We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

790 on George

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
790 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
790 on George
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    53
    37
    13
    8
See reviews for
5
26
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you dont care where you lay your head for the night (i guess you don't read reviews) this hostel would be fine. If you do try and find a good place to stay this hostel probably wouldn't fit the bill. Its basic. Its boring. Its old. Its not the cleanest. Me and my partner and his sister stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
prasanna790, Guest Relations Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate all feedback so we are able to better our hostel. We used to go into all rooms in the mornings to replace the bins and vacuum the carpet, we found we were getting a lot of feedback from guests asking us not to go in there as it was a private room... More 

Genova, Liguria, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was absolutely suprised by this hostel. The 3 main positive things are position (absolutely central), prices and staff: they have been so kind and helpful, i had to reach Sydney airport and they also checked if i could go on foot! Always smiling and willing to help you. The hostel is also pretty clean, has a big common kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
prasanna790, Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Valeria, you are too kind! :) Thank you very much for all your positive feedback. We all still can't believe you actually walked to the aiport! At least we know its possible now. Make sure you let us know when you are coming back to the hostel so we can organise something for you!! More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife & I lodged into this hostel at night, greeted by 2 staff at the entrance. The check-in process was smooth & steady, had a female staff told us all the great stuff that we should do in the CBD. There's a paid locker installed inside the kitchen, every door can be unlocked with a single encrypted keycard, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
prasanna790, General Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hi there! Its seems like there has been some miscommunication between the staff and yourselves and I apologise for this. Usually the process is to vacate the room by 11 but generally if you sleep in a bit ( I do all the time) reception won't have an issue but they usually won't tell you to return the cards until... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

I stayed here as the trains were not working to my area 40mins from sydney city and I was heading out for friends party and had to head to work in the city the next day . Amazing location for tourists ! Just near central station where you can connect to all the trains and buses for sydney . It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
prasanna790, Guest Relations Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca, Thank you for your kind words. Customer service is number one on our priority list and its great to see our staff striving towards that! Hope you pop in again soon! More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I stayed here for a month in May 2015 in a four share room. Location wise it is very central. Located beside central station with paddys markets and darling harbour a few minutes walk away. supermarket within 10 - 15 min walk. Hostel itself is basic but it does the job. Some noise at night (try not to get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
prasanna790, Guest Relations Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hi Orla, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. Im so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were nice, creating a unique experience through our staff is something that we strive towards. In regards to the renovations, we hear you! We are currently painting the entire hostel. Every room, even the outside too... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We booked a 4-bed dormitory via Hostelworld and was given a booking confirmation slip which stated the amount to be paid on arrival. However, we failed to verify the amount when checking in, and paid a higher amount that was quoted by the counter staff. Tried to clarify with the counter staff on duty the next morning, but he simply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
prasanna790, Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hi there Jamie, I'm really sorry to hear that this has happened. We take great pride in our customer service here at 790 on George and I would love to get some more information off you. If you have been overcharged there would be no doubt a refund for the extra amount would be issued right away! If you're able... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I only stayed here for 2 nights but not the best place. The price is ok but not the cheapest around, and staff in general is not friendly or helpfull at all. They barely tell you about the place so you have to figure out how things work, and they dont even tell u where the kitchen at because it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

I was just after a warm bed for myself and two others. Unfortunately the windows were shut with no way to open them, the air conditioning wouldn't stay on more than two seconds and the room was hot and stifling with no air flow. The beds were fine, the pillows lumpy, and there were no curtains to keep out the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

In total I probably stayed in this hostel for 2 or 3 months and had a great time! they do have special deals for long terms guests. I only stayed in female dorms, both 4 and 6 share were totally okay. There were several others who stayed long term, so it's kind of like having room mates and I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

I would recommend to check into another hostel and not waste your time and $$ at this hostel. As a single woman I was placed next to a shared room of men. Was not a nice experience as they were noisy, loud and had no consideration of others staying there. I couldn't believe the duty managers reaction when I complained.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Central Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#16 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#9 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Railway Square YHA
Railway Square YHA
#15 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sydney Central YHA
Sydney Central YHA
#19 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.4 mi away
World Square Hostel
World Square Hostel
#51 of 121 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay