We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Darwin's Barra Base

2 Todd Crescent | Malak NT, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Darwin\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From start to finish my trip was amazing, our guide Paul was early and ready for a perfect day fishing. We headed out to Shady Camp, stopped at Corroboree Park Tavern for a quick breakfast and we were back on our way. Arrived at Shady Camp nice and early. We all got in the boat and Paul launched and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ferret666
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Ferrets666 Thank you very much for your great review, we love to receive both bad and good reviews to help us grow our business. I am very glad that you enjoyed your trip and we certainly look forward to seeing you again and showing you another great adventure with us here at Darwins Barra Base. Regards Mandy More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I decided to do a half day Barra fish on new years day as she has never caught a Barra. After ringing around, Barra base where the only ones running charters on that day and agreed to take us out. I would have to say that this was the most unprofessional fishing charter I have ever experienced!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mario D
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Mario Thank you for your review, we always encourage good and bad reviews as they all help make our business grow. I know this response may be lengthy but i would just like to address all the points made. I did respond to your wife's complaint email with an immediate phone call to apologise to you both. I am... More 

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Our guide Paul had a bit of trouble with batteries prior to our pick up but made it on time. Nothing was too much trouble for Paul & his fishing tips managed to land us some really good barramundi, the scenery was excellent & we had a terrific day all round. Thank you to Paul & Darwins Barra base.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dbell1
Barra_Base, Owner at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Thank you Doug, we are very happy that you enjoyed your One Day Fishing Trip to Corroboree Billabong with Paul as your guide. Congratulations on landing your 93 cm big slapper Barramundi mate. Hope to see you again and show you more of the beautiful Northern Territory. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

While fishing in the top end is a must – do not use this company. The scenery was amazing and weather fantastic. We did not appreciate the last minute up-sell to a more expensive trip as “there were no fish in the billabong but meter plus in Finniss river”. We had no choice as “all other members had already chosen... More 

Helpful?
Thank JolyDee
Barra_Base, Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Allan Beale Manager Darwins Barra Base I phoned all clients and advised them of the great catch of Barra 86cm & 84cm plus 6 other Barra that our clients had landed at Finniss River the day before your Trip. I pride myself to give clients the chance to go where the best fishing is. I did also advise this to... More 

Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

As a Paraplegic, I recently researched the options and then hired Darwin Barra Base for a Day trip to Dundee with the intention to catch a Barra or two. My partner agreed to be my carer for the day and as she had never caught a Barra before this was a Red Letter day for us both. We were collected... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al M
Barra_Base, Owner at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Al and Karen Thank you so much for that lovely review, we do try our hardest to accommodate our clients to the best of our ability. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your marvellous day with us here at Darwins Barra Base. You know who to call for your next amazing adventure. :) Regards Allan Beale Mandy Holley More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile

All I have to say about this is unless your going fishing don't bother. Such a waste of money the owners I found to be rude we booked a family room for 5 and when asked how many adults I put in 2 so they only booked us for 2 people not 5 so of course we paid the extra... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brodie A
Barra_Base, Owner at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

This Management Response presents facts that this clients reviews do not demonstrate; and future clients do need to know the truth. 1. You booked through Booking.com, you failed to advise booking.com or us when you booked that you were a family of 5 persons; instead you booked for 2 persons. 2. Thus as Management we booked you into a 2... More 

Lindfield, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We had the best day fishing with our guide Paul and sidekick Heather! Both very friendly people, and Paul sure knows his stuff! We were picked up from Darwin in a 4wd at 5am and returned at about 8pm, so transport was fantastic and so easy. All gear and bait was supplied, and more than enough food and drinks, making... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeremybenson2015
Barra_Base, Owner at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Guys We are glad you enjoyed our services on your epic day adventure, and wish to thank you for your great review. Give us a call the next time you are thinking about coming to Darwin and we can certainly show you more of the awesome fishing that Darwin has to offer. Thanks again. Allan Beale (owner) More 

Gloucester, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Just what we were looking for. Always wanted to go Barra Fishing. Didn't want 5 star. Wanted to enjoy the real flavour of fishing all day, quick dinner then early to bed for early morning start to fishing again. Felt safe with good guidance. Dundee and both the Finniss River and Little Finniss (loved that better) were great places to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ele F
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We had interstate visitors who flew in from Queensland for a day's fishing with Darwin's Barra Base - Confirmed 3 days prior and told they would go to Shady Camp as the fish were biting. Got up at 5 o'clock for the pick up which never came. When they eventually got hold of someone from Barra Base she was dismissive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
Barra_Base, Front Office Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

My sincerest apologies about what happened! The guide for the day had forgotten he had a trip and by the time he was ready to go your guests were understandably very upset and had already given up. No excuses, this should never happen. Again, we are very very sorry. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Fortunate to be in a group of 12 Victorian fishermen at Dundee Beach NT Barra Base guides Allan,Rohan & Peter's expertise and experience of times,tides & areas allowed us to target all species with great success enough fish after 3 days allowed catch & release Barra for last 2 days

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
Barra_Base, Front Office Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

It certainly was a great safari. Thank you for choosing Darwin's Barra Base! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
6.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
6.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#4 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#13 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
6.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
6.0 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#3 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay