We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macleay Lodge Sydney

71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Macleay Lodge Sydney
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

To start there is no lift so when I arrived with my huge travel bag I was very shocked. Even more shocked when I had to carry it up 2 very, very steep flights of stair with no offer of help from the staff! He just watched me struggle! I arrive in my room with the smallest TV you've seen.... More 

Helpful?
Thank F6Travel
Flores, Guatemala
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is well located, close to many restaurants and supermarkets. Easy to walk to the main tourist attractions, such as the Opera House (30 mins on foot). The room was ok, considering that we paid 60 AUD per night we couldn't expect much more. The bathroom was shared, but in decent conditions. Would go back.

Helpful?
Thank Giacomo C
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was so lovely to have my own room. Had air conditioning, and a small kitchenette which a microwave (that didn't work fantastically) and had a sink. It was very clean. The shared bathrooms were also kept clean and very new and modern. The receptionists were all super friendly and helpful, especially the lovely lady I don't remember her name... More 

Helpful?
Thank MortIsCool
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

This affordable hotel is in a perfect place to explore Pott's Point, Elizabeth Bay and King's Cross. There is no lift and the showers and toilets are all shared - this is why it's affordable. The top floors seem to have 4 rooms to a bathroom and the lower 8 to two bathrooms. The walls are not very think and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BecanDuncan
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hello BecanDuncan, It is a wonderful area we are in isn't it! We are affordable accommodation in a great area. Thank you for taking the time to write a note about us - we do really appreciate your realistic & kind comments. We are very happy you had such a great stay with us & we hope to see you... More 

Bellingen, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

I travel weekly to and from Sydney and, to keep my costs down, stay in budget accommodation. I have stayed in many places around Sydney and Macleay Lodge is by far the cleanest and most pleasant. I had the unfortunate experience, upon arrival, of having my booking cancelled by the booking agency I booked through - my card had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisBello H
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear ChrisBelloH, Thank you for your lovely & thoughtful comments. We were glad to see you when you came back to us! Benoit is the man you spoke with - & he is French - & he always tries to sort out any problems with calmness & kindness - & obviously that was noticed by you. Thank you again. More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Very dirty and smelly. As you enter there is a strong smell which l am not sure if it's from the carpets or from the environment. I started sneezing and coughing from the reception until l checked out after 3days. Bins in the rooms are emptied after 3 days. The bathroom had dirty spots on the tissue container ?? blood... More 

Helpful?
Thank Busi M
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Busi M A response to help explain some of your issues - We have been doing regular light maintenance work recently - & the smell was a special paint with a particular odour - which we had to specfically use. - so we do apologise about this if the smell was extreme for you. Many people were sneezing when... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

I stayed one night here. Seems like an old building being refurbished. The receptionists that we dealt with were not friendly at all from the day we checked in until we checked out. No free parking here. Please check whether your room have own bathroom. Mine was a shared bathroom taking into account I have 2 kids with me. Luckily... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nizam E
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Nizam E, We are sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. With the expectations of an ensuite bathroom & parking it would be a disappointment when you discovered that we do not have these facilities. Our websites do state that we are share bathrooms & we do not offer parking. It seems that maybe you... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning...about 730am and were expecting just to drop our bags, but the helpful receptionist told us our room was ready. He then helped us bring our bags up to our room. Unfortunately, we were unaware that the rooms were being done up, so there was a smell of paint in the room and also the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DanielleD89
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hi DanielleD89, Thank you for your very kind review - all the staff here are helpful & will always get you to your room early if it is at all possible.You will be happy to know too that the TV & mirror are absolutely back up & the refurbishment is finished! We are lucky to be in such a wonderful... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

The receptionist wasn't very friendly (he had a bad attitude our entire stay to be completely honest), although all other staff were friendly and nice. The room was as advertised and well presented. Showers could do with a deeper clean! But otherwise, it was cheap and it we can't complain about anything for the price we paid!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca D
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Bianca D, We are happy to see you gave us a rating of 4 out of 5. We are sorry your stay was not as great as you would have liked. However please do try us again if you are coming back to Sydney - or another of our sister hotels, all in this great area! More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I was very happy with my stay at the Macleay Lodge. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and neat with a small balcony and lots of space. The bathroom was very close and kept clean and tidy. Having a small kitchenette in the room was greatly appreciated. The only negative I would put on this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hi timg395, We are very happy you had a comfortable & enjoyable & happy stay with us. We are good accommodation in a great location at a very reasonable price & we are glad you appreciated this! Please come & stay again next time you are in town. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
0:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#49 of 181 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#107 of 181 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#16 of 61 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Hotel Challis
#7 of 61 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay