We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chili Blue Backpackers

144 Victoria Street | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Chili Blue Backpackers
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    8
    10
    49
See reviews for
Families
0
17
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Paris, France
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

How awful! This is probably the worst hostel I've stayed in so far. We were in a totally creepy room with 3 beds, extremely dark (the only view was a wall and our neighbours room). Several electrical outlets were connected to each other, which was not reassuring. No receptionist during the night, and nobody to call if necessary! Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermanus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A backpackers is there for affordable accommodation without frills. Chiliblue does exactly that. However maintenance of the building needs urgent atattention. The wooden window frame in our room was falling apart and the mosquito wiring had a big hole.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The atmosphere is friendly, staff helpful, and even if it's no so close to Sydney main attractions, the walk is easy (through the botanic gardens). Bedrooms are a bit small, not overly clean, and there are not enough bathrooms/showers/sinks

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Don't get me wrong if you want somewhere to rest your head with a good PARTY atmosphere then this is perfect for you! However, if you don't want to spend a fortune on medication for being riddled with bed bugs then don't come here. I know for a fact that I was bitten here, (especially after reading the others' reviews)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Roberta, Thank you for expressing your thoughts about your experience at Chiliblue. Please understand that you made a complaint to us a week after you left the property. At no time while you were here did you complain about any bugs, bites or other problems. I simply can not accept your assertion and given that your friend also tried... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I've seen some bad hostels but this was the worst . No air con and the fans are awful. Shower had no hooks to hang stuff on. Can only stay in garden till 9 then forced into an extremely warm kitchen. The wifi was useless and my room you couldn't even lock despite me telling the staff about it. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We stayed in this hostel for 2 days. Location is amazing with a loads of bars, restaurants and clubs around. Close to train stop as well. Hygiene could be better. Anoher thing- even the breaakfast was included you have to pay another 20 dollars deposit to rent a dishes to actually eat it. On another hand staff was very friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We were to stay here for 5 nights but our room had bed bugs so we had to find a hotel at 11:00pm to stay at for the night because the hostel doesn't have 24 hour reception to resolve the problem they would not refund us all our money back because it wasn't their fault their was bed bugs it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Do you know what is really funny? the other guest that told you we had bed bugs is still staying with us and even extended his stay in the room that you claim had bed bugs. For any future advise this is Australia not Canada and yes we do get more insects that you guys are probably used to. You... More 

Saint-Brieuc, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

a family hotel where you meet great people . 5 minute walk from train station and restaurants and bar, really great place.A great atmosphere with bbq meal organize together . just all of very good times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

3 us stayed over Christmas until 2nd January , 1 member of staff tom made a mess up of our booking he clearly was under influence of drugs , infact we watched him purchase drugs , now on day 6 we were meant to move into a private room which had been booked , when we tried to move in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChiliBlueSydney, Owner at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

What a clever initiative from you Olie. Yes there was a mistake made with your booking and we offered you a cheaper solution to share a twin room + extra mattress. You jumped on this offer when we discounted you $50 per night and yet you have smashed the plaster walls by throwing punches into the wall. My Manager Tom... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I had booked three nights stay but only stayed for one night. It was filthy, didn't feel safe and I was in the attic room with two girls, a boy and lots of beetles. This place is disgusting, the staff are rude and it's a health hazard. It doesn't deserve the 1 I have it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are sorry to hear that the Chili Experience didnt work for you. It does leave a sour feeling to comment 5 month later when a lot of things have changed in a positive way. We are please to inform you that we have conducted loads of renovations and improvement work to our place and we are now... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question