We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Yulara hotels

Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock (Uluru), Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort to your Saves list
51%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Don N Washington, DC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    368
    389
    135
    76
See reviews for
170
528
117
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1080)
  • Mar-May only
    (274)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (287)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (298)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (221)
All months
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First, a little perspective: You're in the Outback. Your lodging options are limited and pricing reflects the simple principle of "supply and demand." With that said, the Pioneer Hotel and Lodge is not the fanciest lodging you will find. If you're considering the Outback Pioneer, you're obviously not looking for upmarket accommodations. With that said, we thought the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowral, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon arrival at the resort I was handed a note requesting me to call a family member relating to an urgent matter. I discovered that I had a compassionate situation to deal with. While the staff would not have been aware of the situation I feel they picked up on the stressful outcome. They were most attentive and caring which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Location is great and the room is what you’d expect for a hostel, it’s comfortable but basic. But no real issues there. We asked the guy on reception if we could have a 4 bed to ourselves as there was only two of us, he let us, which was good of him. Showers are filthy, clearly not cleaned for days... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked into a standard room for 3 nights with breakfast included. The room itself was clean, comfortable and situated not to far from reception and restaurants. The food at the bistro was reasonable and the breakfast was okay but as with most breakfast buffets only lukewarm. Booking in was rather slow and not until 3.00 PM but all other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Budget Room with Bathroom, it was clean, quiet and sufficient for our needs. There was coffee making facilities, a fridge, a TV and 2 bunks with sleeping for 4 people. Dinner was reasonably priced, we selected our steak and cooked it on their BBQ, the price also included a salad bar. There was a solo singer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Harry I Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay. Glad to read that the budget room suited your requirements whilst staying with us. Thanks so much for your review. Regards Mauri Van Den Bosch General Manager More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at the Outback Pioneer Lodge during a road trip to Uluru from Alice Springs. The accommodation was what could be expected, we had 4 bed dorm but it was just myself and a friend in there, it was very basic but I wasn't expecting anything else, the rooms were clean and tidy and the beds comfortable. The shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Jamie W Thanks for having chosen to stay with us at the Outback Pioneer Lodge. I'm glad to read that it has been a comfortable stay for you. Your comments on the dining option here are concerning as we generally have very good feedback from our guest regarding the BBQ Bar and the Kiosk, I'm sorry that your experience... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge in August with my friend. We booked the 4-person mixed dorm room, and the room itself was very basic. We were given towels and a blanket, but the room itself was very cold. There was an old-style heater in the room, but it was risky to leave it on overnight so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello SushR Thanks for sharing your experience of the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge. The winter period in the desert here can get very cold and therefore there is heating in all rooms. We have a maintenance team that work on site and the temperature control units are checked on a regular basis leaving them running over night is not... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a double room in July, and it was freezing overnight. Our split system aircon/heater was broken, so the staff brought in a small fan heater. It did the trick eventually however caused a lot of fuss for the staff as they didn't have any other heaters left (must have been busy at the time?) There are computers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Sophie B Normally if we find a room that has issues with the Air-conditioning system we would move our guests to another room straight away. July is a peak season month for us at Ayers Rock Resort and unfortunately there wasn't the option of room moving you on this occasion. Sorry for this inconvenience. I hope you were still... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay in Yulara. I particularly liked the location, a five minute walk across a sandy section of land to the other side of the resort. It was great to feel we were in a natural environment, planted with indigenous vegetation, minutes after stepping out of our room, and the hill in the middle for viewing the night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Catherine M Thanks very much for providing feedback of your stay at the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge. It is great to see that the facilities suited requirements whilst visiting the Red centre. Our company vision at is definitely 50% indigenous employment by 2018. There are currently 241 indigenous employees making up 30% of the total staff. These employees... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check-in was over in a trice - or would have been if our coach hadn't broken down en route. The reason things took a little longer was that the staff took over the problem and did what they could to fix the un-fixable; it being too late for our party to visit Kata Tjuta. Having found my room and walked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review

Hello Ian A You have covered your experience of your visit to Ayers Rock resort very well and with many details. Thank you for the time you have taken to do this for us. On the topic of breakfast boxes. We here at Ayers Rock resort completely area that the packaging is large and cumbersome. It has already been reviewed... More

Do you own or manage Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock (Uluru), Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

415 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (381)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort