We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra on the Esplanade

Hotel website
Hotel deals
88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra on the Esplanade
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    146
    232
    115
    38
    19
See reviews for
91
225
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (550)
  • Mar-May only
    (147)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (156)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (141)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (106)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Mantra is an average quality hotel charging "5 star" prices. That may be the norm for Darwin hotels, but it is disappointing if you expect quality for the cost. Our room had a good balcony and view of the bay and a reasonable kitchen area, but the furnishings were tired and dated ( crimson, faded and stained couch) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toowoomba
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As my wife is a serious arthritis sufferer we found the option of a harbor view very relaxing as there was always something interesting to see. We also found the staff courteous and helpful and when we requested anything special it was attended to very quickly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi tigertrev Thanks for taking the time to write - always appreciated and a great tip "be willing to ask the staff" that's after all what we are here for. The team really enjoy interactions that go beyond the traditional check in and out dialogues and are happy to share local knowledge and their own NT experiences as they get... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a two bedroom apartment facing the esplanade and it was really brilliant. Huge lounge/dining room good size bedrooms, one en suite, separate bathroom with laundry facilities. The view from our balcony was at sunset was to die for. Our only complaint was that the people above were noisy but that isn't the fault of the management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hello Geraldine R of Greater London. Great to have you down under for a visit and thanks for taking the time to post your review. We do have one of the best locations in Darwin for those magnificent tropical sunsets! (Though I am a bit biased!!) Good luck with the rest of your travels. Kind Regards Mike More 

Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From an easy check in to very enjoyable meals and a nice view our stay was very pleasant. All of the hotel staff displayed professionalism and courtesy. They provided a spacious room with a small balcony that gave a clear view of the water. All meals were excellent in the Finz restaurant where the staff were helpful and professional. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi Taras V Thanks for the great review and particularly for highlighting the service you received. The team take great pride in ensuring every guest has an enjoyable stay. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Kind Regards Mike More 

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In Darwin for a week on business, I chose to stay again at the Mantra on Esplanade - I have been travelling here for years, and this is my favourite of all the hotels I've stayed at in the CBD. You will have to pay extra for a room with water views (your alternative is a view over the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Thanks rachaelOZ appreciate your continued support of our hotel and I've passed on your acknowledgement to our reception team. Glad we could assist for this stay. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Mike More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I travel to Darwin for business quite regularly and I often stay at this hotel as its close to our offices. Its quite a basic but nice hotel and is in the heart of town. The room I stayed in was spacious and had a decent view. I also had breakfast here which was quite nice. Most of the people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi JamesL1979 Thanks for choosing us for your recent business stay and great to read you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to being of service to you again on future business trips. Kind Regards Mike More 

Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I never leave bad reviews but I feel as though I have to in this instance. My sister had booked a room at this property and we went up to visit. When entering the lobby I asked the lady at the front desk if there was a toilet. She said are you staying here, to which i replied no. She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hello Harry M I would consider your review somewhat perplexing. The team here would never decline a request to use our facilities if an individual had stated they were here to visit a guest of the hotel and oh by the way can we use your toilets - all good. To say that the staff member was "rude" is actually... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was in Darwin for business for 4 nights and work booked this accommodation for me and was extremely disappointed with almost everything about this Hotel. The room I was put into had no balcony at all, was the size of a shoe box, on the 3rd floor with views of nothing but palm fronds (so much for actually having water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi William J Thanks for posting and I understand that our Front Office Manager Sabrina contacted you yesterday to review. Our particular concern was the rate you had indicated you'd paid for your total stay was some $540 higher than our records and we were concerned that there may have been an issue with your agent charges. I was happy... More 

Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights over the weekend. Fantastic location - just across from the water and from the back door you can access to restaurants, cafes, Coles, and other shops. The room was big with a very comfy bed though I find the lights very dim at night - I was there for work and needed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi NouraCC Thanks for taking the time to write and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us. I take your point regarding the bedside lighting - design versus functionality. You'll be pleased to note I have previously tabled this concern with our hotel design team and will be upgraded in the future. I appreciate the feedback and we... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on business recently for two nights. The location is right on the Esplanade with rooms on the front of the hotel having good views, above about level 4. the back of the hotel leads out on to Mitchell Street with good access to all the bars and cafes. The rooms are a bit dated especially the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi PatchNZ Thanks for posting and great to have a fellow kiwi pop by particularly to this more remote corner of Australia. We do have a great location here on the Esplanade pretty much the centre of all things Darwin. It's a shame you didn't get a chance to enjoy our restaurant for dinner it actually has a pretty good... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay