We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Darwin hotels

BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 McMillans Road, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
Hotel amenities
BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
AytonWellington Wellington
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    57
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
56
20
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Wellington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Provide a free Airport Shuttle both ways throughout 24 hours. We stayed here (3 couples) for 1st night in Darwin. Staff & reception excellent. Room good and big enough for a couple. Good shower, air conditioning excellent, breakfast served around pool was very enjoyable. Lovely pool and surrounds. Internet Wi-Fi free and worked better than almost any other place we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Dear Ayton, thank you very much for leaving us a positive review. Hope to see you next time. More

Nhulunbuy, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This motel is located somewhat central to Darwin if you have transport. This was the fifth time I've stayed at the Gateway, reception staff have always been friendly and eager to part with local advice. Rooms are a good size and always cleaned to a high standard and no traffic noise at night time to disturb sleep. Would stay again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your kind feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel is close to the airport but close to nowhere the staff picks you up at the airport and takes you back very helpful but this place is a $60 rt cab ride to Darwin and a long bus ride to town on public transportation I was disappointed with this aspect of my choice of this hotel

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for your review and feedback. Safe travels More

Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed here on our first and last nights in the Top End due to convenience to the airport. It has a complementary 24-hour shuttle between the hotel and the airport; when you land you need to call them to have it come, so make note of the number somewhere. The staff was very friendly. One of the rooms we stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Dear TNEG, we appreciate your review and comments on your recent stay with us. Hope to see you again next time. Safe travels More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The owner picked us up from the airport and she was so lovely and friendly. They brought us breakfast out to the pool. I could not say one bad thing about the this place. The bed was so comfortable and I am a real fussy person when it comes to bed. Your allowed to smoke outside so it was perfect.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kim P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Dear Maree, thank you very much for leaving such a friendly review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Staff were friendly and very accommodating. As someone else's review stated parking is easy with a compact car due to the size of the spaces and the concrete poles, anything bigger park on the road. I found the pub a great place to eat good economical meals and the room wasn't bothered by noise. Out the back I had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This motel is close to the airport but is along way from Darwin city. It has a free shuttle service to pick you up 24/7 on your arrival, which is ok if you have a phone, it would be great if they had a direct access phone in the arrivals area like at many other airports. The rooms were clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We chose this hotel as we had an early morning flight so wanted to be close to the airport. As it happened, our flight was delayed due to the Indonesian volcano so we ended up staying for extra nights. The staff extended our room at the same rate indefinitely, which was great given the uncertainty around our travel plans. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kununurra
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 1 night recently, what can I say it was the worst night I have spent in a motel !!!! The noise from the Tavern next door that continued until 1am in the morning was so loud sleep was impossible . The building seems to resonate every little sound made in the building right through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Dear Dean B, We were expecting this review as you told us that you would be placing online feedback unless we gave you the room free of charge. We do use a professional pest control contractor and our last treatment was only 2 weeks before your stay. On your report of cockroaches in your room we did immediately inspect it... More

perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The beds were nice and comfortable. There is parking but you share it with a lot of big 4 x 4's and it is squishy to get in and out of the bays as they are under the building and there are a lot of concrete support poles so you really need your whit's about you parking.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel

Address: 225 McMillans Road, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel