We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Yulara hotels

Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock (Uluru), Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge to your Saves list
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
51%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Yulara
A recent review
Write a Review

929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    310
    340
    119
    73
See reviews for
143
454
100
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
61 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When you see these two words together, you would expect the facility to be basic and spartan. It would be inappropriate for me to review on facilities that I have yet attended. Suffice to say that the bar and restaurants are more akin to a mess hall. This place is most definitely catering for the high turnover budget tour groups.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked via a travel agent. Staff charming and helpful but accommodation a bit tired and dated. Pool refreshing after a long travel. We were there in March 2014 and the restaurant was closed for evening meals. Didn't give a lot of options for eating out as use of bbq area expensive. Breakfast reasonable value for 33 AD per person, go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The layout of this hotel is a bit like a holiday village, which I quite liked. The rooms are dated (breeze block walls painted over) but comfortable, clean and spacious. It really needs a bit of a makeover. I enjoyed the atmosphere as it is also a backpacker's place and there are lots of young people around. It has an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Hello YorkDragon Glad to read in your review that you had a good stay at the Outback Pioneer Hotel and lodge. As a resort group there are plans in place for hotel upgrades, but with any large complex this will be done over the span of sometime. This will be covered in stages with the individual hotels Regards Mauri Van... More

Mt Gambier
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had many meals at the Pioneer kitchen, all of the meals were beautifully done, and were throughly enjoyed, they did the best Pizza I have ever had! Great atmosphere, everything was clean, the staff very friendly, I would definately go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Hello stw70 Once again thank you for feedback regarding your experience here. Regards Mauri Van Den Bosch General Manager More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came here for a weekend trip to Uluru. Unfortunately the hotel is quite old and needs a total upgrade and renovation. The room smelled quite funky from the bathroom and the aircon was positioned in a way to blow directly onto the bed which was incredibly uncomfortable and we were either too hot or too cold to have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Hello BlondeBunny Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with the hotel. As a Resort group we do offer alternatives in accommodation levels and our staff are more than happy to assist in making sure our guest needs are meet during their stay. It is our goal... More

London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived after flight from Sydney. Everyone on flight would be staying at one of the three hotels in this area and have complimentary shuttle from the airport. Consequently everyone turning up at check in at the same time, the queue was long and hot. Not sure they can do anything about it, they have several people on desk but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Hello JanetRob We certainly have had many comments on the flies this year. I believe they have been at their worst for many years from what most of the locals are telling me. The flies have definitely reduced in numbers now as the weather is cooling off. From reading your review, I’m not sure whether you were made aware of... More

Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a standard room for two nights. The room was basic but decent. However, dining options near this hotel were few, basically just the BBQ restaurant (where you cook your own meal) and the Outback Pioneer Kitchen. A 3rd restaurant, the Bough House, was closed during our stay. We ended up driving over to the Town Square area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Carol325 Thanks for leaving feedback regarding your stay. I will most definitively follow up with the kitchen regarding your order from the Kiosk. As for the layout of the Ayers Rock resort area, there are definitely more facilities located at the town square, which is why a courtesy bus runs between these areas on a regular basis. As you... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my 5th visit to this hotel and it did not disappoint, the accommodation of is a good standard with large rooms which are clean and well furnished the bathrooms are spacious and well equipped. I ate at the BBQ and a wide selection of self cook meats were available, many of them native meats i.e., kangaroo, emu sausages... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Bernhardstauner Many thanks for you kind words regarding your visit to the Outback Pioneer Hotel. I'm glad to read you have enjoyed your visit here and stayed with us on numerous occasions. Look forward to being able to host you again here on your next trip. Regards Mauri Van Den Bosch General Manager More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Outback Pioneer at the end of February with my wife. We had a night in Alice Springs before 2 nights in this hotel. The Hilton we did not expect but we did get a comfortable, clean room. All facilities were clean and tidy. A free internet would have been nice but this is the Outback! A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Kelvbinns Thank you for your feedback regarding the hotel. We are in this hotel group set as the economical option for travellers to this area, and try our best to provide a relaxed comfortable atmosphere for our travellers. Regards Mauri Van Den Bosch General Manager More

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge

Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge Australia/Yulara
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock (Uluru), Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages )
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 ½ star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget cabins to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant with a buffet dinner. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.