We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alice in the Territory

46 Stephens Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Outback Alice Springs)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alice in the Territory
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alice in the Territory
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
30
48
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time we stopped there was a good experience. Warm welcome from the yound lady working there (working holiday visa kind), good room, nice pool. The hotel is under renovation though, which is a good idea as it needs it. Bad news, in the morning (which was a sat or a sunday I forgot), the workers started to make noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not my favorite place I have stayed. Grounds are nice and view from my room was great. I stayed on 2 occasions (before and after a G-Adventures tour). I stayed in the 4-bed shared rooms. Bottom bunks a bit more comfy. Towels not always in room and had to walk to reception to get. Pool was nice. Very quiet location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our apologies for the towels not being in your room. As part of the refurbishment we are also revisiting staff training. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope during the rest of your backpacker trip around Australia you get to explore our beautiful country. More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

Needed a place last minute for a few nights and this was the cheapest I could find that wasn't a hostel. I found the grounds to be very clean and laid out well and staff at the desk were pleasant. Rooms were larger than expected but obviously would have preferred to pay less to sleep in a bunk bed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in the cleanliness and layout of our grounds as well as the spaciousness of our bunk rooms. Our staff do all they can to make our guest’s stay with us as comfortable as possible. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

As soon as we stepped out of the shuttle bus we were hit with a strong odour of sewers. We arrived around mid-day but were not allowed access to the room until after 2:00 pm. Our luggage was locked away and we decided to take the local bus into town from the bus stop outside the motel.. Although the bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We did address your concerns several times with you. As we advertise, we have recently purchased the motel from receivership and are in the process of renovating. To answer you points: Yes there was a smell when you arrived - the grease pit was being pumped out (the first time since 2010!) and unfortunately we... More 

Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I booked the hotel through booking.com, but it seems that after having booked it, it either changed management or they just stopped working with booking.com. So I had to delete my actual booking and book again directly with them. Originally I booked the room with breakfast, but it seems like the new management was renovating the kitchen, and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Since receiving your review we have looked into the issues that you have raised. We emailed you upon receiving the booking from Booking.com advising that no breakfast would be available and offering you the option of cancelling the booking. You emailed back advising you still wanted the booking and we advised a discount of $10.00 due to no breakfast. The... More 

Grafton, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stayed overnight here before flying out the next day and found the place to be a bit tired. It was clearly under new management and the new managers were putting in a great effort to drag the property into the current century. It is basically a great place but has been let slip. The gardens need a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, you have got it spot on with the property being let slip! We have purchased the motel from Receivers and currently have a team of maintenance people on site. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when it is all completed. More 

Starcross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Stayed here when Todd river was in full flood yes the room was a bit wet by the window but the lady on the front disk but lots of towls on the floor which helped the bed and air conditioning were very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The floods did catch everyone by surprise! More 

Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We were there Mid December ahead of a tour from Alice to Adelaide. The personell was ok, but everything was a little bit used. In our opinion the hotel was just re-opened and the personell was not yet trained enough. The location is remote, you want to have a car. the pool and the garden have looked unmaintained for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have recently taken on the motel from the receivers of the previous owner and we are currently refurbishing, with the gardens being part of that. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean and cool room. Nice staff but bit far away from centre. Not a problem if you're driving. Close to the casino if you're in mood for few drinks. Comfortable bed. Good place to stay, specially if you were camping for a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Went out for dinner to this restaurant for a dear friends birthday...Oh Dear! .... paid $98 for an entree and main each for hubby and I ... The entree was just OK... we had a both main of barramundi... tough as old boots with a few withered burnt prawns on top.... dry as the Sahara... I was so hungry and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the bad food and service you recently received at Alice in the Territory. As of 17 December 2014 the motel has new owners. We are working hard to bring the motel back to the standard that it used to enjoy. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question