We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

790 on George

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
790 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
790 on George
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #41 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Rebecca M
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    52
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
5
26
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here as the trains were not working to my area 40mins from sydney city and I was heading out for friends party and had to head to work in the city the next day . Amazing location for tourists ! Just near central station where you can connect to all the trains and buses for sydney . It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
prasanna790, Guest Relations Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca, Thank you for your kind words. Customer service is number one on our priority list and its great to see our staff striving towards that! Hope you pop in again soon! More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I stayed here for a month in May 2015 in a four share room. Location wise it is very central. Located beside central station with paddys markets and darling harbour a few minutes walk away. supermarket within 10 - 15 min walk. Hostel itself is basic but it does the job. Some noise at night (try not to get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
prasanna790, Guest Relations Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hi Orla, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. Im so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were nice, creating a unique experience through our staff is something that we strive towards. In regards to the renovations, we hear you! We are currently painting the entire hostel. Every room, even the outside too... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We booked a 4-bed dormitory via Hostelworld and was given a booking confirmation slip which stated the amount to be paid on arrival. However, we failed to verify the amount when checking in, and paid a higher amount that was quoted by the counter staff. Tried to clarify with the counter staff on duty the next morning, but he simply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
prasanna790, Manager at 790 on George, responded to this review

Hi there Jamie, I'm really sorry to hear that this has happened. We take great pride in our customer service here at 790 on George and I would love to get some more information off you. If you have been overcharged there would be no doubt a refund for the extra amount would be issued right away! If you're able... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I only stayed here for 2 nights but not the best place. The price is ok but not the cheapest around, and staff in general is not friendly or helpfull at all. They barely tell you about the place so you have to figure out how things work, and they dont even tell u where the kitchen at because it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

I was just after a warm bed for myself and two others. Unfortunately the windows were shut with no way to open them, the air conditioning wouldn't stay on more than two seconds and the room was hot and stifling with no air flow. The beds were fine, the pillows lumpy, and there were no curtains to keep out the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

In total I probably stayed in this hostel for 2 or 3 months and had a great time! they do have special deals for long terms guests. I only stayed in female dorms, both 4 and 6 share were totally okay. There were several others who stayed long term, so it's kind of like having room mates and I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

I would recommend to check into another hostel and not waste your time and $$ at this hostel. As a single woman I was placed next to a shared room of men. Was not a nice experience as they were noisy, loud and had no consideration of others staying there. I couldn't believe the duty managers reaction when I complained.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I just stayed in this place from 7th till 11th April 2015 with a female friend within a shared 4 bed room....found the place is very closed to the Sydney central train station, only 3-5 minutes by walking. Along the George street, we could find QVB and Circular Quay. This place also closed to Paddys market and Pitt street. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Real place for young men and girls. I was staying here twice at 6-person mixed dorm room and was hell-like satisfied. The bad is that wifi is not free, breakfast is paid too, location is not close to townhall station and there are no any Woolworth/coles around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We usually check reviews before booking any accommodation. After staying for a few days we couldn't believe that this hostel ranked number 2 in Sydney. The rooms, shower units and corridors are in desperate need of repairs, but the worst thing was the communal kitchen in the basement which wasn't inviting to cook at all and simply smelled horrific once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Central Accommodation
Casa Central Accommodation
#18 of 120 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#10 of 120 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#14 of 120 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Railway Square YHA
Railway Square YHA
#15 of 120 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
World Square Hostel
World Square Hostel
#54 of 120 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sydney Central YHA
Sydney Central YHA
#20 of 120 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay