We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Canyon Resort

Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kings Canyon Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I loved it here! After the transfer from the commerciality of the Ayers Rock Resort, this felt like a breath of fresh air. We had a budget lodge room, but if you can stand sharing the campsite bathrooms (we had no problems with that) then it is bargainous and really close to the main pool, convenience store, bar and restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saintstatto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in a deluxe spa room.The room was acceptable but certainly not deluxe!The staff at reception were very friendly but mixed in the bistro.We came to do the Kings Canyon Rim walk which was probably the highlight of our trip to the Red Centre but in hindsight we should have headed back to Alice after... More 

Helpful?
Thank MDC214
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay in a Deluxe Spa Room. I do hope you included the Kings Canyon Creek Walk, Kathleen Springs , the Resort Ridge Walk and our spectacular Sunset viewing platform into your stay as well at the Kings Canyon Rim Walk. They are all unique and beautiful locations within Watarrka National Park. Appreciate... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a spa room for 1 night only , the room was fine and have no complaints ,bar we did not like the pillows but that's just our opinion. Personally I didn't think much of the canyon myself and thought it was a waste of time but others told me how amazing they thought the experience was.

Helpful?
Thank John K
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear John K Thank you for your review of your stay in a Deluxe Spa Room at Kings Canyon Resort. Such a shame that you did not enjoy the Watarrka experience as much as others , we certainly feel blessed to be able to provide hospitality in this very unique part of Australia . Regards Michelle Ikin Rooms Division Manager... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Surprisingly well presented room for being in the middle of nowhere. We had a basic room but could not complain at all. Had everything we needed and very clean. Plenty to do if you want or so relaxing if you prefer that. A little disappointed by the retail store for local art items etc but the whole venue was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda L
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Kings Canyon Resort . We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found everything that you needed . Unfortunately local art supplies are sometimes not available during certain times of the year. I do hope you were able to view our unique display in Reception from local cultural tour Karrke . Karrke operates from... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were so friendly and attentive throughout the stay. Our room was newly refurbished and was cozy/clean--exactly what you want to come hom eto after a big day of hiking. Food was limited, however everything was tasty and didn't disappoint!.

Helpful?
Thank Sara W
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Kings Canyon Resort ! Our Desert Oaks Bistro operates for breakfast. lunch and dinner with a variety of food, and our Oasis General Store stocks a range of fresh and frozen items from 7am - 7pm, so I am surprised you found food options limited, but very glad that your food... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Large rooms with high ceilings and good beds. Air-conditioning takes a little while to kick in but good once it gets going. Nice large sized spa with good view of outback. Minor maintenance problems but didn't cause any difficulty. Dinner satisfactory but very warm in the restaurant....same for breakfast. Expect to eat a lot of flies... But that's the outback

Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at Kings Canyon Resort in a Deluxe Spa Room .Our apologies for any maintenance issues you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately the hot weather does bring more flies with it, but as you have stated , it is in deed the outback !.. Kind regards from the very beautiful Watarrka National Park.... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had a luxary room with a whirlpool under the stars, friendly staff and good dining, also early breakfast, so wonderful when planing to hike in the canyon. Good choice for family holiday round the year

Helpful?
Thank Margret F
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of Kings Canyon Resort .We are delighted you enjoyed your Deluxe Spa room and a good family holiday Regards Michelle Ikin Rooms Division Manager Kings Canyon Resort More 

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the Deluxe Spa room, which had a beautiful view, gorgeous spa, and beautifully decorated room. The Dingo Bar was a great place to have a drink. The food was a bit average in the dining room, and we were disappointed with what the retail store had to offer in the way of local art and keepsakes. Thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindy K
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay in a Deluxe Spa Room at Kings Canyon Resort . We are delighted you enjoyed your room and the Thirsty Dingo Bar . Sorry you found some other areas to be disappointing.We certainly appreciate the feedback and look to improve our standards at every opportunity . Regards Michelle Ikin Rooms Division Manager... More 

Cleveland, Oh
Level Contributor
915 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a large hotel with different kinds of accommodations. The place has a nice location and a swimming pool. The rooms are basic and could do with some renovation. The restaurant, especially the service, was good, considering the remote place. Rather expensive for what you get but it is the only place possibly within 100 miles.

Helpful?
Thank marcopolo111
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Kings Canyon Resort . Our prices reflect the services provided in a very remote area and we do acknowledge your comments and assure you we have an ongoing refurbishment program underway . Glad to hear our service was good and that you enjoyed your stay with us . Regards Michelle Ikin Rooms Division Manager... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We didn't stay in the 5 star resort accommodation but in the Buget Cabins. $135 Queen bed. The toilet block is separate. There is a Kitchen in between the Units if you want to cook for yourself. Cooking Utensels can be obtained from the General store (deposit) The Accommodation as good views out back and the Sunset viewing area in... More 

Helpful?
Thank TripmanMelbourne
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed review of your stay at Kings Canyon Resort . I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, our facilities and the very spectacular Watarrka National Park Kind Regards Michelle Ikin Rooms Division Manager Kings Canyon Resort More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

398 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (387)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (157)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Canyon
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#1 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Kings Canyon Resort

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay