $15 a night but I parked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi ChrisB Thanks for taking the time to post and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us particularly your comments around staff. It's always a pleasure to share those with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Mike More

Nanango, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here when in Darwin for ten days. We were at the front of the hotel with water views. Worth the little extra cost. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms were well kept and very clean. Being central it was very easy to walk to a lot of attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Thanks John M really appreciate you taking the time to write and for the great review. The team and I look forward to being of service to you again in the future. Kind Regards Mike More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Darwin

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay