We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alice in the Territory

3.5 of 5 46 Stephens Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Outback Alice Springs)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alice in the Territory
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alice in the Territory
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
29
47
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Needed a place last minute for a few nights and this was the cheapest I could find that wasn't a hostel. I found the grounds to be very clean and laid out well and staff at the desk were pleasant. Rooms were larger than expected but obviously would have preferred to pay less to sleep in a bunk bed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in the cleanliness and layout of our grounds as well as the spaciousness of our bunk rooms. Our staff do all they can to make our guest’s stay with us as comfortable as possible. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As soon as we stepped out of the shuttle bus we were hit with a strong odour of sewers. We arrived around mid-day but were not allowed access to the room until after 2:00 pm. Our luggage was locked away and we decided to take the local bus into town from the bus stop outside the motel.. Although the bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We did address your concerns several times with you. As we advertise, we have recently purchased the motel from receivership and are in the process of renovating. To answer you points: Yes there was a smell when you arrived - the grease pit was being pumped out (the first time since 2010!) and unfortunately we... More 

Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I booked the hotel through booking.com, but it seems that after having booked it, it either changed management or they just stopped working with booking.com. So I had to delete my actual booking and book again directly with them. Originally I booked the room with breakfast, but it seems like the new management was renovating the kitchen, and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Since receiving your review we have looked into the issues that you have raised. We emailed you upon receiving the booking from Booking.com advising that no breakfast would be available and offering you the option of cancelling the booking. You emailed back advising you still wanted the booking and we advised a discount of $10.00 due to no breakfast. The... More 

Grafton, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stayed overnight here before flying out the next day and found the place to be a bit tired. It was clearly under new management and the new managers were putting in a great effort to drag the property into the current century. It is basically a great place but has been let slip. The gardens need a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, you have got it spot on with the property being let slip! We have purchased the motel from Receivers and currently have a team of maintenance people on site. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when it is all completed. More 

Starcross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Stayed here when Todd river was in full flood yes the room was a bit wet by the window but the lady on the front disk but lots of towls on the floor which helped the bed and air conditioning were very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The floods did catch everyone by surprise! More 

Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We were there Mid December ahead of a tour from Alice to Adelaide. The personell was ok, but everything was a little bit used. In our opinion the hotel was just re-opened and the personell was not yet trained enough. The location is remote, you want to have a car. the pool and the garden have looked unmaintained for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have recently taken on the motel from the receivers of the previous owner and we are currently refurbishing, with the gardens being part of that. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean and cool room. Nice staff but bit far away from centre. Not a problem if you're driving. Close to the casino if you're in mood for few drinks. Comfortable bed. Good place to stay, specially if you were camping for a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Went out for dinner to this restaurant for a dear friends birthday...Oh Dear! .... paid $98 for an entree and main each for hubby and I ... The entree was just OK... we had a both main of barramundi... tough as old boots with a few withered burnt prawns on top.... dry as the Sahara... I was so hungry and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the bad food and service you recently received at Alice in the Territory. As of 17 December 2014 the motel has new owners. We are working hard to bring the motel back to the standard that it used to enjoy. More 

Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights while visiting the Macdonnell Ranges, en route to Uluru and beyond. It fit the bill perfectly. The property is quiet, and just far enough away from the touristy mall area. The room was fine, and has a fridge and tea and coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Langley, BC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

with the Masters Games in town we were lucky to find a room at all. This is very dated, but the pool, restaurant and staff were great. We walked back from town but it is a couple kms the Casino is across the street so easy to grab a beer or food as the restaurant at the hotel is closed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alice in the Territory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice in the Territory

Address: 46 Stephens Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Outback Alice Springs)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice in the Territory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Alice in the Territory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice In The Territory Hotel Alice Springs
Comfort Inn Alice Springs
Alice Springs Comfort Inn

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay