We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Darwin's Barra Base

2 Todd Crescent | Malak NT, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Darwin\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    7
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a Paraplegic, I recently researched the options and then hired Darwin Barra Base for a Day trip to Dundee with the intention to catch a Barra or two. My partner agreed to be my carer for the day and as she had never caught a Barra before this was a Red Letter day for us both. We were collected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

All I have to say about this is unless your going fishing don't bother. Such a waste of money the owners I found to be rude we booked a family room for 5 and when asked how many adults I put in 2 so they only booked us for 2 people not 5 so of course we paid the extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barra_Base, Owner at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

This Management Response presents facts that this clients reviews do not demonstrate; and future clients do need to know the truth. 1. You booked through Booking.com, you failed to advise booking.com or us when you booked that you were a family of 5 persons; instead you booked for 2 persons. 2. Thus as Management we booked you into a 2... More 

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Lindfield, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

We had the best day fishing with our guide Paul and sidekick Heather! Both very friendly people, and Paul sure knows his stuff! We were picked up from Darwin in a 4wd at 5am and returned at about 8pm, so transport was fantastic and so easy. All gear and bait was supplied, and more than enough food and drinks, making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Just what we were looking for. Always wanted to go Barra Fishing. Didn't want 5 star. Wanted to enjoy the real flavour of fishing all day, quick dinner then early to bed for early morning start to fishing again. Felt safe with good guidance. Dundee and both the Finniss River and Little Finniss (loved that better) were great places to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We had interstate visitors who flew in from Queensland for a day's fishing with Darwin's Barra Base - Confirmed 3 days prior and told they would go to Shady Camp as the fish were biting. Got up at 5 o'clock for the pick up which never came. When they eventually got hold of someone from Barra Base she was dismissive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barra_Base, Front Office Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

My sincerest apologies about what happened! The guide for the day had forgotten he had a trip and by the time he was ready to go your guests were understandably very upset and had already given up. No excuses, this should never happen. Again, we are very very sorry. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Fortunate to be in a group of 12 Victorian fishermen at Dundee Beach NT Barra Base guides Allan,Rohan & Peter's expertise and experience of times,tides & areas allowed us to target all species with great success enough fish after 3 days allowed catch & release Barra for last 2 days

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barra_Base, Front Office Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

It certainly was a great safari. Thank you for choosing Darwin's Barra Base! More 

Torquay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Drawings Barra Base trip was great with expertise of the guides, everything organised and supplied for us. Knowledge of the area and the variety of species was key to our trips success. We were able to bring home a box of fish each as well as releasing fish that we did not need.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyabram
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

What a great trip. Bagged out on all species chased. Allan, Rohan and Peter went to great lengths to make it a trip of a lifetime. Caught enough fish in 3 days to allow us to sport fish for barra on last 2.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Whilst we struck a day when the weather had turned against us and fishing conditions weren't that great, our host, Allan Beales,did his utmost to extend our time to ensure an outcome of sorts. His knowledge of this fishing areas and conditions were second to none - he made the most out of a difficult situation and we all had... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barra_Base, Front Office Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Hi Richard. Happy to hear that even though the conditions have not been the best we have been able to ensure you have a good time and the best possible chances of catching fish. Hope to see you fishing with us again! More 

Kyabram, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Alan, Rohan and Peter were sensational, great blokes and great guides. The fishing was fantastic, we bagged out after three days and so catch and release for the last two days, how good is that. Everything went to plan and we took home a box of fillets per person. Dundee Beach Lodge was great and very comfortable. Great trip all... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barra_Base, Front Office Manager at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! All the guides had a great time as well! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#9 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
6.0 mi away
Elan Soho Suites
Elan Soho Suites
#3 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
6.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel
6.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#11 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 953 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mediterranean All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay