We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barramundi Lodge

4 Gardens Road | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barramundi Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barramundi Lodge
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    10
    5
    15
See reviews for
13
19
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I stayed at the Lodge on 2 different occasions first time one night. I went on a trip Natalie put my luggage in her personal space so it was secure. On my return I stayed 4 days my luggage. Was waiting in my room. Annie was a wealth of information being a local of 25 years. The pool area was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Never ever again. The politic is : This is what it is, and I have already charged it in your credit card now, so you can't do anything. Dirty, dangerous, uncomfortable, unfriendly. Please, don't stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

As a travel agent I stayed at many places in the world. But this was by far the worst experience ever! It's a budget accommodation and you get what you pay for. In Asia or Africa you would get a 5 star hotel for the price you pay here, but ok I understand Australia is very expensive. Didn't like the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barra645, Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

I am so sorry you have these bad feelings after your stay here at the lodge i was very suprised to learn of any rudeness being shown to our guest and the complaint has been spoken about . I see in your review you are an travel agent so i was suprised that you had not known that check-out time... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I've stayed here for four nights and found it quite relaxing to stay here. Yeah for the money u pay don't expect breakfast to be included, but they gey a kitchen n u can definitely cook for urself! I was busily walking n tripping around so mostly stay in lodge for my self-cooked dinner n sleep. It's actually a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katoomba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I've stayed in the Barramundi Lodge twice now on solo business trips to Darwin. I love it because it's the cheapest place I could find that wasn't a dormitory, and it is perfectly located on the outskirts of town (so you don't have to deal with all the idiots) and a short walk to the casino and Mindl Beach. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Barramundi lLodge is not the Hilton, however if you want the Hilton, then go and get that instead. The staff were super helpful and the rooms and and the whole of the lodge was really clean. Yes it is an old place, but the owners take pride in their establishment. Really good for the money that you pay and really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 via mobile

Staff bloody rude, shower awful, i nwouldnt let my dog sleep on the beds they supplied, my back is so sore and i have had barely any sleep and thats just the beginning.Not worth the money at all, has no security at all, had people trying to open my room door at all hours of the night

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Barramundi is nicely located halfway between the beach and the cbd. There is parking, and a small but pleasant pool. The hotel to me looks a bit tired. The owner does state that she is trying to improve all the rooms when she can. Our room had a kitchen, which saves having to buy expensive meals out. Australia is expensive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barra645, Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thankyou for your review i wish you had have mentioned you stayed with us 2 times the first time you needed our help to store your luggage so you could go on a trip. We did this for you at no charge we even stored your luggage in our personal space at an inconvienance to ourselves.When you returned... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Me and my boyfriend found that this place was good value for money. The rooms are basic but great for what we were looking for. The staff are knowable about Darwin and what to do along with being friendly. They allowed early check out possible to catch an early flight which was great! The grounds are very relaxing with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline Springs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just a quick mini break for the family in darwin, where we had not been before. As we only wanted a place to sleep we really weren't after room service and shampoo and shower caps etc so we chose Barramundi based on price. I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews here but I think people have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barra645, Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review .i am so pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. Cheers Natalie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Barramundi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barramundi Lodge

Address: 4 Gardens Road | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barramundi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay