We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 134 Sydney accommodations

Chili Blue Backpackers

144 Victoria Street | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Chili Blue Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chili Blue Backpackers to your Saves list
Ranked #93 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    7
    8
    49
See reviews for
Families
0
16
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've seen some bad hostels but this was the worst . No air con and the fans are awful. Shower had no hooks to hang stuff on. Can only stay in garden till 9 then forced into an extremely warm kitchen. The wifi was useless and my room you couldn't even lock despite me telling the staff about it. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hostel for 2 days. Location is amazing with a loads of bars, restaurants and clubs around. Close to train stop as well. Hygiene could be better. Anoher thing- even the breaakfast was included you have to pay another 20 dollars deposit to rent a dishes to actually eat it. On another hand staff was very friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were to stay here for 5 nights but our room had bed bugs so we had to find a hotel at 11:00pm to stay at for the night because the hostel doesn't have 24 hour reception to resolve the problem they would not refund us all our money back because it wasn't their fault their was bed bugs it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Do you know what is really funny? the other guest that told you we had bed bugs is still staying with us and even extended his stay in the room that you claim had bed bugs. For any future advise this is Australia not Canada and yes we do get more insects that you guys are probably used to. You... More 

Saint-Brieuc, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

a family hotel where you meet great people . 5 minute walk from train station and restaurants and bar, really great place.A great atmosphere with bbq meal organize together . just all of very good times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

3 us stayed over Christmas until 2nd January , 1 member of staff tom made a mess up of our booking he clearly was under influence of drugs , infact we watched him purchase drugs , now on day 6 we were meant to move into a private room which had been booked , when we tried to move in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChiliBlueSydney, Owner at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

What a clever initiative from you Olie. Yes there was a mistake made with your booking and we offered you a cheaper solution to share a twin room + extra mattress. You jumped on this offer when we discounted you $50 per night and yet you have smashed the plaster walls by throwing punches into the wall. My Manager Tom... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I had booked three nights stay but only stayed for one night. It was filthy, didn't feel safe and I was in the attic room with two girls, a boy and lots of beetles. This place is disgusting, the staff are rude and it's a health hazard. It doesn't deserve the 1 I have it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are sorry to hear that the Chili Experience didnt work for you. It does leave a sour feeling to comment 5 month later when a lot of things have changed in a positive way. We are please to inform you that we have conducted loads of renovations and improvement work to our place and we are now... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Chili Blue is a great hostel to stay in. It is in an ideal location, 10 minute walk from the city and a short train ride away from Bondi Beach. We recieved excellent service from the 3 members of staff. The cleaners are wonderful and always polite. The room was comfortable and had lockers for security purposes. Very friendly atmosphere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The best hotel i stayed at out of about 10 in Sydney - it's run really well and the manager helped me on several occasions with questions about the city. Breakfast was brilliant and well worth getting up for. Location is good an easy 20 minute walk to the bridge - a nice walk aswell. Bedroom was kept clean everyday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mark, We deeply appreciate you taking the time to post a positive review about our venue. wishing you safe travels and a lot of fun for your next destination. The Chili Team. More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

This hostel is lovely at day and with a lot of parties at night. The location is amazing as it is in the middle of Kings Cross. The spirit of the chili is in its goon-pong table in the courtyard open until 10pm. Party goes then inside in the living room. The place is clean and people staying in here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

we booked 3 beds in a shared room for 3 nights. First night, we were all in a different room in a different level because the hostel was "very busy at the moment". Second night we couldn't get into our room before 2 am because none of the electronic cards we had were working. The front desk closes very early... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChiliBlueSydney, Manager at Chili Blue Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You were unlucky indeed as the card system we use (VING card) works with batteries in the door. From time to time the batteries are low and need replacing, unfortunately this happened at 2 am when reception was closed. We do not have a 24 hour reception but it allows us to apply cheaper rates than our competitors.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chili Blue Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chili Blue Backpackers

Address: 144 Victoria Street | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Chili Blue Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chili Blue Backpackers Hotel Sydney

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay