We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diplomat Alice Springs

20 Gregory Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diplomat Alice Springs
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    40
    22
    11
See reviews for
13
51
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had one night booked via the tour company during our stay in Alice. It was a horrible experience and I am glad that it is only for 1 night. Stayed at the other side of the hotel next to the pool, where we believe the budget rooms are located. Our room faces a car park at the back. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

sal725, Thank you for your feedback. Your room was booked as part of a tour package. With this package you are able to select which type of accommodation you would prefer, ie: Superior; Standard; Economy or Budget. Our Budget rooms are not part of our Four Star Motel Rating and I do apologise if this was not made clear to... More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was travelling for business and have stayed a few times, the motel is in a great spot near shops. Clean but dated, bed was fairly comfortable. Would have loved a microwave in the room. Great service..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Ivek2015, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our Chef's are always happy to assist with any items that need reheating, should you need to in the future - part of our great service! Look forward to welcoming you back again Ivek2015. Kind Regards, Anjelka Bazdaric More 

yulara, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

have stayed here many times and you can see the changes are going on the superior rooms have had a make over new bathrooms and fixers. going to miss they old pink bathroom. staff are great and very helpful and they food is great as well and being so close to everything helps as well. if you want to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Alexander G, Thank you for reviewing our property. I am so glad that you received such warm and welcoming customer service during your stay/s. It's nice to see that you have enjoyed the fare in our Tavern and Restaurant, I have passed your comments onto the rest of the team who are as equally delighted as I am. Alexander G,... More 

Bondi, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Place really needs some work, especially the "budget block"... Very average. Basic pool but great to have a swim on a hot day (every day!) The best part were the lovely staff at the front desk.. There are better value places in the area...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Dale T, Thank you for your review. It sounds like you stayed with us during the warmer months, you will be happy to know that our budget rooms have been repainted and the linen has been upgraded since then. I am happy you enjoyed the customer service and made good use of our pool. Hope to see you back again.... More 

Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Given the terrible reviews I've seen about this establishment, I was actually quite hesitant to book but, I required a central hotel in town, close to everything. Surprisingly, this place did not disappoint ... Check in was easy, the room was a little dated but very comfortable, and the shower was bloody awesome! I will be staying here again on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

John V, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the customer service you received whilst you were here. If you liked the shower in the existing superior rooms, why not try our newly renovated superior rooms next time? Brand new bathroom, gleaming bright tiles, chrome finishes and... More 

Longreach, Australia, South Pacific
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We did only book a standard room so I suppose that it was ok just not what I'm used to in qld for the price I am happy not to get my room serviced everyday but if they are going to do it a little bit better job would be appreciated such as checking that the soap canister is full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

jasmond85, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. Sorry to hear your soap was not refilled, however I am sure that once you notified our staff, they would have rectified this immediately. You are correct about the towels, they should not be changed if you leave them on the door and I have... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

We only had one night at the Diplomat Hotel but from that you get a feel what it is like. The management and staff could not be more helpful, the rooms are clean, good size and the bathrooms have been renovated and are great. WiFi is provided, there is a nice pool, Stumps Bar appears to be the place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

bthommo1948, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service we provided. We all look forward to welcoming you back, I hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable. Yours sincerely, Anjelka Bazdaric More 

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile

Location is only a few minutes walk from Todd Street Mall and very close to work needs. There are a few good eating places nearby and the in house option is OK. The budget price gives budget outcomes and you get what you would expect. Clean room, passable air-con, noise and a pool (which is pretty good).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

CraigH0901, Thank you for taking the time to review The Diplomat. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Anjelka Bazdaric More 

Far North SA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Room stank like cigarette smoke, fittings are old and worn-out. Noisy fighting in the street kept me awake all night and the carpet was filthy. Room service meals are nice though and service was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review gillo79, We are glad you enjoyed the service and room service meals during your stay. If you could kindly contact us to advise which room you stayed in, we can follow up the issues you have noted. Yours, Anjelka Bazdaric 08 8952 8977 More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We looked at the photos on the internet which seemed to indicate a double and single bed, saw it was four star and booked a budget room. Arrived to find ourselves booked into a pokey room with a double bed that squeaked. The passage outside the room did not smell pleasant and the room was much the same. Thankfully it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Gemma6743, Thank you for you review. The budget style accommodation is advertised online, as single or double only. These rooms are very basic and are advertised and priced as such. All of guests are welcome to upgrade to a Standard Room for as little as $15. Standard rooms are much more spacious and most of them do feature a single... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities