We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barramundi Lodge

4 Gardens Road | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barramundi Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barramundi Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    19
    11
    5
    15
See reviews for
15
20
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A bit older but clean, great wifi in reception , staff/management are polite and always helpful. Ive never had a problem here ,always arrive late due to flights, room is always ready and clean....staff are great and always helpful, short walk to town too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Noosaville, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Natalie was great and very helpful, the place was very clean and quiet at night, easy walking access to downtown,and was very well priced, with A/con, fan, and cooking facilities, great parking, great" Garden Park" opposite the Lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Accommodation can be expensive up north.. especially if its a 5 day extended trip...instead of paying over $120 for some small,overcrowded hotel room with no balcony, i searched the net and found a delightful, homely lodge. Across the road from the golf course..walking distance to Darwin City,Skycity Casino,The Botanical Gardens,Mindil Beach and many more famous Darwin locations... Barramundi Lodge is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on 2 occasions on our family holiday. We stayed both on the bottom floor and the top floor as well. There were lots of other families there so my son enjoyed the company. There are shared facilities for each floor (1 toilet and one shower per floor) but we found them to be clean and we did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Nice place. Friendly staff. Lovely pool and surrounds. Used the kitchen and laundry while I stayed. Nice and convenient. Close to eateries. Close to Darwin city. Walking distance. Highly recommended. Will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

I stayed in room 19 and it was so good for value, the lady was nice and caring. When i arrived the room was clean un like a lot of other places in darwin, it was also air conditioned with a tv and for what you pay it is a bargain. The barramundi lodge and the staff is great it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed here in July 2014. It was as described, a good place to rest your head away form the main drag. Agreed it is not the crème de la crème, but this is reflected in the price. The majority do have thier own kitchen facilities but there is a clean comunal toilet and shower. All in all a great base... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I stayed at the Lodge on 2 different occasions first time one night. I went on a trip Natalie put my luggage in her personal space so it was secure. On my return I stayed 4 days my luggage. Was waiting in my room. Annie was a wealth of information being a local of 25 years. The pool area was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Never ever again. The politic is : This is what it is, and I have already charged it in your credit card now, so you can't do anything. Dirty, dangerous, uncomfortable, unfriendly. Please, don't stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Holland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

As a travel agent I stayed at many places in the world. But this was by far the worst experience ever! It's a budget accommodation and you get what you pay for. In Asia or Africa you would get a 5 star hotel for the price you pay here, but ok I understand Australia is very expensive. Didn't like the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barra645, Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

I am so sorry you have these bad feelings after your stay here at the lodge i was very suprised to learn of any rudeness being shown to our guest and the complaint has been spoken about . I see in your review you are an travel agent so i was suprised that you had not known that check-out time... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay