We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Darwin accommodations

Youth Shack

69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Youth Shack to your Saves list
Youth Shack
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    20
    11
    32
See reviews for
1
23
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a party-hostel, beware of it if you're looking for backpacker-like calm and peaceful stay! It it loud, very busy and crowded with drunk jerks. The personell seems to be overstrained and is sometimes rude. You feel like a number. Everything is regimented... You even need to lodge a deposit for getting a pot, plate, knife, fork for use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback whether good or bad. The Youthshack, like you advised, is in the perfect location right in the city centre. Therefore, right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of Mitchell Street, which is currently starting to get busier due to our impending Dry Season. The Youthshack is... More

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I spent 3 nights in YS in my way to Kakadu. Although the experience was acceptable for the price I paid, it could have been better. The staff was friendly and helpful and the sundeck, pool and bar were really nice, however the place wasn't clean, specially toilets and if you're bigger than a kid, you gonna have problems with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you were impressed with the majority of your stay. We do take any feedback on board and do look to improve where necessary. We wish you all the best on the rest of your travels! Thanks again, Youthshack Team More

Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Can't get a better location, right in the middle of Mitchell Street Darwin surrounded by bars and clubs. Very friendly staff and clean rooms, nice facilities and a social bar downstairs. The staff at the Travel Desk and Job Shack are also super friendly, a great spot to start your Darwin adventure and I will definitely be staying here again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Sarah. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us in the future! Safe travels! Thanks Youthshack Team More

Darwin, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Dirty, unhelpful staff, full of awful people who steal stuff and have sex in the dorms when others are trying to sleep. Laundry is very expensive and won't make it through a full cycle as people take it out. Rooms are tiny, dirty and dark with uncomfortable beds and lockers that are broken. After travelling all over Oz this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us and appreciate any feedback whether good or bad. We do pride ourselves in excellent customer service and feel that some of your complaints could of been avoided if reported to our staff members. You do mention about other guests... More

Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you are in Darwin, you have to check in into the Youth Shack. It's clean, the stuff is very friendly, the facilities are great, drinks at the Hostel Bar are cheap and the pool area plus sundeck are inviting. By far the best Hostel I have been in Australia. You will get what you expect for your price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for you recent review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Youth Shack and our staff were helpful and accommodating towards you. We do like to pride ourselves in outstanding customer service. We do hope that should you return to Darwin you will not hesitate to stay with us again. Thanks again... More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here in a double room on New Years eve. Only cost $55 for a double, no bathroom. First thing I noticed was how clean the room was, and also was surprised to find a bar fridge in the room...bonus! The reception manager was a great guy. Really down to earth, helpful and friendly. Pool area and sundeck are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Youth Shack. Our night manager is a fantastic member of staff who works very hard to make sure guests are kept happy at all hours of the night, so I am happy to hear he was helpful during... More

Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hostel was not what we were looking for in Darwin. We paid 70 dollars for a double room which was way too much. The bed and mattress were old and uncomfortable and we found a frrsh blood stain on the sheets which was definitely not ours. Staff was friendly, bathrooms were clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review. Our rooms are cleaned daily by our housekeeping team. They make sure that the rooms are always ready and up to standards before we check anybody into these rooms. This includes making sure that fresh sheets are put on the beds. I am glad to hear that our staff were friendly during your... More

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

While I only stayed in youth shack for 5 days, I must say it was a great experience. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were cleaned daily and mopped and the wash rooms were always clean and tidy. I didn't use the kitchen facalities but from what I saw they were quite good. Even though our room was above... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review. We welcome all feedback whether good or bad. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Youth Shack. We do have a fantastic housekeeping team that maintain the cleanliness of the hostel at all times. We hope that should you return to Darwin you will not hesitate in staying... More

Vienna, Wien, Austria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hostel is really bad - as mentioned in other reviews it's very noisy, not clean and not in a ggod shape at all - a double is 75 A$ - that's to expensive for a night in a prison. please do not stay there...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We do welcome all feedback whether good or bad as this helps us to improve our hostel. Youth Shack has an onsite bar. This proves to be very popular with many of out guests staying here, long or short term, as it is a great place for them to meet other backpackers alike. We... More

Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

After staying at youthshack for over 5 months and paying over $4500 I am bitterly disappointed that now due to bed bugs being brought into our room the staff moved us over to the filthier long term side of the hostel to a tiny room with no sink, dirty matress's and a broken window right above shenanigans which gets really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your recent review. We do welcome all feedback whether good or bad as it helps us to maintain the standards of our hostels. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us at Youth Shack. Unfortunately we are still in the busy season and our hostel is pretty much full... More

Been to Youth Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack

Address: 69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Specialty lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youthshack is located right in the beating heart of Darwin's tourist and central business district. This means Youthshack Hostel is near all the main attractions, pubs, shopping centres and beaches. Our Darwin hostel has all the modern comforts and facilities to cater all travellers from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Youth Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youth Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.