We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Yulara hotels

Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock (Uluru), Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages )
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort to your Saves list
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
51%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Sophie B Adelaide, Australia
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    364
    385
    130
    76
See reviews for
170
521
116
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in a double room in July, and it was freezing overnight. Our split system aircon/heater was broken, so the staff brought in a small fan heater. It did the trick eventually however caused a lot of fuss for the staff as they didn't have any other heaters left (must have been busy at the time?) There are computers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place to stay in Yulara. I particularly liked the location, a five minute walk across a sandy section of land to the other side of the resort. It was great to feel we were in a natural environment, planted with indigenous vegetation, minutes after stepping out of our room, and the hill in the middle for viewing the night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Catherine M Thanks very much for providing feedback of your stay at the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge. It is great to see that the facilities suited requirements whilst visiting the Red centre. Our company vision at is definitely 50% indigenous employment by 2018. There are currently 241 indigenous employees making up 30% of the total staff. These employees... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Check-in was over in a trice - or would have been if our coach hadn't broken down en route. The reason things took a little longer was that the staff took over the problem and did what they could to fix the un-fixable; it being too late for our party to visit Kata Tjuta. Having found my room and walked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Ian A You have covered your experience of your visit to Ayers Rock resort very well and with many details. Thank you for the time you have taken to do this for us. On the topic of breakfast boxes. We here at Ayers Rock resort completely area that the packaging is large and cumbersome. It has already been reviewed... More

Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
75 hotel reviews
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

OK , I get the distance, logistics etc, etc ! But , as a seasoned world traveller I can't reconcile the charges for what is a basic motel room ? No wonder tourist numbers are dropping off , it's just getting too expensive in my opinion. Having said that I can also say that we loved it anyway. Ticked off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Skeney57 Thank you for the Review of the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge. It is great to see that we fulfilled your requirements for your stay. Uluru and Kuta Tjuta (Olgas) I would agree are a definite for all Australians to see. Given the increasing business levels to the area which have been on a steady upwards trend for... More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're travelling to Ayres Rock, and don't plan on staying longer than a few days, this hotel will be fine. It's very basic, but I didn't intend in staying too long (just for the sunset and sunrise tours). Two days is plenty. The rooms are very dated but expected for a budget hotel. The rooms a clean and tidy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello LeeDRich There is quite a few options for accommodation available at Ayers Rock Resort and these range right through from camping to our five star hotel Sails in the Desert. For anyone that intends to stay for a extended period my preference for them would be Emu Walk Apartments as this gives plenty of space as well as kitchen... More

Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms basic but perfectly clean and comfortable. Wifi chargeable but works. Hotels generally aimed at budget travellers and this reflected in the facilities but everything worked and staff friendly and helpful. In practice you are too busy on tours etc to worry too much about the facilities as long as they are clean. You do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello billobe1 3 nights is about the right amount of time if you want to see all the attractions out here. The time it takes to get around sightseeing definitely leaves accommodation secondary as little time is spend in the room, however a clean and comfortable room is a must to recharge and be ready for the next day. Thank... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night in the lodge (4 person dorm) before leaving early the next day. Room rate is good value for a short stay and if all you need is a place to sleep and shower. Check in was quick - maybe because we only arrive after 7pm (after the sunset in Uluru). Emma the reception checked me in and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Adelyne K Thanks for your review of the Outback Pioneer Lodge. I can see that our accommodation suited your requirements during your visit to the Red Centre. Please accept my apologies with the cleaning issues you had with your room, I will pass your feedback onto housekeeping to address as we do have high standards in this service. The... More

Celbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel rooms are spacious but they need to be cleaned. The bedroom was full of cobwebs and there was a bad smell from the drain in the bathroom. Check in is very slow and definitely not ready before 3 0'clock. The transfer to and from the airport is very efficient. All the tours are really expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello maimurray Sorry to find out your room wasn't up to standard. I would have been happy for the staff to have assisted you to a room that was up to your expectation. This is normally what we do if there are any issues brought to the staff’s attention. Your comments on the cleanliness I will definitely pass on to... More

Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've spent 2 nights there. Although it was a 4 people dormitory,the beds were comfy.The room was only 9 square meters....If you'are looking for a nice and spacious room,you 'll have to go somewhere else. There were nice meats at the barbecue and the price was not too expensive. The breakfast is very expensive and if you want want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Patrick V The Cultural centre at Uluru is definitely worth a visit. Great way to learn about the history of the indigenous people to this area and also the native wild life that is in this part of Australia. Thank you for this review and I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us at the Outback Pioneer... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the Pioneer hotel as part of a Virgin tour package. On arrival we were offered a complimentary cold drink and advised on where would could find out more about tours available. It doesn't matter if you book your tours with the hotel or in the town square (ten min walk) they are with the same companies and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello StuartandLaura_2011 Thanks for the detailed review of the Outback Pioneer Hotel and lodge. Great to see you enjoyed the facilities and our BBQ Bar dining facility. The BBQ Bar is one of the most popular dining option with the resort complex with nearly every visitor enjoying the at least once during their stay. Our resident music Mark Lawson was... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock (Uluru), Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

407 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (373)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Yulara with
any amenities