We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Youth Shack Backpackers

69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Hotel amenities
Youth Shack Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Gary J
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    37
    21
    40
See reviews for
3
33
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

good little place to stay. Only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is because one shower on my floor isn't working properly. Not enough water pressure coming through. Swimming pool looks good, staff are friendly and signed up with the job shack and got a job on the day working on a tree farm for 3 weeks. Tough job... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Been here for over a month, genuinely friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great facilities including pool, TV room, bar and kitchen all kept very clean and rooms cleaned everyday. The girls at the jobshack try really hard to find you suitable work and the guys at the front desk are always helpful and sincere. Bar staff are lovely and chatty, will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lancashire England
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
81 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in several hostels in Australia fortunately the hostels we stayed in were far better than the Youth Shack which was dreadful. We had the misfortune to stay there on two separate occasions, as part of tour packages. The first time the staff on reception were friendly and registered us efficiently and were helpful despite being busy. The second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff is very nice, the place is neat the rooms are spacious, clean and silent, which is something very hard to find in a hostel. It is extremely well located in the heart of the city centre. I would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate your feedback and we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Your review was very positive and we are glad your enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again and wish you all the best for your future travels. Thanks, The Youthshack Team More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ive been here at the youth shack 4 weeks now and i don't have anything bad to say about this place. Especially customer service is something that really surprised me well! On hostel bar theres cheapest beers in town on happy hours from 5 to 7, totally worth of trying.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate your feedback and we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Your review was very positive and we are glad your enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again and wish you all the best for your future travels. Thanks, The Youthshack Team More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friend planned on staying here 2 nights, 3 weeks later we are still here :-) its a great spot with clean rooms and helpful staff!! Lovely pool and an area to do your laundry! Toilets and rooms cleaned everyday!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate your feedback and we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Your review was very positive and we are glad your enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again and wish you all the best for your future travels. Thanks, The Youthshack Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I lived in darwin for 3 months.. The entire time being at the youthshack. I had the best time. The rooms are clean, have aircn and fans, sinks and big lockers, and the staff is SO amazing, the pool is fun. It was affordable. Even when I had only just arrived they'd come to remember my face and name and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate your feedback and we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Your review was very positive and we are glad your enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again and wish you all the best for your future travels. Thanks, The Youthshack Team More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bit like a rabbit warren in all respects. Macho males young for supremacy trying to outdo each other on loudness, rudeness and treating women like playthings. Mind you some of the females were pretty much there for the taking, and they wonder why they get no respect from these uncouth males. Room was cramped, nowhere to sit. The springs were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate your feedback and we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Unfortunately we have no control on the prowess side of our guests but do step in on any unruly activity that my upset other guests staying with us. If you were not happy with the... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

place feels like a party hotel somwehre like magaluf - except the majority of people work at 6 or 7 am next day! you wont get much sleep staying here, so if youre here for a party, good choice! the kitchen isnt great you have to borrow each pan etc that you need and leave your room key (only good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate your feedback and we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Your review was very positive and we are glad your enjoyed your stay with us! Although you have mentioned our borrowing policy, unfortunately we have to do this due to items not being cleaned or... More 

Ibiza, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I good a nice private room! Breakfast not nice ... and you have to pay for every single thing...on my check out I didnt had my breakfast and I had to pay to drink water... crazy ! The night front desk manager is really friendly...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate your feedback and we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Breakfast is a free supplement to all guests at the Youthshack, it is basic and simple, but as mentioned FREE. Bottled water supplied at Reception in our fridges do come at a cost like all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question