We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 135 Sydney accommodations

Sydney Star Backpackers

132 Bourke St | Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Australian Backpackers)
Hotel amenities
Sydney Star Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sydney Star Backpackers to your Saves list
Ranked #71 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Reneezle
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (11)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Salvo the manager was awesome.. Doing a great job of running the place!There's was no mirror in our room so he brought one up for us. Room was standard but clean. Common areas were clean, and quiet. Would stay again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindau, Germany
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am happy with the service,crew is happy to help to find the way through town! BUT!!! First day we go here, there was dirt and rubbish under the bed, the bed was clean and comfortable! Bathroom is not to nice to be in, dirty floor, long black hair every where, mildew on the ceiling and walls, water dropping from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were really happy with our stay at Sydney Star Backpackers. It is in a great location right near Kings Cross night life. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The showers had excellent water pressure and hot water, which I have sometimes found disappointing in expensive hotels. The staff were happy and helpful too. We only stayed one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We did a late check in and that worked very well. We basically met the owner in the stairs going up to our room and he offered himself to help us even though it was in the middle of the night. We got a great room for a couple with new everything and it was cleaned spotless. When we went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Having stayed in other hostels in Sydney, my expectations were low when it came to this one but it really shone out as a great hostel. Informative, helpful and friendly staff make checking in and out easy and make the stay enjoyable. The beds were very comfy and clean, as were the showers, kitchen and lounge. The kitchen is well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

our "safe" box was opened. From mine somebody took cash and from my friend 2 credit cards that were used for USD2500. Hostel didn't respond. Do not stay here. Dirty hostel, small rooms, WiFi work just sometimes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Si H, Manager at Sydney Star Backpackers, responded to this review

We understand that it is very frustrating for you that you have had some items stolen. You have lied by saying the hostel didn’t respond to the incident. We contacted the police for you as soon as you reported it to us, they were here in less than 30 minutes. This means the police investigated whilst you were still here... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Two awful night in this youth hostel ! Dirty bedroom with window broken, dirty and small bathrooms, dirty kitchen (moreover we never found the included breakfast !!) and staff drunk... Enjoy this moment !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Si H, Manager at Sydney Star Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. The staff member you are referring to was the previous management. Sydney Star Backpackers is now under new management. We can assure our guests that there is no staff intoxicated whilst they are at work. Breakfast is on time every day. 8am on the dot. The windows have since been repaired. As this building... More 

Graz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the star backpackers for three nights.I have to admitt that I chose it because it was cheap and the location seemed to be good. It turned out not to be only cheap,but very good.the rooms might be a little small if they are full,but the beds are really comfy. The staff is really really friendly and helpful.Free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Just arrived in Sydney and immediately got to the best hostel ✌️Service is great! People are super sweet and making u feel not ever wanting to go home. Clean rooms, VIP service, staff is professional and nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 via mobile

The wifi is really good and free!! A rare benefit in Sydney. The beds are new and really comfy. It has a comfy sofa and tv to use and the kitchen is small but has everything you need. The people who work there are fabulous!! Location is great just a 20-30 minute walk into the city. Stayed for a month... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sydney Star Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Star Backpackers

Address: 132 Bourke St | Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Australian Backpackers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Sydney Star Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australian Backpackers Hotel Sydney

14 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay