We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dingo Moon Lodge

88 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Hotel amenities
Dingo Moon Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #22 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015
Slie09 Vincennes, France
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    24
    20
    16
See reviews for
6
27
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and i were looking forward to staying here as the lodge was a little further down mitchell street, out of the hustle and bustle, and it seemed like good value for money with the brekky included. always a plus! we arrived at a confusing time...at midnight on the morning of the 17th. i had told the receptionist over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DingoMoon, Manager at Dingo Moon Lodge, responded to this review

When this booking was made, it was done over the phone. The manager did speak with the receptionist regarding the dates, and she made it clear to the guests that they were booked in for the 17th and the 18th - all was agreed at this time. All guests are sent a confirmation email, which clearly states their booking date... More 

Holstebro, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Writing this review we're still here. To start of with, we came to this hostel having read some of the reviews in here - some good and some not so much. We took a chance and booked it, arrived at night so reception was closed. The double room has enough space but smells a bit funny. This morning we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DingoMoon, Manager at Dingo Moon Lodge, responded to this review

The reason that we only offer our store room to paying guests is because it is very limited on space. The receptionist at the time was only half way through her speech of the luggage room policies when you walked away and didn't listen to what she had to say. Guests are welcome to store their luggage while they are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Vincennes, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

My stay at the Dingo Moon Lodge was quite fun! There were some surprises as hearing about people who's been evicted or others changing rooms every day or 2, but the atmosphere is cool. There was a bunch of german youngsters who out their music so loud thinking it was ibiza but we calm them down by the end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DingoMoon, Manager at Dingo Moon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We always like to see guests having fun during their stay here, and we take pride in our fun, laid back atmosphere that many other hostels lack. As there is such a laid back communal area, people can become comfortable enough to get a little loud. We sometimes have to remind people that they need... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

hostel is pretty good. the linen are not very clean but not messy as well. free laundry and breakfast make a difference. the swimming pool is cool . the accommodation are clean and individuals. the staff is not crazy but you can ask something when you need. they are reliable. it's enough to sleep and to stay for a short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

THE WORST BACKPACKERS IN THE WORLD Dirty unsafe unenjoyable.... if you want too enjoy your time in darwin do not stay here. Im an aussie that has backpacked australia and i would not book my worst enemy in here, your food will be stolen your alcohol will be stolen there is no security once inside so whatever happens happens,free breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

It is what it is...cheap. the rooms are hot and small. The bathrooms are not very clean, wifi is super expensive and in general is quite disapointing... but not everything is bad of course, the swiming pool and the kitchen are cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The breakfast included was nice for a hostel. But that's about it. You have to book 2 nights minimum and policies are extremely strict. They told us if you check out 5 minutes late (checkout is super early, at 10!) they can take parts of your deposit. Other than that the staff at the desk was unfriendly with the "what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Dingo is a great starting point if you want to see Darwin and the surrounding area, the staff will help you with your booking and questions. Having breakfast by the pool was the best part of my stay. I went there with 3 other friends of mine, we enjoyed staying there despite it was quite noisy at (almost) every hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Warning! You must have your life 100% planned out before staying here. It would be a cold day in hell before I ever spent one more night here. Previously I had enjoyed 4 nights at Dingo Moon. When I returned to Darwin 10 days later I was disgusted with the owners policies. on my return visit the owner had increased... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Myself and a friend stayed here for two nights (which was the minimum amount of nights and quite frankly too many for Darwin). Upon arriving we were greeted by an unfriendly and quite rude young lady. Firstly she accused us of booking a triple rather than a double and had the audacity of blaming us for their mistake. By reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DingoMoon, Manager at Dingo Moon Lodge, responded to this review

I have never seen a hostel that has a checkout time later than 10:00 - not SUPER early, as stated. The sign on the window that states that a late checkout can warrant a loss of deposit has since been taken down. We would not keep any of your deposit if you checked out 5 minutes late. The sign was... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay