We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Darwin accommodations

Youth Shack

69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Youth Shack to your Saves list
Youth Shack
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
38%
Ranked #19 of 39 Specialty lodging in Darwin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Lewis R Agnes Water, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (127)
  • Photos (2)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    27
    19
    34
See reviews for
1
28
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warburton, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good for the young ones only, you are above a night club so its very very noisy, also with people coming back after lots of drinks, it also has a bar on premises, I had a room to myself and it had mites in the sheets so I had bed bites all over my legs, I am a solo female... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agnes Water, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for 4months, and I must say the atmosphere is great and most of the staff are helpful. The bar always has happy hours each day and the apart from the hassle of paying for plates/cutlery and leaving your key for pans/pots the kitchen is really good. The only problem is the bathrooms need to be updated, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The hostel is located in the only street of darwin where you can find restaurants and pubs so you cant sleep until 2am because of the noise outside. Thus we were able to sleep a few hours only. I found many big bugs in my room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed at my fair share of hostels in Australia and the youth shack is by far the best one. I spent 9 months there!! The staff are so good and always there to help you , the atmosphere around the place is great , Rooms are a reasonable size and cleaned every morning, the location is brilliant 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Except thé fact that this backpacker is well located on Mitchell street, near pubs and restaurant, i don't see other good items to spin. Service is poor, very noisy, bathroom are really poor and rooms are dirty. .. Find another backpacker for your stay guys !

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

it was the most expensive backpacker in Australia that I stayed. i'm melbourne I paid 20 with wifi and breakfast, sydney 27 wifi and breakfast, darwin 34 with nothing! the kitchen doesn't have any suplies if you want to cook you have to pay a bound for it or leave your key for some pots. toilet weren't so clean, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Night watch had lost his keys.... We could not check out, allmost missed tje airport shuttle and I did not get my key deposit back. They should try to get better staff. Other than poor service, rooms are clean. Bathrooms are under renovation and a hot shower is just a dream. Not worth of youre money. There is better hostels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First night here was HORRIBLE. I arrived to find that this hotel is not only a hotel but has a bar which is open to 12pm and is connected to the common area. My room was right above the ho-down and painfully loud. There was a woeful cover band, loads of people partying till about 1pm. The area itself is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, General Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback good or bad. We are glad you were happy with your room and we are pleased to hear that the staff were able to move you to a more quiet room. Our bar area is open until 11pm at the latest and the band plays no longer than 10pm. We have... More

Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and if I'm honest we didn't really take to the place. The four bed dorm was simply tiny, we slept in the same bed so we had somewhere to put our bags (on the other bed). The showers and toilets we halfway down the corridor, they were okay. People on reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, General Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. In each dorm room we do provide spacious lockers for each occupant's personal belongings and because showers and toilets are shared by guests occupying dorm rooms they are generally located in the middle if the corridors to make them central to all guests. We are glad to hear the staff treated you well, we do... More

W National Park, Niger
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reading a few other bad comments and quite shocked at peoples negitive comments about the youth shack, i think people forget its darwin their visiting and its a very up and coming city and it will keep getting better and more advanced also not forgetting one of the most expensive citys in the world, ive stayed in most of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, General Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad that we were able to meet your expectations in most areas of the hostel. Our staff in all departments do work extremely hard and make every effort to make guests feel at home and appreciated and this is often noticed by guests... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Youth Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Youth Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack

Address: 69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Youth Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Youthshack is located right in the beating heart of Darwin's tourist and central business district. This means Youthshack Hostel is near all the main attractions, pubs, shopping centres and beaches. Our Darwin hostel has all the modern comforts and facilities to cater all travellers from around the world! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
85

See which rooms travelers prefer