We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Darwin hotels

BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 McMillans Road, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
73%
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Darwin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
TNEG Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (113)
  • Photos (46)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    55
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
54
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here on our first and last nights in the Top End due to convenience to the airport. It has a complementary 24-hour shuttle between the hotel and the airport; when you land you need to call them to have it come, so make note of the number somewhere. The staff was very friendly. One of the rooms we stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The owner picked us up from the airport and she was so lovely and friendly. They brought us breakfast out to the pool. I could not say one bad thing about the this place. The bed was so comfortable and I am a real fussy person when it comes to bed. Your allowed to smoke outside so it was perfect.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Staff were friendly and very accommodating. As someone else's review stated parking is easy with a compact car due to the size of the spaces and the concrete poles, anything bigger park on the road. I found the pub a great place to eat good economical meals and the room wasn't bothered by noise. Out the back I had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This motel is close to the airport but is along way from Darwin city. It has a free shuttle service to pick you up 24/7 on your arrival, which is ok if you have a phone, it would be great if they had a direct access phone in the arrivals area like at many other airports. The rooms were clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We chose this hotel as we had an early morning flight so wanted to be close to the airport. As it happened, our flight was delayed due to the Indonesian volcano so we ended up staying for extra nights. The staff extended our room at the same rate indefinitely, which was great given the uncertainty around our travel plans. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kununurra
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 1 night recently, what can I say it was the worst night I have spent in a motel !!!! The noise from the Tavern next door that continued until 1am in the morning was so loud sleep was impossible . The building seems to resonate every little sound made in the building right through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Dear Dean B, We were expecting this review as you told us that you would be placing online feedback unless we gave you the room free of charge. We do use a professional pest control contractor and our last treatment was only 2 weeks before your stay. On your report of cockroaches in your room we did immediately inspect it... More

perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The beds were nice and comfortable. There is parking but you share it with a lot of big 4 x 4's and it is squishy to get in and out of the bays as they are under the building and there are a lot of concrete support poles so you really need your whit's about you parking.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bangkok
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Only stayed at the motel one night, we chose this motel as it was close to the airport, and we had a very early morning flight, the rooms were well presented and clean, a nice swimming pool. There was a large Pub Tavern next door that served nice meals at reasonable prices. But the best thing about the motel was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kim P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Dear BangkokTitch, thank you for your kind remarks. We hope to welcome you again soon. Safe travels. More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This relatively new hotel is comfortable and has very helpful and friendly staff. Free shuttle service is provided from and to the airport, 24 hours a day. It does not have it's own restaurant but the pub next door is filling that gap for lunch and dinner. The hotel features a nice pool + spa with sufficient deck chairs.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Dear reto6065, thanks for the great feedback. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel on our way to Bali during the Easter break. The free shuttle bus to hotel and back to airport & its location being so close to airport was best thing about this hotel but our room was small with number of small brown cockroaches running all over the place! The room certainly needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Dear LeMoj, we appreciate the feedback. All the best. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel

Address: 225 McMillans Road, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Darwin with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
64

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer