We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Darwin accommodations

Youth Shack

69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Hotel amenities
Youth Shack
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Youth Shack to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mad-m0nk13 Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    32
    20
    39
See reviews for
3
30
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (152)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed here 4/5 nights as found a place to work for accommodation but the hostel was pretty cool. Good place to stay if you're working while travelling as I am and many people at this hostel are. Nice pool, cool little bar, decent kitchen, decent rooms, clean bathrooms, great little TV room with loads of films to choose from(great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came to Darwin at wet season, which is a bad time for anyone. But the staff are as friendly and helpful as they can be. Joined the job shack, had 3 interviews in one day, none of them panned out but that was down to me.The rooms are spacious for a hostel and the lockers fit your backpack which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hameln, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Youth shack is right in the middle of Mitchell street which is where all the magic happens in darwin. Right outside is the Irish bar Shenanigans. There is a bar in the hostel but will close earlier than most bars but it's a really cool place to have a drink and chill out. The pool is nice and refreshing. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I didn't use my bed because I had a night out (although I was careful as always not to disturb any sleepers!) I arrived back at the hostel at around 2:15am and having a 6:50am pick up I decided just to stay up and catch up with things back at home on my laptop. On arrival back to the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

I only give 4 out of 5 because the rooms are very small and the WiFi was very slow and not working very good. It was cleaned every day and the showers and the toiletts where clean to. It was quiet enough to sleep even the hostel is located in the what seems to be the party area of Darwin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devonport, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

cool place to stay in, maybe the coolest in Darwin cause of the swimmingpool and bar, But- * no breakfast * 4$ for day wi-fi (and not a good one) * 4$ for laundary+ 4$ more for dryer (no place to hang the close) * each peace of dishes for the kitchen need to be check in from the reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

It's not all that bad, but I didn't like it here. The staff are pretty rude, not all, but most, they just got a bad attitude. The rooms are really cramped, hardly any space to move around. Right next door to a bar so not ideal if you're working and need a place to sleep. The pool is just ok.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. We must mention that our hostel is in prime location on Mitchell St and this can cause noise disturbances from other surrounding establishments, which is unfortunately out of our control. We take our... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in September. The rooms were clean, as was the hostel in general. The bathrooms felt a bit like school bathrooms - shower cubicles all lined up. The bar downstairs was fun, as was the quiz they put on. The hostel is very close and central to Darwin nightlife. Everyone we saw at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Some great feedback! Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks, Youthshack Team More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Awful experience. The staff was rude and incompetent. Facilities were tiny and disgusting. Noise was constant. I couldn't fall asleep before 3 AM any night because of the ridiculously loud music, and around 6 or 7AM, the noise started again. Absolutely miserable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. Unfortunately due to our prime location on Mitchell St there is also the possibility of the noise from other establishments disturbing our guests. We have strict rules in place surrounding our bar on... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in September, didn't have any of the noise issues that previous reviews seem to have had (but we stayed mid-week), it feels like you should expect a noisy hostel environment as it is on the busiest strip in Darwin. Rooms were clean, staff were mostly friendly. It did feel more like a workers hostel than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Unfortunately our key deposits are compulsory and priced on the replacement of any of these items broken or lost. Our cutlery deposits, although can be annoying, are suitable for our hostel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Youth Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack

Address: 69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Youth Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay