We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Darwin accommodations

Youth Shack

69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Hotel amenities
Youth Shack
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Youth Shack to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jason E
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    32
    19
    38
See reviews for
3
30
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

If you fancy not sleeping and receiving a wake up call at 5am by the police, having your room raided and the people you were sharing with arrested for drug dealing then this is the perfect place to stay! Also if you like hearing people 'make love' under your top bunk I'd book here! Defiantly a workers hostel not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved the place..Great service and very affordable.Reception staff especially Jason and Tim made the place great. There is so much to do and the travel desk provides great advice!Such a great bar meeting loads of people,cheap drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Some great feedback! Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks, Youthshack Team More

Plumpton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose Youth Shack for our stay as we would be returning there as part of our outback trip. It isn't a bad place to stay but it isn't as good as some of the other backpackers we stayed in. Particularly not for children. The hostel centres around the bar which was very loud and also very very packed during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. We must mention that the bar is located in prime position in our hostel for the ease of access, its unfortunate to hear that this felt intrusive to you and your family. Unfortunately... More

Pfinztal, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its a good hostel in the middle of darwin.friendly staff and lots of informations at reception.don't forget your ear plugin's it may be get loud (van and air-condition). The roof top is quite nice to relax. Kitchen is big and you ll find a spot for cooking.we never used bar or pool but its located in the backyard. we are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, fantastic to read your positive reviews! Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks, Youthshack Team More

Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good for price. Darwin is a party town so be prepared to get little sleep anywhere you stay on the main street. Room was clean but basic. Was pretty noisey but as a young couple we didnt mind too much. Definatley need to get some new windows as the flip down windows block out NO noise so thats why you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We really appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted the points you have made. Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks, Youthshack... More

Regional Victoria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked our tours through Youth Shack and the lady that helped us went to great lengths to assist us to find the best attractions in the time we had available as we only had a couple of days in this city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Fabulous feedback and extremely pleased we can help you out! We hope you enjoyed your tours and seeing the delights of the NT. Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks,... More

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night, worst night ever. Both conditioner and the fan where out of order, rooms are small, so by the end of night you could swim in that air, not that you would want to, because it smelled something terrible. I ended up getting up in the middle of night and spending some hours by the pool, it felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we have noted the points you have made. The maintenance of your room should of been reported to our friendly reception staff who would of been happy... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

By far the best hostel in Darwin with the best staff, arrived on the 5th of June was greeted by Jason who was just a sound bloke checked us in real quick and still had a bit of banter with us and from day one he remembered our names over the 3 months I stayed here, while staying at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. Fantastic to hear of your positive feedback on The Youthshack, we pride ourselves in keeping our guests happy! We look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future... More

Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I used to live in the Youth Shack for 2 month and i have to say it was not a very good hostel during that time. I mean the staff was always friendly, the prices at the bar are alright, they have many events there and free BBQ some nights. The Pool area and the sundeck is ok cause of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. We must mention that the cost of living in Darwin is more expensive then that of Sydney & Melbourne and our prices are competitive with other accommodation providers in Darwin City. Also our... More

Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The youth shack is situated right on the main strip so you're not far from shops and attractions etc. the toilets and showers are very dated and in desperate need of updating. They are extremely dirty and the rooms don't fair much better. You're right above a bar so very noisy and they even play loud music in the halls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. We must mention that we take our cleanliness and customer service very seriously and will look to improve this when necessary. Its unfortunate that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and... More

Do you own or manage Youth Shack?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Youth Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack

Address: 69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Youth Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay