We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Darwin accommodations

Youth Shack

69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Hotel amenities
Youth Shack
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Youth Shack to your Saves list
Ranked #20 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
JohnCooke2014 Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    32
    20
    39
See reviews for
3
30
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I didn't use my bed because I had a night out (although I was careful as always not to disturb any sleepers!) I arrived back at the hostel at around 2:15am and having a 6:50am pick up I decided just to stay up and catch up with things back at home on my laptop. On arrival back to the hostel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I only give 4 out of 5 because the rooms are very small and the WiFi was very slow and not working very good. It was cleaned every day and the showers and the toiletts where clean to. It was quiet enough to sleep even the hostel is located in the what seems to be the party area of Darwin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devonport, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

cool place to stay in, maybe the coolest in Darwin cause of the swimmingpool and bar, But- * no breakfast * 4$ for day wi-fi (and not a good one) * 4$ for laundary+ 4$ more for dryer (no place to hang the close) * each peace of dishes for the kitchen need to be check in from the reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's not all that bad, but I didn't like it here. The staff are pretty rude, not all, but most, they just got a bad attitude. The rooms are really cramped, hardly any space to move around. Right next door to a bar so not ideal if you're working and need a place to sleep. The pool is just ok.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. We must mention that our hostel is in prime location on Mitchell St and this can cause noise disturbances from other surrounding establishments, which is unfortunately out of our control. We take our... More

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in September. The rooms were clean, as was the hostel in general. The bathrooms felt a bit like school bathrooms - shower cubicles all lined up. The bar downstairs was fun, as was the quiz they put on. The hostel is very close and central to Darwin nightlife. Everyone we saw at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Some great feedback! Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks, Youthshack Team More

Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Awful experience. The staff was rude and incompetent. Facilities were tiny and disgusting. Noise was constant. I couldn't fall asleep before 3 AM any night because of the ridiculously loud music, and around 6 or 7AM, the noise started again. Absolutely miserable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. Unfortunately due to our prime location on Mitchell St there is also the possibility of the noise from other establishments disturbing our guests. We have strict rules in place surrounding our bar on... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in September, didn't have any of the noise issues that previous reviews seem to have had (but we stayed mid-week), it feels like you should expect a noisy hostel environment as it is on the busiest strip in Darwin. Rooms were clean, staff were mostly friendly. It did feel more like a workers hostel than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Unfortunately our key deposits are compulsory and priced on the replacement of any of these items broken or lost. Our cutlery deposits, although can be annoying, are suitable for our hostel... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

If you fancy not sleeping and receiving a wake up call at 5am by the police, having your room raided and the people you were sharing with arrested for drug dealing then this is the perfect place to stay! Also if you like hearing people 'make love' under your top bunk I'd book here! Defiantly a workers hostel not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. But we must mention that this is the first we have heard of this 'raiding' and quite frankly believe this to be some what fabricated. The real circumstances were in fact a guest... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I loved the place..Great service and very affordable.Reception staff especially Jason and Tim made the place great. There is so much to do and the travel desk provides great advice!Such a great bar meeting loads of people,cheap drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Some great feedback! Thank you again for your time and we wish you all the best on your future travels, Thanks, Youthshack Team More

Plumpton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I chose Youth Shack for our stay as we would be returning there as part of our outback trip. It isn't a bad place to stay but it isn't as good as some of the other backpackers we stayed in. Particularly not for children. The hostel centres around the bar which was very loud and also very very packed during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback whether good or bad as we are always looking at ways to improve our services. We have noted the points you have made. We must mention that the bar is located in prime position in our hostel for the ease of access, its unfortunate to hear that this felt intrusive to you and your family. Unfortunately... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Youth Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack

Address: 69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Youth Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay