We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maisonette Hotel

Hotel website
31 Challis Avenue | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Maisonette Hotel
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
The Maisonette Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    92
    51
    12
    15
See reviews for
27
52
55
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at this property at the start of August and was very satisfied by the price, location and the help that I received from reception. Room was outdated but still was very pleasant and clean. I was very happy with the WIFI as no extra charge was required to use this service. My only bad comment was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The twin room we had was dingy, the carpet looked like it hadn't seen a hoover for a long time, the blankets were itchy and the fridge was dirty. The website says 'Air conditioning' but the remote to work it was not in the room so we had to use a noisy fan which you can't control the temperature of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
maisonettesydney, General Manager at The Maisonette Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. It is true that building work next door to our hotel commenced during your stay with loud noise caused by drilling. It is not true however that drilling commenced at 6am. Sydney city has strict regulation regarding building work which can only take place... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I arrived early and greatly appreciated that a room was already available and ready. The hotel also was so kind and honored the requests I made prior to check in. I appreciated how helpful everyone working at the hotel was. This is a budget hotel and fit my needs perfectly. The room was very clean and I also found it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

The hotel really thought about comfort, with extra blankets, cutlery etc all provided. Yes, you do have to carry your bags upstairs, not such a problem. The wifi is pretty much non-existent on the third floor, but if that doesn't bother you, you'll be fine! Great location and staff were very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
maisonettesydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Maisonette Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found a comfortable retreat in this beautiful suburb. We wish you safe travels. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

I will definitely come back here if I were to make a trip down to sydney again. Jonathan was really friendly to us and helped us when we needed directions or ideas on where to go! Nothing bad to say about this place ! Perhaps maybe it would be great if the heater works better?? ESP during winter

Was this review helpful? Yes
maisonettesydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Maisonette Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Sydney. Also, we are proud to have provided you with comfortable accommodation and quality service. We wish you safe travels and hope that you return soon. More 

Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

This place definitely has some very unfair reviews... Firstly, of course it's not going to be luxury/ 5* quality- it's the cheapest hotel in Sydney. But it is PERFECTLY adequate. Basic but very cosy and comfortable. A cute, quaint place in the perfect location. Not in city centre so it was very quiet. Perfect location for restaurants- great quality and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
maisonettesydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Maisonette Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We at the Maisonette are proud to offer great service with clean and comfortable accommodation in one of the beautiful areas of Sydney. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we wish you safe travels. More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Looking for a cheap but good location that would keep my gf happy we found this place. Location is on the tourist bus route, short walk to Kings cross, don the stairs to get in to central Sydney and quiet enough at night so sleep wasn't an issue. Good little cafe and restaurant just downstairs and across the road or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
maisonettesydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Maisonette Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for providing a review of your stay with us. It is great to know that you had a good stay in Sydney and made the most of the great location of the hotel in this scenic suburb of Sydney. The location is excellent for those who enjoy dining out and a variety of choices. Thank you More 

Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

if you dont mind carring your bags upstairs then this is at place for you, just far enough away from the main st of Kings cross, nice little stroll from the train station and the bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel, one little let down was that the there is a cafe just beside this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tasmania
Level Contributor
225 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Firstly as I have stayed before I get priority check in free wi fi and late check out. The room huge bed first floor I don't have a problem luggage upstairs microwave fridge A/C brand new view over challis avenue smaller bathroom TV big mirror wardrobe etc. taxi from airport $47if solo train ride and 5 minute walk $18. Restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015 via mobile

We had 2 days in SYD as part of our Austrlian trip, and it worked well for us. It had a really good location in a quiet neighborhood, but still near restaurants, cafès, and 10 mins walking distance from Kings Cross Metro Station. For the prices in Sydney, it was affordable. There's also a Grocery store near the hotel. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.0 mi away
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Macleay Lodge Sydney
#23 of 62 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springfield Lodge
Springfield Lodge
#15 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Frisco Hotel
Frisco Hotel
#21 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#28 of 62 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 59
Hotel 59
#6 of 62 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mariners Court Hotel
Mariners Court Hotel
#16 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay