We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Youth Shack Backpackers

69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Youth Shack Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was told this place had Internet so off I went. I found the staff extremely helpful and courteous. The 2 A$ for an hour was very reasonable. My subsequent visits for directions and the like all met with my appreciations.

Helpful?
Thank Mitchsan
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed 4 nights in 4 bed female dorm. situated right in the city, walking distance to various drinking places, less than 5 mins walk to mitchelle centre. nice, friendly and helpful staffs. was looking for a place to stay and staff actually agree to show me around the hostel before i make any booking/reservation. very helpful especially in reservation of... More 

Helpful?
Thank SXiaoY
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to avail of our travel desk also! Best of luck on the rest of your travels and hopefully we will see you again! More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friendly place to stay in Darwin. It's not luxurious, but it's reasonable value. I stayed 4 days, but would have been happy to stay longer here. I was happy with most things, but there was a strange aroma wafting through the place at times

Helpful?
Thank sweiss80
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! In relation to the "aroma" we have just had all of our carpets professionally cleaned. Unfortunately, just after, we had an incident whereby a guest in an ensuite room fell asleep in the shower (covering the plug hole) resulting in a number of our rooms and... More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here in Darwin! It was good to sleep here the beds were very comfy and the pillows were clean. In the shower I have had some issues because I did not understand how it worked - the cold and heat label was worn out so you'd have to check before you turn it on and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tropix-ger
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall! I will have a look through the bathrooms to see which taps need the labels replaced! In relation to the smell that you mentioned, we had all of our carpets professionally cleaned in December. Unfortunately we recently had an incident... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016

I stayed a few nights in a 4 bed female dorm. There were individual lockers and a sink located in the room. It was generally clean. I am not a picky traveller and I would say it was good for budget travellers. Has all the down-to-earth essentials.

Helpful?
Thank Hewey J
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Hewey, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future! Safe Travels More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

overall, pretty good. We were in a twin room, paying $50 a night. We were away from the pool noise, but our room faced the side road. The noise at night from the pub and drunken revellers, and the pub truck restocking at 2am was awful, but nothing that earplugs and the aircon on loudly couldn't solve. The rooms and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid P
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ingrid, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! And yes being in the heart of the city we can be affected by street noise unfortunately, more so at weekends, but we have to take the good with the bad - our central location is a massive advantage for a lot of people.... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for 12 days in a double room. The hostel is very nice, the toilets and showers were very clean, the housekeeper does a good job. The kitchen is big and they have a nice area for relaxing, the balconies and the swimming pool. Things that could be improved: my air conditioner was old, it was working and managed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fezoca
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Fezoca, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for acknowledging the hard work of our housekeepers, they are constantly met with very challenging tasks but really do a great job! Most of our communal areas including the kitchen are open plan so air conditioning units would be wasted in them unfortunately, and yes it... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night in a 4 bed dorm. Checked out the next morning and changed to a different accomodation. Smelly moldy room, super dirty matrass and bathroom was disgusting. Kitchen closes at night so you cant get to your stuff anymore which is in the fridge (drinks/yoghurt etc). Staff on the other hand very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Aaakkkk
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, I am so sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay here. After completing room checks i cannot find any open dorms that smell of mold. We have cleaned and replaced all mattress covers over the last few weeks. I am sorry you felt the bathroom was dirty, they are cleaned numerous times throughout the day, it is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

We stayed a couple of Days in the Youth Shack Hostel. The location is just awesome! We stayed in a 4 bed dorm, included everything what you need - bed, air con and a small sink with a mirror. In the corridor was the bathroom. It was allright, nothing special and not super clean. The kitchen is open to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Livonnski E
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, we have so many regulars who return to us time and time again, its great to hear we've added another! Safe travels on the next part of your adventure See you again! More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

I stayed at Youth Shack for only a couple of days but I really liked it. The place is clean, all the rooms got lockers, perfect location, right in the centre of Darwin and close to Coles. There is a swimming pool and a bar, which is great when you're backpacking with mates and want to enjoy yourself! Although it... More 

Helpful?
Thank TamFrenchie
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for your review. It's always so lovely to hear such positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Safe travels More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 38 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#4 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#13 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poinciana Inn
Poinciana Inn
#29 of 38 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay