We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diplomat Alice Springs

20 Gregory Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Diplomat Alice Springs
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff were amazing. Everyone was so warm and friendly. In their restaurant they were so good, I felt at home right away. They had good advice about the area and made everything so good.The food was great. The reception were extremely helpful. Love ya all xx

Helpful?
Thank newyork64
Munster, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

nice hotel which is conveniently and centrally located, rooms offer sufficient space, nice bath rooms with space, the pool area is also very nice and they even have a barbeque to use for guests the only disadvantage was the poor wifi which often lasted very long when trying to see German pages like spiegel online.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 487heikot
Diplomat_GM, Front Office Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review 487heikot, We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and the central location that The Diplomat provides. Thank you for your feedback about our wi-fi, we will follow that up with our providers. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, Roberta Rusconi More 

Wyndham Vale
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic amenities and room for the price. Beautiful pool area. Clean. Front desk staff are lovely!! Friendly and professional. Food for room service was a big let down. Not great and way over priced for what came out.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janewK4529OP
Diplomat_GM, Front Office Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Dear janewK4529OP, thank you for taking the time to review the Diplomat, I am glad you enjoyed our service and our pool area! I noted your comment about your dining experience and I will pass it on to our F&B Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back some day soon. Kind Regards, Roberta Rusconi More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location. Twin room with en suite was ideal. Very clean. Wifi good. Nice big kitchen/diner/lounge. Staff nice. Parking free 5pm-9am on the street or they had a few spaces behind building, free all day!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarm H
Diplomat_GM, Front Office Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Thank you very much Sarm H for sharing your experience with us! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, our service and amenities. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Roberta Rusconi More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights here - before and after our 4 day Red Centre Safari tour. The hotel is lovely. Right in the centre of town - walking distance to EVERYTHING. The staff are extremely kind and accommodating. They kept our bags during our 4 day tour - no problem. The room was clean - we checked in early with no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
Diplomat_GM, Front Office Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Sharon C, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our central location! We all look forward to welcoming you back some day soon. Kind Regards, Roberta Rusconi More 

Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was pretty clean- which was alright as we were only there for an overnight stay. Loved the restaurant being just next door so we didn't have to go drive around to find something to eat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank belindac704
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Belindac704, Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back again some day soon. Kind Regards, Anjelka Bazdaric More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The reception staff were very friendly and more than heplful excellent place to stay. Will definitely stay here again. A big thanks to roberta for making my stay very pleasant she was very helpful in assisting me with any question i had in organizing my stay in Alice springs.

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Diplomat and for commending Roberta on her helpful service. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Anjelka Bazdaric More 

Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked in and went to room. Aircon didn't work and toilet flooding over bathroom floor. Went to reception to be told that maintenance come once a month so she will write it in the note book. I had to argue to be offered a replacement room only to find that aircon didn't work either. On going back to reception I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea M
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Chelsea M, I am sorry to read that you were not happy with your stay or our customer service. I believe that there may have been some confusion. Our maintenance report confirms that your air conditioner had been working in the Superior room you were upgraded to (after you advised us that you were not happy with the toilet leaking... More 

Travelers are raving about these Alice Springs hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

But that's about it. Our room was very tired, close to reception and dated. It smelt old and damp so wasn't so plesent. We only stayed the 1 night so really just needed to sleep which it accommodates. Free WiFi is the bonus. There is a swimming pool and that looked lovely and clean. Nothing to write home about but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wellsbytwo
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Wellsbytwo, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are in the process of renovating all of most of our rooms, starting with the bathrooms. If you do choose to stay with us again why don't you have a look at our renovated rooms? They feature lovely Indigenous Artworks, refurbished bathrooms and are located on both levels of... More 

San Francisco
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

they don't lock up at night. i felt really unsafe. all they do is throw a chain around the gate, but never lock it up. i stayed there 2 nights and the stuff never came to clean my room. the place is outdated and grungy. stay elsewhere.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kukareku374
Diplomat_GM, Front Office Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Diplomat Motel, kukareku374, I am sorry to hear your stay was unpleasant. Please kindly be informed that for all our guests safety we lock our side gate at 6pm every day, our main gate is always under control as the property is manned also during night time, in order to assist... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.8 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 12 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#5 of 12 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lasseters Hotel
Lasseters Hotel
#3 of 12 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#9 of 12 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#7 of 12 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay