We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alice in the Territory

46 Stephens Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Outback Alice Springs)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alice in the Territory
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alice in the Territory
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    58
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
31
49
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Jabiru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have had the pleasure of staying here a few times. It gets better each time! Girl on check in was very pleasant, young British (I hope!) girl, had a wedding to deal with and was still upbeat and cheerful. Room was nice and bed comfy as usual but the aircon was the only issue being noisy, although quieter than all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to our guests returning time and time again. There is a new menu in the restaurant. We have kept the old favourites and our Chef has added some new items. Look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This hotel is out of town but that was not a problem for us-we drove & there is plenty of parking. The rooms are still being worked on however we were not disturbed by the workmen. Nice clean rooms with everything you need,tea & coffee,iron,etc- bathroom is dated but as we were only there for 2 nights, it was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our pool is a favourite spot for all guests - time to unwind after a busy day sightseeing. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was considering the very low nightly rate. It was a Hotwire special rate. The room was very large and comfortable. Clean and recently updated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only drawback to the stay was that the distance from the hotel to the center of Alice Springs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our team get many commendations for their friendly service. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Australia More 

Shanghai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

First time we stopped there was a good experience. Warm welcome from the yound lady working there (working holiday visa kind), good room, nice pool. The hotel is under renovation though, which is a good idea as it needs it. Bad news, in the morning (which was a sat or a sunday I forgot), the workers started to make noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do recall several conversations with you, unfortunately some of the points you raised in the review where not raised at the time when we could have assisted. More 

Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Not my favorite place I have stayed. Grounds are nice and view from my room was great. I stayed on 2 occasions (before and after a G-Adventures tour). I stayed in the 4-bed shared rooms. Bottom bunks a bit more comfy. Towels not always in room and had to walk to reception to get. Pool was nice. Very quiet location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our apologies for the towels not being in your room. As part of the refurbishment we are also revisiting staff training. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope during the rest of your backpacker trip around Australia you get to explore our beautiful country. More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

Needed a place last minute for a few nights and this was the cheapest I could find that wasn't a hostel. I found the grounds to be very clean and laid out well and staff at the desk were pleasant. Rooms were larger than expected but obviously would have preferred to pay less to sleep in a bunk bed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in the cleanliness and layout of our grounds as well as the spaciousness of our bunk rooms. Our staff do all they can to make our guest’s stay with us as comfortable as possible. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

As soon as we stepped out of the shuttle bus we were hit with a strong odour of sewers. We arrived around mid-day but were not allowed access to the room until after 2:00 pm. Our luggage was locked away and we decided to take the local bus into town from the bus stop outside the motel.. Although the bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We did address your concerns several times with you. As we advertise, we have recently purchased the motel from receivership and are in the process of renovating. To answer you points: Yes there was a smell when you arrived - the grease pit was being pumped out (the first time since 2010!) and unfortunately we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Alice Springs hotels

Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I booked the hotel through booking.com, but it seems that after having booked it, it either changed management or they just stopped working with booking.com. So I had to delete my actual booking and book again directly with them. Originally I booked the room with breakfast, but it seems like the new management was renovating the kitchen, and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Since receiving your review we have looked into the issues that you have raised. We emailed you upon receiving the booking from Booking.com advising that no breakfast would be available and offering you the option of cancelling the booking. You emailed back advising you still wanted the booking and we advised a discount of $10.00 due to no breakfast. The... More 

Grafton, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stayed overnight here before flying out the next day and found the place to be a bit tired. It was clearly under new management and the new managers were putting in a great effort to drag the property into the current century. It is basically a great place but has been let slip. The gardens need a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, you have got it spot on with the property being let slip! We have purchased the motel from Receivers and currently have a team of maintenance people on site. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when it is all completed. More 

Starcross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Stayed here when Todd river was in full flood yes the room was a bit wet by the window but the lady on the front disk but lots of towls on the floor which helped the bed and air conditioning were very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The floods did catch everyone by surprise! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay