We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Darwin B&Bs / inns

Darwin's Barra Base

2 Todd Crescent | Malak NT, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Darwin's Barra Base to your Saves list
Darwin's Barra Base
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
27%
Ranked #18 of 20 Darwin B&B and Inns
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Not necessarily classic 4 star but clean, 10 minutes to downtown and half the price of what we (2 adults 3 kids) would have to pay in town. Owner Alan was friendly and helpful and the room was perfect for us with queen, bunks and a single. Pool was fabulous and clean and we had a great nights sleep after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Allan B, Owner at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our family had the unfortunate experience of staying here for a night in Darwin before an early flight the next morning. There is nothing positive to say about this place except for the closeness to the airport. The owner was rude (both over the phone when pre-paying for the booking and on arrival), the room was grotty and musty smelling,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Allan B, Owner at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Naomi. It is difficult to understand such a negative review when the guests who checked in to the same room on the day you checked out had the following to say - “Value for money in Darwin” "Not necessarily classic 4 star but clean, 10 minutes to downtown and half the price of what we... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

After fishing for a week, with DBB, we returned to the B&B for a swim, dinner and a good nights sleep. Then we went to the airport so the location suited us. However if you want to see Darwin or want great food you should be closer to town. The fishing expedition was good. Allan is very passionate and gets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Batchelor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had the misfortune of booking this place online on Sunday 28th of July 2013. Only to be called by the owner Alan Beale on Monday to say that there in fact was no rooms available. So although I had paid $170.00 via my credit card I had no room. He said he had tried to find me alterative accommodation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mansfield Victoria Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

awesome fishing trip with my 2 brothers and met a new friend great fishing with a great guide thanks to Allan and Rob for a great 4 days fishing at Dundee Beach great time had by all picked up for the airport within 5 mins of ringing up and freezer space to hold the fish and aircraft approved boxes to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Terrible service, broken toilets, broken air conditioner, had to wait for an hour for owners to turn up to get into our room. Owner was unhelpful, rude and no customer service skills !! Time to go back to your hospitality books mate !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Recently my partner and I stayed at the Bedfish and Breakfast owned by Allan and Heather Beale. Their actual house is what you expect for the amount of money you pay. We only paid $100AUD a night. It's not luxurious but it is inhabitable. I do agree that it is slightly different to the pictures shown on the website. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

this accommodation is advertised falsely. The location is terrible and the so called facilities are either not there or in such poor condition they are not usable. Definately not for families and should definately be avoided. Very unproffessional and web pictures and brochures are not a true indication of what property is actually like.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Allan B, Owner at Darwin's Barra Base, responded to this review

Tiffany thanks for your input. You make some rather harsh accusations for someone that only spent a few minutes at my property. You were not at the property long enough to witness the full extent of the facilities on hand, other than the pool which at 10 meters is hard to miss. Funnily enough you were here for a sporting... More

Bathurst NSW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My Husband and I recently stayed here. The Office staff were friendly and helpful. As for anything else forget it. The room we had was not clean, the bathroom had hair elastics from the last visitor around the tap when we arrived, the bed cover was dirtly and stained the fridge had no shelves,the freezer was glued shut (obviously didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Darwin's Barra Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Darwin's Barra Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin's Barra Base

Address: 2 Todd Crescent | Malak NT, Darwin, Northern Territory 0812, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Darwin's Barra Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Darwin with
any amenities