We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
140-142 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney N.S.W., Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Review This Hotel

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    82
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
55
144
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Charwelton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After a very long flight from the UK what a pleasure it was to arrive at this lovely B&B Linda and James were very welcoming bedroom was very comfortable with views of the Opera House Breakfast was plentiful and delicious taken in the courtyard garden Right in the middle of the Rocks district.....you must stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Husband and I stayed here after 30 days+ of cruising. We also stay only at B&Bs and have done so in Europe, USA, Canada, Caribbean, New Zealand and now Australia. This B&B compares with the best historic inns we have stayed in. Linda and James are gracious and friendly hosts. The breakfast was hearty and hot or choice of cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westerham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Horror Story 2 from the pits (sorry, The Rocks) First impressions count a lot - which is why we left the Sydney Harbour B & B without spending a single night there despite paying for six. It can't help where it is, right under a major flyover with access gained via steep steps and a dirty old rug for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Maggie Thanks for taking time to double team review our B&B. I believe this is the second part to the below review from your party hence please apply this response to both reviews. We are apologetic that your experience was not pleasant. We did offer as a good will gesture a generous refund, even though you checked in, spent... More 

Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast is a in a great spot to explore Sydney, the hosts are fabulous and can't help you enough. Breakfast was great served out doors or indoors lovely food. There is good places around to have dinner within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of four stayed for 3 nights during a short stay in Sydney. We stayed in a family room with a bathroom exclusive for us but not located attached to the room - just down the hall. Owners were friendly and helpful with all requests. Location was perfect, within walking distance to circular quay with ferry and bus access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the personal attention and the excellent made-to-order breakfasts. The location allowed us to walk to most places we wanted to visit. We stayed in several different rooms because none was available for our entire stay. The proprietors moved our luggage for us, so this worked fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay and would go back again! the location was perfect for us! Everywhere we wanted to go was in a short and interesting walking distance, the opera house, the shops on Pitt street, the ferry to the Zoo and Manly and a stroll to Darling Harbour! Our hosts, Linda and James were great and our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westerham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is chapter 1 of a sorry saga that started on January the 13th - yes, the 13th - and ended on the same unlucky day. Two 'senior citizens' arriving from the UK after paying $1700 AUS (around £800) for a six-night stay in the Parkes Room. We left just hours later unwilling to spend a single night there because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The ground floor 2 - bedroom suite is described as having a queen bed and 2 twin beds. Not true! One of the bedrooms is ok, with a queen bed. The other bedroom is very small and holds only a single bed. Old plumbing lines and such are covered by propping a picture on a table and putting a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Heinke C Thank you kindly for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. We are very sorry to hear that you left our B&B feeling disappointed. We thought we were off to a good start after having allowed you and your travelling partner early delivery and complimentary storage of 2 large cases for 2 weeks prior to your arrival.... More 

Marcoola, Qld.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location was great close to Cruiseport. Room clean and no noise from traffic, even though we were close to the Bridge. Breakfast was excellent. Would stay there again. Our room had own ensuite, although it was outside our bedroom but right next door. Some rooms had shared bathroom so if you need private ensuite, make sure you state that when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

311 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (222)
Viewed
Banks Room (55)
Viewed
Barton Room (41)
Viewed
Cook Room (31)
Viewed
Macquarie Room (46)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question