We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diplomat Alice Springs

4.0 of 5 20 Gregory Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diplomat Alice Springs
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    37
    20
    10
See reviews for
13
46
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We looked at the photos on the internet which seemed to indicate a double and single bed, saw it was four star and booked a budget room. Arrived to find ourselves booked into a pokey room with a double bed that squeaked. The passage outside the room did not smell pleasant and the room was much the same. Thankfully it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Gemma6743, Thank you for you review. The budget style accommodation is advertised online, as single or double only. These rooms are very basic and are advertised and priced as such. All of guests are welcome to upgrade to a Standard Room for as little as $15. Standard rooms are much more spacious and most of them do feature a single... More 

Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 days and overall it was a good experience. The place is very central and everything is on your doorstep. Staff is friendly and helpful. Room was clean and tidy. Can recommend it for a stay in Alice Springs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Gary W, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. See you next time, Anjelka Bazdaric More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There wasn't much choice of places to stay in Alice Springs, so we picked the Diplomat as the best of a bad bunch. The woman who 'greeted' us at reception when we arrived was not welcoming at all - she acted as if we were being a nuisance to her by simply checking in. We were told nothing about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Juliet T, I am disappointed to read that the service you received was below average. I thank you for bringing this to my attention. Thank you for staying with us nonetheless, I sincerely hope that the remainder of your trip was positively enjoyable and memorable. Anjelka Bazdaric More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Place looked nice but think we got the worlds worst room! It was near the pool which was good but had an awful stench, weakest aircon we've ever experienced and had a view of an alleyway which was not good. The pool was lovely but the place didn't seem too busy and it doesn't seem fair to put guests in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Bek1202, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to submit a review on our property. Our budget rooms are advertised as basic style accommodation for travelers on a tight budget, or those who are in for a quick one night stay. The price of the budget rooms are reflective of this. Our reception is manned 24/7, I... More 

Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
99 hotel reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

On our last night in Alice after 3 years, we decided to stay where we started in Alice. The lady at reception was a bit gruff but seemed like the type you wouldn't want to pick a fight with. Not particularly welcoming. We opted for a spa room. The spa looked like it was something out of the 80s and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

conatus, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your welcome to our property was not up to standard and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. Our spas are indeed from the 80's! We have just commenced bathroom refurbishments on the ground floor. Unfortunately we cannot refurbish all of the rooms at once, however we are... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 via mobile

Walked into the bathroom, small hairs on and around the sink, also in the corner of the shower. Put my towel on the rack it fell out of the wall. The shower head had thick green crusty mould on it also the Cold tap fell off while I was showering. The aircon that was in the wall had huge gaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

F3lsticks, Our reception area in manned 24 hours / 7 days per week and our staff are committed to ensuring you comfort and satisfaction with your room amenities. It is a shame to read that you will not be returning to The Diplomat and I apologise for the issues you encountered during your recent stay. I hope that you enjoyed... More 

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We normally stay at other properties in Alice Springs but were here to do Xmas shopping so this hotel was perfect as it's in the centre of town. The hotel presents well externally. We had booked a family room for three nights. Were originally placed in room 332 but the air conditioner seemed extremely weak so I requested a move... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Ozcookie1, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to read that our staff were quick to rectify your room issue. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Diplomat. Have a safe and Merry Christmas. Kind Regards, Anjelka Bazdaric More 

Pecs, Hungría
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

In AS every hotel has similar price. We tried others, but this was the best. They stored our luggage for free while we were on a the tour for 3 days. They offer nice dinner on good price. Excellent location!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

28kuna, We are happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Diplomat. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and have a very Merry Christmas! Kind Regards, Anjelka Bazdaric More 

Zürich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

A very simple Motel. A little bit with a Bad smell. So just for One night it is ok, but not a night longer. The location is good so far, Right in the middle of town. The staff is very friendly. The restaurants are nothing special.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

ReisendeU, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review our property. We hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable and that you have a Merry Christmas. Kind Regards, Anjelka Bazdaric More 

St. Helens, Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

First impression was good - fantastic location, grounds and appearance was good, pool and it's surroundings fenced off and looked a bit small. Got to the room and found door lock needed attention. This was a spa room but on inspection found it was a single length bath in the corner of the room with shower over the bath. A... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this review

Johnnsuzy, Firstly I would like to thank you for reviewing our property. Your comments regarding the description of the spa have been noted - we will be renovating these bathrooms in the new year. We are committed to providing our customers with the most comfortable amenities we can, this also extends to our service. Our staff are trained to be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Diplomat Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Alice Springs

Address: 20 Gregory Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Diplomat Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
All Seasons Alice Springs
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay