We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Camperdown Sydney

3.5 of 5 9 Missenden Road | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Camperdown Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Camperdown Sydney
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    75
    115
    61
    42
See reviews for
59
63
34
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (307)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
27 hotel reviews
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Okay let's start with few positives. It is a conveninent location to the hospital and Sydney University. There's free wifi. Service generally is polite. Room amenities adequate. Bed comfortable. But it is a very tired and worn hotel. The bathroom and door were err....and wardoom were errrr....worn out...it looked like time stood still for five decades or more. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband has been in & out of rpa hospital for mths now & always stayed at rydges. because they really have looked after me very well . they even put a microwave in my room. The young lady from brazil & juju. & daniel & shaun have been especially kind to me. Have been very well treated Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulder
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

By the end of a long day working in Sydney you will be feeling very tired and in need of retiring for the evening. This hotel define pty aligns with your tired feeling. But the rooms are big. The bathroom I had was updated with a new sink recently but the trades guys really didn't care too much about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for 3 nights for business and found the lift was out of order all 3 days. Small cockroaches in the room which was disgusting. Stayed here 3 years ago and now for this conference and found this hotel still poorly run. Need to buck up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Shedee. Thanks for your feedback, I am disappointed to see you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay due to one of our guest lifts being out of service, I am pleased to advise this lift is now in safe working order again. I have also passed your feedback about your... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes, the carpets are worn and a slap of paint wouldn't go astray, but my room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It doesn't charge like a wounded bull like most Sydney hotels do and I found the staff to be friendly and courteous. It's situated about 800 metres from the RPA hospital, so excellent for people visiting patients. Parking was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clair W, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of our hotel! I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused due to the incident whilst you were in the lift, however I can advise that our lifts have recently been, and are regularly, checked by our maintenance company and both lifts have a working... More 

Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

hi only stayed overnight it was good handy to everything close to public transport the bed was great cant fault nothing with the stay overall good its close to the trendy king street newtown and all the resturants along the strip their

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear daniel77_13, Thanks for your review! I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future. Kind regards, Clair Warner Guest Relations More 

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Stayed in this property while completing training in the CBD. Transport was highly accessible (short 2min walk to the bus stop) and staff were friendly and accommodating (even receiving a fax and providing this without charge). Shower pressure was very good and the free wifi was amazingly quick! :-) Comfortable beds made this a very pleasant stay - certainly a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel John W! I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us, that our location was convenient for the purpose of your visit and our team were friendly and accommodating throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future. Kind regards,... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Firstly, I want to be fair to Rydges Camperdown and my review will be based on the fact that it not a 5 star hotel nor is it pretending to be. We arrived at Rydges Camperdown in Sydney after several hours of driving. We were looking forward to a clean and spacious room for our family, but unfortunately, I couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback Adel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay, I am pleased to see that our housekeeping team were able to resolve some of the issues you were experiencing quickly, however this is not the standard we pride ourselves on providing and should not have ever... More 

Beijing
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We stayed here the second time over New Years Eve, but this year we are more than disappointed. Check in was good, unfortunately the room is totally worn out. No lamp cover, noisy air on, dirty carpet, cracked appliances...paying more than 500 AUD a night is definitely not worth the quality of the room! We'll not be back a third... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Sven, We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Rydges Camperdown. Please let us apologise that the hotel rooms did not meet your expectations during your stay. I have taken your issues regarding the lamp cover and noisy air conditioner to maintenance and have spoken to our executive housekeeper about the dirty carpet. Thank... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Nice room, as usual here and at other Rydges I've visited. great beds, nice table & chairs. this was my third stay at Rydges Camperdown and the first time I've used the pool there. it was lovely; a nice temperature (unheated) and very clean, but very awkward having to use the fire stairs to get back into the hotel -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Deborah G, Thank you for the great review and your continued patronage at the hotel. I am pleased to read you took advantage of some of the hotel facilities and enjoyed your stay with us Unfortunately due to the permanent design of our minibar areas, these are the biggest fridges we are able to put in. Next time you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges Camperdown Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown Sydney

Address: 9 Missenden Road | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Camperdown Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay