We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abey Hotel

208 Riley Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Abey Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    19
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
10
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok for a 3.5 star hotel. Location was great very central and close to everything, we walked from Pitt Street Westfield to the hotel doorstep in about 20mins. The reception area was nice, very new and refurbished. Check in was smooth Room size good, bathroom ok, reasonably clean, but old; shower pressure was good. We were on the floor where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi tboandspit, Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you found our reception nice, very new and refurbished and your check in was smooth also your room was of a good size and the shower pressure was appreciated. We do apologize that you experience a little noise from other... More 

Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our weeklong stay at the Abey. The hotel rooms are large. The beds are good if not a little bouncy. The bathroom is functional. The TV is large and channel selection is good. Nothing is really outstanding but everything is very good. Yes, it’s a bit noisy but so is any inner city hotel. The location is outstanding.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Taringha, Thank you for choosing to stay at the ABEY Hotel and for also taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is vital in ensuring the continual improvement and development of our accommodation and services to ensure our guests a stay that we hope will bring back some fond memories of their time in Sydney. We do... More 

Bega, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well located hotel in Surry Hills Sydney. Room clean and tidy and comfortable. Unfortunately a computer meltdown meant the check in took the best part of an hour and a half. Staff maintained composure in what would have been a very trying time for them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RodMac78, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is unfortunate that you were affected by the system going down resulting in a delayed check in. We really appreciated your patience as the staff did the best they could to ensure all guests made it to their rooms with not too much delay. We are pleased you found... More 

New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location neat tidy room walking distance to most places.Has swimming pool but didn't use, parking at location(fee) undercover a bit tight but we had 4wd ute but got in & out ok staff friendly & helpful .Said free wifi but when tried to connect wanted a fee but would use again

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Charlie B, T Thank you for sharing you recent stay with us, we are delighted that you found our location well suited and that you found your room neat and tidy. Our car-parking facilities can be quite tight for larger vehicles and is mentioned across booking agents in our terms and conditions, however we do apologize for any inconvenience... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Let me start by saying i had a very very horrible time from booking to leaving this hotel. I booked from hotels.com valid for 4 people and the day before we were meant to fly to Sydney the hotel advised me that we only paid for 2 people and that rhey are charging me additional $80 per person!!!! which i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, Assistant General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anlodv, Thank you very much for staying with us. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Terms and conditions of the bookings and charges are quite clearly published on the website that you have booked from, it is disappointing to hear that you overlooked this detailed information when you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised with the Abey Hotel. The room was very clean, and the décor was modern. The location was also good if you don't want to be among the noise in the city, but still be relatively close to attractions in Sydney.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ryan S, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with here at ABEY, we are delighted that you found your room very clean and you enjoyed the modern décor. Our location seemed well suited for you and that you found us great value for money, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Great location to get around central Sydney. Nicely set out rooms, indoor pool/spa, very friendly staff - only too willing to help out. Rooms clean and reasonably spacious. Only down side is the car-parking - unless you driving a mini the carpark is too small, extremely tight, difficult to get in and out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Floonie, Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found your room nicely set out, clean and reasonably spacious and found our staff very friendly and willing to help out. Our car-parking facilities can be quite tight for larger vehicles and is mentioned across booking agents in our terms and conditions, however we do apologize for any... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Only a short walk from Oxford St or Surry Hills, this place is very convenient. It's a modern place with a small pool and spa, good buffet breakfast and staff were very friendly. My room was big, comfortable and had all I need. Good Sydney option if you get a good online deal. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Glyn W, Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our location well suited, you room big, comfortable with everything you needed. We do hope that we will see you again very soon. Warm regards. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

The Abey Hotel is in a great location. The room was comfortable, the facilities were basic but adequate and were very good value for Sydney. The twin room I was originally shown was very small and not very private due to the fact that once the black-out blinds and curtains were opened you looked onto about 10 apartments and they... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jenny L, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is disappointing to know you found the roo you were allocated to be small and not very private, however we are pleased you were looked after by our friendly team and given different options which allowed you to have a comfortable stay. It is great the location suited... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

I was lucky to be there just for the nights and made it to get some sleep. Rooms are tiny, dark and lound (noise from inside and outside). They charge extra for Wifi and even more for fast internet. Breakfast is boring and overpriced. At least it's clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sebastian C, Thank you for sharing your experience; your feedback is vital in ensuring the continual improvement and development of our accommodation. Firstly I would like to apologise for the noise you experienced from both inside and outside the hotel. We continuously perform security checks to ensure guests are keeping noise to a considerate level; however it’s disappointing to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.0 mi away
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#42 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 2,296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#70 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#68 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Y Hotel City South
Y Hotel City South
#131 of 177 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#112 of 177 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay