We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 133 Sydney accommodations

790 on George

790 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Mid-Week Special!
Save Saved
You added 790 on George to your Saves list
790 on George
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
64%
Ranked #33 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Leeeanb
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
3
21
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here a couple of times and always enjoyed the cleanness, friendly & helpfull staff, the great location (close to central station, George st, shopping etc.) and the price. It's a pretty good value for money regarding Sydney-hostel-standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
790Management, General Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Thanks! Great to have our return guests coming back - hope to see you here again then! More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is very much a "get what you pay for" hostel. I paid $30 and got a bed for the night and somewhere to leave my bag when I went to a show on the other side of the city. There are good things about this place - aside from being cheap, the location is great, check in is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
790Management, General Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hi Airolgalaviv, Thanks for posting your review here - I appreciate you listing some of the issues you had and apologise if you did not get the best sleep. We do pride ourselves on our customer service so it concerns me that some of the staff you dealt with were not as welcoming as they should be. We also have... More

Brendola, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good place for backpackers. Near the railway station and just in front of one of the biggest streets of the city. Clean and quiet. Wi-fi is not great but good. the staff is always present to solve problems. Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

790 on George has everything you would want from a hostel really. It's cheap, it's in a really good location, very close I the main train station and Darling Harbour and the rooms are nice and clean. The only downside is the shared bathrooms are a bit grubby and it can be quite noisy, but it is a hostel so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duncan H, General Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hey Matthew, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - I'm glad you enjoyed the experience and sorry if you found some of the bathrooms not up to standard. Our bathrooms are cleaned daily and each bathroom gets a thorough detailing once a week but its always possible to overlook something - if you have the time... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a week after an awful stay at Westend Backpackers down the road. We arrived early for check-in but the super helpful staff allowed us to put our bags into a locked cupboard until the room was ready. The rooms are basic but very clean with views over George street which was a bonus. Our first few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duncan H, General Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hey guys, thanks for the great review - we're sorry you had that one awful night but glad you didn't hold it against us! Whenever possible, any disruptive guest is warned and/or asked to leave and we'd much rather deal with the issue immediately, so thank you for making us aware at the time. Take care and enjoy the rest... More

Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the great advantage of this hostel is, its convenient location, and compared to the location which is close to the sydney central railway station, the rate for a night for a private room, is total bargain. It was just easy as pie to locate this hotel, just exit to pitt street from sydney railway station, and you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can recommend 790 on George ( backpackers ) , friendly staff , the place is clean. It's possible to get a private room also. Good value for the money since Sydney is an expensive city to visit. I stayed there twice on my visit in Australia. When I go back I will stay there again. Very good central location.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My friends and I were joining a conference so we had to stay one night in Sydney. I wasn't aware that this hostel is that bad. I have stayed in several hostel and backpackers before, but this is really the worst. 1. noise there is a bar right next and my bed was just right across it. I guess if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here almost a week with some friends. The staff at reception was kind and we could check in early in the morning, which was great! The hostel itself is pretty basic. Our room was clean, and so was the bathroom. The room was quite chilly even though we had a heater. The kitchen is in the basement, it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Late check in, was shoen to a 6 bed dorm, long termers were there, hardly anyroom! not the owners fault. Made use of the lockers in the room. The staff were great, helpful and nice to talk to, kitchen was small but dint mind as I was flying out in 3 days so didnt have much food. Did get good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage 790 on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to 790 on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 790 on George

Address: 790 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your 790 on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
790 On George Hotel Sydney

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sydney with
any amenities