We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 64 Sydney B&Bs / inns

Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour

3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   140-142 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney N.S.W., Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Rate at our Website
Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
87%
Ranked #10 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Rogerbr1 Lake Forest, California
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    46
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
83
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes, the location is good – right in the center of the Rocks, albeit right up against the busy Cahill Expressway leading to the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Yes the building is old, and comes with the charm and detriments expected from such an old building. Unfortunately, our stay was marred by an unexpected, outrageous fee for unlocking a room door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Roger Thank you for taking time to review Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast. We are apologetic that the 'outside of hours' fee soured your stay. We do not sleep on site all the time and implement this policy for very good reason ( people regularly returning after evenings out up to 5 am and ringing the doorbell due to... More

Mapleton IL, USA
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely, comfortable heritage building conveniently located in the historic Rocks area close to restaurants, tourist attractions, entertainment and transportation facilities. Nice breakfast is included that can be enjoyed in the dining room or in the private patio area where you can socialize with guests from all over the world. Hosts James and Linda are very friendly and helpful and made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Doss Family Great to hear from you. It was a pleasure hosting you all again and really enjoyed our long chats. Your names still come up frequently in conversations between myself and Linda and we look back on your stay with great fondness. Please do keep in touch and let us know when next time in town. Maybe for... More

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay at this B&B for 5 nights in February and could not have picked a better location (well unless we wanted to pay the skyhigh prices of the 5 star hotels in this vicinity and room only), it was excellent value for money. It is literally 5 - 10 minutes from the Harbour which is a pleasant walk through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Jacky Thank you for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having such pleasant guests stay with us during your trip and hope that you return in the future. Warmest regards James & Linda More

Penrith
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location within the Rocks excellent.Easy walking distance to Opera house and Sydney Harbour Bridge. Large room[Lachlan] on second floor with separate exclusive bathroom.General appearance of being tired and in need of refurbishment. Stair carpet in need of good hoover. The room was dusty and the bedcovers were stained. Bathroom was adequate but the website does not state the bathroom is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Julia Thank you for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. It is with sadness and disappointment that we learn of your 'disappointing' stay with us but we understand that some guests prefer the cloak of the internet to hear their voice even when all questions about your stay were answered with positivity and a gleaming smile. Let us... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for a week. Linda was so helpful and arranged a trip to the blue mountains for us. Great staff great service lovely week. Good location 10 min walk to circular key & opera house too. Highly recommended for a place to stay in sydney

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Secretstarfinch Thanks for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. A quick and short review is always a good review. It was our pleasure to have arranged your Blue mountains trip for you - we do care that our guests see as much as they can in the time they stay with us. Your high recommendation is much appreciated.... More

Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a listed building so no lift or other similar amenities. The rooms are a good size and quaint with lots of character. There is no en suite but this was not a problem as only two rooms were sharing and we never found 'our facilities' busy. The owners were former accountants and they run the place in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Clive Thanks for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. Please don't hold it against us as former accountants - its pleasing to see by your review that we have successfully made the transition into "great" Inn Keepers. We always try to improve upon every review and welcome your points to be considered for future guests. Most of all... More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is the best B&B I've stayed in. The owners are friendly, helpful and go that extra mile to assist. The rooms are beautiful, clean, tidy and breakfast you are spoilt for choice. Location is perfecto!! The only thing is you must be able to climb up or down the steps to enter the B&B so its not good for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Deb Thanks so much for taking time to write such a nice review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. We always store peoples luggage for as long as they need as we realise what an imposition it can be for or guests and our aim is to make the journey as pleasant as possible. A real compliment... More

Mississauga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We chose this B&B because of positive comments. We found the hosts to be very friendly, service excellent and they served a wonderful fresh cooked breakfast and served it in their secluded garden. The room was large with a very large attached bathroom. As we only had one day between flights, we wanted to be close to Sydney Quay, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Sandiewm, I agree with you wholeheartedly. Our aim is to always provide our best making sure guests have a memorable stay. Please do visit us again whenever you return to Sydney. We remember and know who everyone is so maybe next visit it can be for a bit longer! Cheers and best regards James and Linda More

Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night so my partner and I could have a night out in The Rocks while we were in Sydney. The bed and breakfast is perfectly located for enjoying Sydney and is beautiful. An old building with a small number of rooms but each one seemed to be individual and full of character. We were greeted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Luckystar08 Wow we are humbled by your kind and complimentary words and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sydney Harbour B&B. Best regards James and Linda More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a nice Bed and Breakfast, owners are friendly and helpful, we arrived early they stored our bags and then took them to our room for us. Situated right in the Rocks, we are in our seventy's but we managed the steps to the Sydney Harbour Bridge/Opera House without problem. Breakfast was good and there was a courtyard area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Theonlyjames, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, responded to this review

Dear Jeanne We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Such a refreshing, funny group of guests is what makes running Sydney B&B an absolute pleasure. We hope you return whenever youre in Sydney. Best Regards James and Linda More

Been to Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour

Also Known As:
b&b Sydney Harbour
Bed And Breakfast Sydney Harbour Hotel
Bed And Breakfast Sydney Harbour Hotel Sydney
Address: 140-142 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney N.S.W., Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast offers visitors an opportunity to experience world class hospitality and unique accommodation in the heart of Australia's birthplace, The Rocks.Upon entering our fully restored heritage mansion our guests become our main focus with no request too big or small. Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast offers boutique rooms each named after figures synonymous with Australian history. All rooms have been furnished in hand crafted colonial furniture and offer all the comforts of home.Finally as our name suggests, a stay at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast would not be complete without a delicious hot or cold breakfast served in either our dining room or our serene courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.