We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chili Blue Backpackers

144 Victoria Street | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Chili Blue Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    8
    10
    51
See reviews for
Families
0
18
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really tried to give this place the benefit of the doubt and stick it out. When we got our room with a smashed TV and suffocating damp it didn't phase me. When we tried to cook dinner and there were cockroaches crawling all over my gormet packet noodles I didn't let it phase me. When it was 3am and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hostel with excellent facilities. always something going on and food provided on friday and saturdays! WC and showers are always clean. Hostel is in a great location next to shops, train station and McDonalds!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chili Blue was in a great location, only a minute's walk away from Kings Cross train station and just a couple of minutes away from all the major nightlife and local amenities. Great hostel for backpackers as there's always somebody around to talk to and plenty of nights out to join. Breakfast included in the price is always a bonus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chili Blue hostel is in a great location for backpackers and is a reasonable price. Fantastic atmosphere and a great place to meet people who are also travelling. The cleaners are fantastic and the staff on the front desk are extremely helpful. Kitchen and communal area open 24/7 which is very handy. I had a wonderful time staying at this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is a bit of an older building but after staying in city hostels I wanted to go in a quieter location. Kings cross might be the night district but the hostel is located on the end of a quiet street and is nearby to all attractions and close to trains. I came on my own and quickly integrated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at a lot of hostels over the past year and this by far is the worst and the only one we have had to complain about. The place was dirty and disgusting. (Although it had regular cleaners who tried their best to keep on top of it) Guests had a total disregard for anyone else staying here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Flossie, Not sure I understand how you post a positive review to Jackaroo hostel 3 days before you post post on us. Do you work for them? A hostel above a train station, night club and brothel is certainly a noisier location than us so please be smarter than that. As far as I know all other hostels in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

How awful! This is probably the worst hostel I've stayed in so far. We were in a totally creepy room with 3 beds, extremely dark (the only view was a wall and our neighbours room). Several electrical outlets were connected to each other, which was not reassuring. No receptionist during the night, and nobody to call if necessary! Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, General Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am quite speechless after reading your comment. We have never sold you this room with fake pictures of a room with a view. You probably find our venue by making a cheap search filter and now you take your anger to online communities. Please rate according to what you paid for because $70 private rooms will never... More 

Hermanus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

A backpackers is there for affordable accommodation without frills. Chiliblue does exactly that. However maintenance of the building needs urgent atattention. The wooden window frame in our room was falling apart and the mosquito wiring had a big hole.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The atmosphere is friendly, staff helpful, and even if it's no so close to Sydney main attractions, the walk is easy (through the botanic gardens). Bedrooms are a bit small, not overly clean, and there are not enough bathrooms/showers/sinks

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Don't get me wrong if you want somewhere to rest your head with a good PARTY atmosphere then this is perfect for you! However, if you don't want to spend a fortune on medication for being riddled with bed bugs then don't come here. I know for a fact that I was bitten here, (especially after reading the others' reviews)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Roberta, Thank you for expressing your thoughts about your experience at Chiliblue. Please understand that you made a complaint to us a week after you left the property. At no time while you were here did you complain about any bugs, bites or other problems. I simply can not accept your assertion and given that your friend also tried... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay